We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Celtic Motel
Nearby Hotels
The Villas(Palmerston North)
$74
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerston North Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Avenue Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coachman(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$87
$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fitzherbert Castle Motel(Palmerston North)
$84
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Legends Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
$90
$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
90
30
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
30
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main roadsouth islandquiet locationsky channelsfoxton beachcatch the ferryfriendly ownersstay there againsmall townstate highwaybad weatherwe've stayedstayed for two nightslarge rooma great place to staycontinental breakfastdouble bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 122 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Started badly. I had booked in late arrival with the owners saying they would stay up for my arrival and deciding not to take up the offer to give me the room number in advance and leave the key in the door. A late ferry made it even later, so called 30 mins out from arriuval - no answer. When arrived - all closed up. Had to wake owner up to get access. [Apparently the owners were not there and had told the caretakers they had told me the room number - which had not happened].

Anyway, enough of that. Celtic Motel was selected as I had livestock in a float and needed to be parked close to the unit. It was excellent for this.

Room was good (even down to the wifi password being left in the room for me to find). Amenites good, and bed comfortable. Reasonable pricing.

Left early, so little interface with staff etc, but after the initial misunderstanding 9which can always happen) the stay was good and met my expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We were on a four day break the night you stayed.
Although we went through all your request with our motel minders so your late arrival would go smoothly there has obviously been some misunderstanding between us and our motel minders.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will improve our hand over procedure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Picked at random, the Celtic Motel did not disappoint. Nice, quiet setting with open aspect to the front with easy parking outside room. Room itself was absolutely fine and was well equipped and clean. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Foxton Beach was just a 10 minute drive away and the town even closer. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are at ground level and all face the same way - so don't worry!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stoneyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Glad to hear we made your stay enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

With family owned motels, we don't expect the reception to be manned 24hrs. Expecting a late arrival, we called ahead. It didn't seem like any trouble to them, they told us they were right next door and to ring the bell when we got there. Paul, the owner, checked us in personally and showed us around the facilities which were very clean. All we expected was a clean bed on the way to Wellington and what we got was charming, friendly service. I would definitely recommend this motel.

Room Tip: Very well equipped self contained rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goirish90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments.
One of our many points of difference is service.
So your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My Partner and I and Mother-in-law stayed here over two nights over the weekend. The room was spacious, very clean and modern with comfortable beds, kitchenette, and dining table and chairs.
The breakfast was good and the peaches were great.
Our Hosts, Paul and Lesley, were very friendly and gave good advice on restaurants in the area. A very welcoming pair.
We received a package from them once we were at home in which was my Mother-in-laws glasses. Thank you Paul and Leslie for sending those up.
I would highly recommend this Motel as a great place rest and relax. It is central to the area and has great Hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TikiGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for the review. We aim to please, so your comments are appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I had a stay in the Celtic Motel for a night and day. This motel is the cleanest we have ever experienced and it is tastefully appointed too. The bathrooms are large and convenient - in fact we could have held a party in the shower - they are really roomy. The charge is very reasonable and the owner/s went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and convenient. They even cooked out steak for us! We are very impressed and would stay there again and also recommend it to any of our friends. Thank you Paul. A fabulous stay and our business was conducted with privacy and in peacefulness.

Room Tip: The motel is situated away from the main highway and therefore quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celtic_motel, Owner at Celtic Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Hi Linda, Thank you for such a GREAT positive review. Regards Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews