We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Celtic Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celtic Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

A friend had stayed here prior and recommended the place. Having now stayed there we agree that it has good facilities, very helpful hosts. Its a great place to relax.
Thank you to our hosts. Rick and Joss Hancock

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kahuariki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

Lovely comfortable beds , quite, and clean.
Unit was ok for family of 4 for 1 night only but not enough room in unit for any longer. We felt very cramped.
Ideal for 2 people but definately not a family unit however rate was same as a family unit elsewhere.
Host was friendly & helpfull.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZMumWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stopped in here on the way north fro Chch. I emailed before hand to ask if it would be a hassle if we arrived at 11.30pm. This was fine as they were able to leave the room unlocked for us as well as we pre ordered breakfast whiich was delivered on time and was excellent. The bed was comfy, the room was large and very clean. I stay in alot of hotels/motels for work and this was one of the cleanest. The heater waas on when we arrived so the room was nice and warm.

My only suggestion would be extra blankets, although there are electric blankets on the beds.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bex1981Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2011

On our way North from Wellington we have been searching for some time to find a quiet motel for a 1 night stopover and we are very pleased to have found it. This motel fits the bill. It is not necessarily going to win prices for interior decorating, but the furnishings and the general lay out of the room and bathroom are much better than in your average NZ motel. Everything is very tidy and clean and we enjoyed a very good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brusselscharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Tucked away on a quiet street this motel was a fine one night stopover. The helpful owners pointed out where we could eat but the choice was limited and there was nothing within walking distance. We took advantage of the breakfast offered and it was superb. The town of Foxton (away from Highway 1), looked interesting though it was mostly closed when we drove back through it after our evening meal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandad1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I'm glad I found this very clean Motel with very nice owners. My recommendation is stay not one night but two or more. Roomy, light and made for a good night's sleep. Quiet and safe as well.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyTaupoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

This motel is situated just off State Highway 1 from Auckland to Wellington and is therefore very quiet and within an easy 90 minute drive to the ferry terminal for South Island. The rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and hosts Paul and Lesley will do all they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. They are also very active in the local community and will point out places of interest to visit in the locality. Foxton itself is a charming unspoilt town with an interesting history which is well presented at the tourist information office situated in the working windmill, (which it is hoped will feature an unusual adrenaline ride in 2010) and also in the museums around the main street. Foxton beach is 7 kilometres away and also unspoilt and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Celtic Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Motel

Address: 29 Purcell Street | Foxton, Foxton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Foxton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Foxton
Price Range: $90 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Celtic Motel - a quiet, comfortable gem to be found in the sunny Horowhenua township of Foxton - where friendly hospitality is guaranteed. Located on the beautiful lower west coast of the North Island 10 minutes from Foxton Beach and 12 minutes north of Levin, the Celtic Motel is the ideal place to stay for interisland ferry stopovers. Our price range starts $135.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Celtic Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing