We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked it a lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Chaloupe

La Chaloupe
Ranked #3 of 21 Restaurants in Wissant
Price range: $25 - $34
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wien, Österreich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Liked it a lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Nice ambiente, good food. Had tuna and a good dessert, the three of us were happy with choice, service and price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pukkita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    153
    56
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dinner is served...at the beach. In France!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great service. Didn't stick solo travelers at crummy tables. Delicious fish and a dessert that should be illegal. (Pear tartlet with chocolate. Very rich, very dark chocolate. La Chaloupe is affiliated with the Hotel de la Baie, so understand that's why you will get that recommendation. It is a really solid restaurant with lovely service--and walking distance from the beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank rodefiets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This restaurant serves good food but it is not the best in the region. When the sun is out, seating in the conservatory is unconfortable

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“first visit and definetly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Looking for a restaurant before leaving Wissant after a day break, we decided to have a look at the menu board outside 'la chaloupe'. We had noticed the restaurant on our way to the village in the morning.It looked modern and attractive.We decided to try it and were very lucky because we didn't make a reservation. As the speciality is fish , we chose mussels and sole. We enjoyed our meal. All was perfect, the staff is very professional and agreeable, and the cleanliness on high standard!
hope we could visit again and taste the whole menu..

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“NOT QUITE AS GOOD”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very nice - if slightly eccentric - service. They have stopped using pen and paper and the girls have "tablets" which drive them as mad as it does the customers.

VERY expensive glass of champagne in a VERY small glass - I felt cheated. But the main courses were perfectly prepared and served. Short but interesting wine list.

Quite costly considering that is only really a beach cafe with pretensions, albeit half a mile from the sea. I'd not go back - which is one of my tests.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spaddockuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Chaloupe also viewed

Wissant, Pas-de-Calais
Wissant, Pas-de-Calais
 
Wissant, Pas-de-Calais
Audinghen, Pas-de-Calais
 

Been to La Chaloupe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing