We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country House Villa Rey
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Panicale
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I just visited for 3 days this place is amazing up in the mountains and the area around it is also amazing 10 out of 10 I would recommend to everybody! The people that run the place are very helpful and friendly will show you where to go and are very personal with you you don't just feel like another guest your very welcome which if find fantastic

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 53 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

In winter the location does not look great, but do not be deceived. Once you have been warmly welcomed by the hosts, Silvia & Jürgen, & shown your room & the amenities, the grey-brown surroundings fade into nothing.
My room was wonderful, large (junior suite) with minimal furnishings but just right, great bathroom w a very large shower & big bath tub. As with the rest of the Country House Villa Rey, my room has been remoddeled in a most tasteful manner. Large high ceilings with wooden beams & floors giving a rustic atmosphere but with modern comforts.

The staff are unobtrusive (to the point of being shy) but are always present giving excellent service & what is most important they do so with a genuine smile. It's not just a job for them! Between the chef & Silvia we experienced haute cuisine Italian style, but not just the known Italian dishes - every dinner was a new experience to the palate. Congratulations to the two of them.

Finally the reason for my visit to Villa Rey - mountain biking. The guides / hosts certainly have a done a lot of work to recconoiter the surrounding countryside & know every path, trail & non-trail thta one could want to ride. It is a demanding terraine in which to bike, but very satisfying. One can always take the 'soft' route on the way home at the end of the day or drop into a friendly café. Thanks for the great rides!

Villa Rey must be awsome in the late summer / autumn when one can also enjoy the pool and neverending views across the valley. Must come & check this out¨

Thank you Silvia, Jürgen & your wonderful Team Villa Rey - good luck for 2011 season!
Cheers Eric

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric-deBoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Wonderful location near some of the most picturesque hilltop towns in Umbria. The staff was very friendly and the Chef Sebastiano provided amazing four course meals- each night more delicious than the night before. Owners are very helpful in providing some great recommendations for outdoor concerts, etc. This villa caters to mountain bikers (and the trails are amazing by the way) but my husband and I spent our mornings running the trails instead. We even dragged a few of our friends with us a couple of the days. The views and villages you encounter on the trails nearby are unforgettable.

The villa is close to everything- after our trail runs in the morning we would cool off at the pool for a bit than off to explore one of the beautiful nearby towns- Sienna, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, Assisi, Orvieto and Perugia all very close by. Panicale, the nearest town is small and sweet- spend some time there and you will surely fall in love with the locals.

I can not recommend this villa enough. But be sure to spend some time and stay awhile. If you are rushed, you will surely miss out on many of the local gems this place has to offer.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veganista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ftreppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fschmeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind sehr schön und geschmackvoll eingerichtet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelika T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank manudim60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panicale
2.3 mi away
Villa di Monte Solare
Villa di Monte Solare
#1 of 2 in Tavernelle di Panicale
699 reviews
3.5 mi away
Agriturismo Ceres
Agriturismo Ceres
#3 of 15 in Panicale
36 reviews
0 mi away
Podere Molinaccio
Podere Molinaccio
#1 of 3 in Panicale
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Mezzaluna Fra Le Mura
La Mezzaluna Fra Le Mura
#2 of 15 in Panicale
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Lanterna
Agriturismo La Lanterna
#3 of 3 in Panicale
18 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Vocabolo Poggio del Pero
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Villa Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Villa Rey

Address: Strada Vicinale di Via Nuova | Loc Santa maria Seconda, 06064 Panicale, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Panicale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Panicale
Price Range: $173 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Country House Villa Rey Panicale, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing