We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok - but overall didn't quite deliver against its 4 star rating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“ok - but overall didn't quite deliver against its 4 star rating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

everything is 'ok' but glithes during the stay impaired what could have been an exceptional experience. The hotel staff are excellent and very accommodating, but the spa staff weren't able to match them!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_G8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    530
    295
    159
    103
See reviews for
238
598
51
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel before for the comedy club events ,but thisNew years event far exceeded our expectations.There were 10 of us in our party and not one member of the group had a bad thing to say.The entertainment and food on new years eve was 10/10,and I would like to congratulate the management and staff for making this event a very special one indeed. We will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsons060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for the family new year's eve buffet for the second year running. Last year we had a great evening - good qulity of food and great value. This year was very disappointing - the food was tasteless, overcooked, veg from frozen and some things the children thought were inedible. This year no wine was included and the wine choice was dreadful and very expensive. The tables were extremely cramped - too many people sqeezed into the room. The children enjoyed the disco and the rooms are a great size and comfortable. I would generally recommend but not for that event.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Lovely hotel and leisure facilities. My full body muscle relaxing massage was superb. Thank you Rachel. Staff friendly and in the main, professional and able. Bedroom very comfy.
Unfortunately the food was seriously lacking.
In our large party, we needed to send our soup starters and main vegetarian courses back as they were all cold.
The person I was there with is severely allergic to brussel sprouts and although the hotel were made of this beforehand and again on the evening when we were seated, it was only when reminded twenty minutes after everyone else's main courses had arrived, and he had still not been served his meal, that we were told 'We are dealing with it now.'
When the meal arrived twenty minutes later, it had clearly been micro-waved!
The dessert of Christmas pudding was bland too.
It is such a shame as the hotel itself is a good place to stay. The food lets it down though. We were not the only guests who complained.
This is not the first time I have been disappointed by the food at The Belfry, as I have flagged this up to the management before (two years ago). I had hoped that they had actively made radical changes. But our experience shows not.
Maybe they will now.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harikartar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCambridgeBelfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Dear Harikarter

Thanks for taking the time to complete a review from your recent visit to the Cambridge Belfry. Firstly please accept my apologies that the food during your stay did not come up to your expectations, I can assure you that we are passionate about serving great food but we will take feedback on board and try to ensure we learn from below par experiences. I am pleased that you enjoyed your treatments with Rachel and that you found the staff friendly. Please feel free to contact me for any future bookings.

Kind Regards

David Henderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

Group of 9 stayed in December for 24 hour Spa break package. Lunch was excellent, pre-ordered, prompt service and variety of chooses. Spa and pool area were a little busy, with only a few loungers but the relaxation room made up for it, treatments were of a good standard and on time.
Was impressed with the bedrooms, clean, tidy and spacious. Excellent chooses again for dinner, though due to the number catering for including a number of large Christmas parties, some of the main courses come out luke warm. Drinks weren't included in package but were reasonable value.
The staff across all areas, including Spa, Reception and dinner were extremely friendly, efficient and very well organised.
Overall an impressive, value for money package deal, which many menu chooses and huge portions, managed to eat, drink and relax loads! I would highly recommended this hotel to anyone, especially the 24 hr spa package.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Araglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCambridgeBelfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Dear Araglin

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, I am so pleased to here your group had a good experience on your Spa break at the Cambridge Belfry. It always pleases me to here the team get such praise for being friendly, efficient and organised. Also that the treatments were good and your food and drinks were viewed as great value for money. The Spa breaks are a really good deal and are very popular in Cambridge, should I be able to help with any future bookings with QHotels please feel free to call me.
Kind Regards

David Henderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Arrived late at night to beer bottles on the lawn outside and had to wiggle our way through crowds of drunken xmas party people - there seemed to be several going on which spilled into reception.
Reception staff were very nice, in fact all staff we encountered were lovely and very helpful. Ordered room service when we got to our room which took an hour and a half to arrive and was then the wrong order (this was taken off the bill when we checked out) so not the best start. Room nice and clean though with everything we needed.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and we also ate in the restaurant one evening - again, superb food. Only issue was that when we left the restaurant we had to walk through yet more xmas parties with incredibly drunk people falling all over the place. I am in no way against drinking but as we had come for a relaxing weekend it got annoying, like we were at some sort of school disco, not a 4 star spa hotel. When we checked out one woman was being violently sick outside the entrance.
Used the gym which was well equipped and friends of ours used the pool - it was very nice.
If you plan to visit the hotel do so outside of xmas party season - the staff are great, food and facilities very good, but the hotel needs to do something about the overall atmosphere for guests not involved in the parties.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBCMacclesfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCambridgeBelfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Dear DBCMacclesfield

Thank you for taking the time to make some constructive comments on your recent stay. I apologise that you were unfortunate to have been exposed to elements relating to Christmas party nights and hope overall it did not spoil your experience. I was very pleased therefore to read your comments on the staff being helpful and the food being superb. I hope your able to come back to enjoy the facilities again when the hotel is not so hectic.

Kind Regards

David Henderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

The 1 night spa package was tremendous value for money. It exceeded my expectations in all areas. The food was devine and the treatments heavenly. I plan to go again as soon as I can. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooldaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing