We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bang average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bang average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff were fine, but, wasn't made to feel overly special (perhaps I'm not!).

Ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was dreadful, however, breaka was fine.

Rooms clean and the cleaning staff were very pleasant.

Overall, underwhelmed, but, certainly not bad.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Neil M,
Many thanks for you review. I will address your concern about the food with Chef personally. Pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Hopefully we will welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    520
    293
    157
    104
See reviews for
234
586
50
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend away and seem to have stayed in a different hotel to the one others have reviewed! We had a number of issues;

1. On the Friday night our room had no heating due to an issue with the boiler. Whilst the manager dealt with this in a friendly manner and provided an extra duvet and electric heater we were still very cold in our room that night as the heater could not be left on during the night.

2. On both days breakfast was lukewarm at best. On the Sunday morning we arrived just as a fresh platter of bacon was brought out but it still was cold. Sausages, beans and eggs all cold on both days.

3. On the Saturday night we ate in the restaurant as part of our room rate, a meal that would have cost £26 a head. The prawn and avacado cocktail contained one piece of avacado and the rest was cucmber and lettuce with very few, tiny, watery prawns. The main course "hasselback" potatoes were inedible due to being rock hard as was the warm potato salad we had ordered as a side. The pork belly was however delicious. During the 1.5 hours we were in the restaurant the table next to us remained uncleared with salt, glasses and wine bottles left. We watched a member of staff walk past the table and ignore it on at least three occasions and when we raised it she told us she had been busy (although empty-handed on each occasion).

4. The swimming pool was so cold on the Saturday it meant we did not return on the Sunday which was a shame as it had been one of our reasons for booking.

I had high expectations of this hotel given that Q hotels came second in a recent poll. I have to say it was one of the worst I have stayed in and fell well below the standard we expected.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesprice73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Julesprice73,
Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies and I can assure you we are addressing these issues and will be contacting you personally shortly to update you. I trust once we have done this, in the near future we hope to welcome you back to the Cambridge Belfry.
Kind regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The hotel is easy to find and parking is free - always a bonus!
We received a warm welcome on check in from the friendly staff.
Our room was nice apart from being very cold despite the radiator being on. However there was an additional heater available for us to use.
My only other gripe is that in the bathroom there was a massive crack and damp patch plus a small hole in the ceiling which didn't look particularly inviting!
Food was excellent and good value for money.
Despite a few minor grumbles, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear BeckyS24,
Many thanks for your kind review. Thank you for letting us know about your room, we have fixed the concerns you have raised. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Belfry in the near future.
Kind regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I booked a spa break with 2 friends for my 40th birthday, the package seemed good. £119 for 1hr spa treatment, light lunch, breakfast and a 3 course evening meal, in addition £10 off vouchers for wine and extra treatments.
On arrival we were greeted with a warm reception, our luggage was stored as we had arrived early, we made our way to the bar area to be greeted by Matthew, a very charming bar man with fantastic cocktail making skills. He was a constant feature in our stay and a welcome one at that. We had lunch after that, a light buffet lunch consisting of lasagne, roast chicken, fish dish hot sides and of course salad bar. My favourite was the lemon tart, even though I'm not partial to puddings. The buffet was good, just above average and more than my expectation given previous review. I am a qualified chef who has served the rich and famous so food is always a tricky one to please me when I'm out.
The spa treatments were next, very good, friendly girls. The facilities were average, I was pleased with my treatment.
We then hit the champagne we had taken with us, the hotel was more than happy to supply us with glasses and a nice bucket, they let us have use of a conference room for privacy, they came to check things were ok, the events manager a lovely chap half polish half Ukraine came to check all was ok, he had also bought us a bottle of house champagne as a gesture of good will and on behalf of the hotel for booking my birthday there. My friends and myself were gobsmacked. What a truly lovely thing. He was a fantastic chap, made us laugh and we felt so welcome,
Next was dinner, a la carte. The food was amazing, I had the brisket Wellington, to die for. The whole meal was fabulous both my friends and I were bowled over, big thanks to the chefs Phil and Eddie, brilliant. The restaurant staff were also fab, young Ollie is a true gem, his peoples kills so good. Such a polite and charming young man, everyone he spoke to was such a joy to him, so happy in his work. After that it was bed.
The rooms are average, they were clean facilities were good, my only issue was they traffic noise from other guests.
We hit breakfast in the morning, the buffet style was a good mix, can't fault it for what it was.
I had a truly fantastic stay, would highly recommend this hotel.
The staff make this place, they were all brilliant. My hat off to the Cambridge belfry. Thanks for making my birthday so memorable for all the right reasons. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Sonia H,
Great review! Thank you for your kind words about the whole team! I have shared this with them and personally thanked all those mentioned. It is fantastic to see the chef's get a special mention. Very pleased you enjoyed your birthday with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for the soon!
Kind regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We did a lot of research to get a great deal on a Spa weekend for 3 of us within easy reach. Although we had to pay a huge single supplement for one of the rooms, we still felt that the cost was worth it.
We arrived at the hotel and checked our bags and then went straight in to have our spa treatments. They were waiting for us and gave us a great welcome. The treatments were lovely and started the day off brilliantly. The pool area was very busy and there were no beds, but there was a relaxation room available. We managed to get to our rooms early and they were nice and clean and had everything you would need (except a fridge). The buffet lunch was really nice and the food in the evening was really good. Staff were helpful and friendly even though the restaurant was extremely busy. The breakfast was good and staff were lovely as we checked out. A really, really great weekend and I would go back and also recommend.

Room Tip: Top floor would ensure you were away from any disco noise, but the general noise level in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nic_hipBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Nic_hipbedford,
Thank you for the kind review. I am very pleased you and your friends enjoyed your spa weekend with you. I will pass on your kind words to the team! We look forward very much to welcoming you back to The Cambridge Belfry in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

What can I say buy simply amazing and outstanding customer service throughout the hotel. The food was excellent and would definitely be on the same class as a top notch London restaurant. Great facilities and we even tried the gym which had various machines to use. The reception staff was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. The hotel was clean and has ample parking spaces.

Only thing to mention if you go on a Saturday I would book a table as alot of people use the restaurant because it is so good.

5* for service and facilities.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the suites and lots of space to relax in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear LindaB,
Many thanks for your great review and celebrating your anniversary with us! I have passed on your kind words to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a girls weekend away, 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast, lunch on the Friday, 3 half hour treatments, £200! Such good value. Very comfortable twin room, superb beds, nice to have a duvet - I'm easily pleased(!) - well equipped bathroom with separate shower cubicle. Staff all very pleasant, spa treatments great, food extremely good. Spent Saturday in Cambridge, via the park and ride, fab shops and obviously lots to see. Great central market and separate craft market. Big stores but lots of independent shops too! Looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank emmaphilburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Emsie1967,
Many thanks for your kind review. Very pleased you enjoyed your spa break with us. The shopping in Cambridge is good and the transport connections are great. We very much look forward to welcoming you all back soon.
Kind Regards,
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing