We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here at the weekend, it was a very enjoyable stay with a polite and professional team of staff that were as helpful as they could of possibly been. We also had a massage each but we were not wowed by the treatment although very professional. We would definitely stay here again or at any other Qhotel if it would reflect the same standards as the Cambridge belfry.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Joseph S

Great review, thank you. We would be delighted to welcome you back and I'm sure my colleagues at the other 20 hotels would also like the opportunity to show you what they can do.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

Although the location of this hotel was not ideal for us, and the town centre was charmless... the hotel is within a short drive to the very charming village of St Neots. The Cambridge Belfry hotel is quite an impressive new looking build - It is modern and beautifully decorated. We found the staff to be very efficient, helpful and friendly. Our room was large and clean with a comfortable bed.- the only criticism of the room itself would be that of the view, which overlooked a roof covered with air conditioning condensers. Would not choose to stay there again because of the hotel's location which did not suit us personally.

Room Tip: Inquire about the view from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danusia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Danusia10

I'm sorry that you felt the location wasn't to your taste but i appreciate that did not stop you from enjoying the hotel and the team. We do have 21 individual hotels situated all over the country, so i hope if you don't return to us, that you will try one of the other.
Many thanks and kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here after visiting Cambridge which is 10 miles away. A four star experience from beginning till end. I really don't know where to begin. The pool,sauna etc was of a very clean and high standard. Our room was the same. We were booked into the restaurant as we were evening meal and breakfast deal. Firstly the waiting staff were very efficient and polite , the food ( we had steak) was one of the best I have tasted! The waitress made time to chat when bringing our coffee to the lounge area. When returning to our room we had a little problem with the radiator which became very noisy. I rang down to reception. With no hesitation she apologized and offered to move us straight away. She also offered help to do so. As it was late at night (10.30) the way in which this was dealt was excellent. We were upgraded to one of the pent houses which was again very clean and nice.The whole experience including Cambridge was very nice. A little tip there, is a Morrisons across the road which sells chilled wine etc and a Marstons style pub too. Although we didn't use it but thought it handy to know .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Christina M

Thank you for your kind review and your comments about the team, i know they will enjoy reading them.
My apologies if we had to move your room but I'm pleased it was done quickly and efficiently.
I hope we see you again soon.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was a 2-day business stay with unfortunately, no time for enjoying "the spa offers". I would call it interesting, though not my taste, having guests frequencing the restaurant at all times of the day wearing their bathrobes having breakfast or lunch. Mostly friendly staff, food acceptable. We were there for a meeeting and you could imagine not the only ones. The large group meeting next door to our meeting was so loud and the isolation not enough, we could not even hear our voices. After mentioning it to the staff, they did get quiet.
I would go back for a relaxing weekend but not really on business unless all hotels in Cambridge are booked out.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be quiet. Second floor is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Rafaela P

Many thanks for your review, I'm sorry you didn't get the chance to use the spa. There are times and areas when our leisure and our business guests find themselves in the same space ie the bar but this should not happen at breakfast and i will reiterate this to the breakfast team.
Once again, thank you for your review
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel two weeks ago for a breakaway weekend. After staying at two other Q hotels and finding them excellent we were looking forward to staying in this one. We were very disappointed. The hotel is based in a new development area about 10 miles from Cambridge. The village itself has zero charm, zero shops apart from a morrisons supermarket directly opposite the hotel. It is about a 10 minute drive to the nearest park and ride stop into Cambridge.

When we checked it we were greeted by a trainee who took about 4 efforts to get a credit card imprint, did not ask what time we wanted to book for dinner, and no request for a paper delivery in the morning (probably because they didn't provide this service). During our stay the electronic card did not work and we had to return to reception to get it re-activated. Something I heard at least three other people asking whilst at reception.

The room (a superior upgrade) was fine although it had no mini-bar or safe deposit box. The bathroom was acceptable although there were no handles in the shower or bath and rubber mats were only obtainable on request.

The hotel caters for weddings and stag parties and this tended to take over the bar and lounge area. Dinner was good with both food and service being up to the normal Q hotel standard. Breakfast was at best adequate with buffet hot food and a poor selection of fruit and pastries. Service at breakfast was awful. Even through we were one of last ones in the waiters cleared all the finished tables while we were left with empty dishes during our meal. On the second morning they cleared every single table and still left dishes on our table. Training in this hotel clearly needs looking at!

Checkout was efficient but not friendly not even a "hope you enjoyed your stay".

All in all little to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear fgwilson

Thank you for your feedback. Cambourne is a relatively new area very close to Cambridge but does benefit from a very good park and ride in to the center. The benefit of which is free parking to our guests rather than the significant charges applied in town.
We don't currently have a trainee on the reception so i will investigate who greeted you to the hotel and see what the issue was with your card. I do know that electronic keys to the bedroom door can de activate on occasions and the primary cause for this, is when they are kept close to a mobile phone but again i will investigate. My apologies for the service you received at breakfast and i will share your comments with my restaurant team.
I do hope you will try us again, if in the area but thank you for taking the time to give me your review.
Kind regards
Mike Evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We went for a three night stay in a superior double room and it was excellent. Immaculately clean room. Good food. Very friendly staff, nothing too much trouble. The function we attended on the Saturday night for 120 people was great. Food served hot and no delays between courses. Can't fault it! Well done to The Management and Staff!

Room Tip: It's worth a little extra to have a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan119_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Jan119_12

A great way to start the day, thank you for your review. I will share your comments with the team and i know they will be delighted.
Hopefully we will get the chance to look after you again one day.
Kind regards
Mike evans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We are staying at the hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a great location however what made it for us both is the restaurant staff, Naomi our server was outstanding. She treated us with the best device I've ever had in a hotel. We will be coming back again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciccare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Ciccare,

Thank you very much for sharing your special occasion with us. I am very pleased that my team made it extra special for you, and have made special mention to Naomi, she was very flattered for the compliment. Hope you will return for you next anniversary and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Chris Marais
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,416 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,835 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#9 of 36 in Cambridge
1,214 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#11 of 36 in Cambridge
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range: $122 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing