We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two good stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Two good stays”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Had two long weekends for business at the end of January/beginning of February. Comfortable bed, reliable broadband, and (on dinner, b&b rate) generous meal allowance giving access to good food.

Four points I would raise with the hotel (and did on their online survey!):

1. Litter out in the car park area (and hotel litter that has blown over their gates towards the lake) needs attention.

2. Friendliness depends on who is on duty! Some of the reception staff might have made me turn away!

3. Some breakfast staff were better than others. One morning I was just waiting to be shouted at (because they forgot my coffee); also, watching two overseas waitresses talking about the guests in their own language made me glad to be a polite guest who got a smile from them (they forgot that we might not know their language, but they still have body language!).

4. I was in the hotel for the 2012 snow and again for the 2013 snow. I might have expected more of the paths/parking areas to be gritted/salted.

Overall, I am rating the hotel well, simply because the vast majority of staff have been super throughout.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OckhamsRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear OckhamsRazor

Thank you for your review. I will share your comments with my team and take appropriate action where necessary. I would say that litter you refer to as being blown on to the lake is mainly from neighboring business and although the lake does not belong to us, we do however litter pick the entire area as part of our commitment to the local community on a regular basis. I will look at increasing the frequency.
Thank you for your observations
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    551
    305
    161
    106
See reviews for
244
620
53
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Was warmly greeted, and found the room spotless and comfortable, made a reservation for dinner and the food was gorgeous, had a steak that just melted in your mouth! had a lovely sleep up until 4.30am when people start leaving for work getting up ect the doors are sooo heavy and bang waking you up everytime
but getting up for breakfast was lovely, best breakfast ive had and very well presented service again was lovely

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikkitee92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Vikki-Lynn S

Thank you for your recent review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will look into the comments made with regard to the doors to see if there is anything that can be done but in the meantime thank you.
kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I asked for a quiet room but found myself opposite the stairs and lift. Within minutes I was disturbed by noise from the lift informing me and lift passengers which floor they were on and promptly asked to move. Reception staff were great moving me within 20 minutes to a quieter room round the corner. The room was lovely however the matress and pillows were too hard for my liking. I normally sleep very well but found myself awake every night until around 1 or 2am. I suggest memory foam matress toppers and a choice of pillow would be nice. Hotel cleanliness, food, facilities and service was excellent. Colleagues staying in rooms on the 3rd floor complained that the heating in their rooms did not work and dispite changes to radiator valves they were cold. Afetr staying from 3rd to the 7th Feb I was glad to get home and catch up on my sleep. Finally feeling myself. Next time I will take my blow up bed and a sleeping bag.

Room Tip: Keep away from lift and stairwell. Lift & foot traffic may keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Robert C

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm pleased to note that we acted quickly to change your room to your satisfaction. With regard to the pillows, just let us know when you next stay and I will make sure we put some duck down ones in the room, because many people seem to be allergic now days, we tend to use the non - allergic pillows as the first choice for the rooms.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have just had a spa break with a group of 10 ladies, we all had a fantastic time. Our room was lovely, clean, great shower and seperate bath. soft beds and pillows. The service and the food in the restaurant was fantastic, this includes the comments from three of the ladies who teach Hotel Catering in College. The bar staff are superb especially Camaron, he coped with the teasing from 10 ladies so well. (Lovely young man!!:-) The spa treatments were lovely and relaxing we had the 50 min spa ritual.There was a muddle with our spa bookings but I have to say the Hotel manager dealt with this so well by offering complimentry wine with our dinner and cocktails and the spa staff worked later to fit us all in on the day we requested. The only negative thing is some of our group would have liked more treatments but the staff were so fully booked that we could not have any more time slots. New white bath robes for the spa and more loungers or chairs round the pool would be nice. But on the whole this Hotel is superb in everything it offers and we would go again.So I shall be looking out for deals again as its such good value for money. The reception was very professional and all the staff were all happy and polite. So well done to the Belfrey and Thank you for making our birthday treats so wonderfull.

Room Tip: We had five twin rooms and they were all good on level 2 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda118118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Linda118118

I will pas on your regards to the team and let Camaren know that he got a special mention. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Booked for mums 60th birthday, we had a lovely stay, very relaxing with good facilities, swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and our favourite the relax room! Mum and I had a pedicure and my sister had a facial which were very good. Lovely lunch and dinner, our room was adequate for what we wanted and had use of robe and slippers. There was a wedding on the sat night and it was very noisy and all the guests were in the main bar even though they had their own bar in the function room?! we complained and they gave us a free drink before we went home. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorry72003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear lorry72003

Thank you for your kind review, I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that Mum had a good time too.
We look forward to welcoming you both back one day.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I think the previous reviewer must have been unlucky, as we found the staff amazingly friendly and always on hand to help. My husband was on a 2-day conference so I was at a loose end and spent a lot of time in the bar. The man I presume was the manager was always around and the bar staff regularly came over to ask if I wanted another drink. I have to say that all members of staff, from housekeeping to the receptionist, could not have been more helpful, respectful or friendly. We were offered a disabled room, without asking, as I had my arm in a sling and the receptionist thought it might be easier for me with grab-rails in the bath. The room was very large and the bed clean and comfortable. I did not go in the spa, so cannot comment on that area. However, breakfast staff were great, getting us vegetarian sausages and hot chocolate even though it wasn't included in the buffet. Similarly, at lunch, they cooked vegan food especially for our friend. My husband said the conference catering was lovely and plentiful. There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, so I spent the two days working. The atmosphere in the bar and lounge areas was calm and comfortable, with no distractions, so I was able to get a lot done. I have come home very relaxed and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel as a business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Jane K

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thought on your recent stay. I will pass on the comments to them all and I know they will be delighted to read them.
I hope you find the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irthlingborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Do not book this hotel if you want to be served a drink or have a bar meal without waiting an hour!
i had to go to reception to ask them if they could "find" the bar staff-turns out they where in the kitchen eating!--as long as they had there meal!!!

4 star service this is not!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Cambridge_Belfry, General Manager at The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Pete W

Many thanks for your review, I'm sorry that you encountered poor service from our bar team. I will discuss the matter with my Operations Manager and identify which members of the team where actually working that evening, to see if further training is necessary. This is not our usual standard as you can see from the many positive reviews they receive but I will investigate.
Thank you for the feedback.
Kind regards
Mike Evans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambourne
7.9 mi away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
2,347 reviews
12.1 mi away
Quy Mill Hotel & Spa, Cambridge, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
1,187 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
1,785 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cambridge
Holiday Inn Cambridge
#12 of 36 in Cambridge
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel

Property: The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Address: Back Lane, Cambourne CB23 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cambourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cambridge Belfry is located in Cambourne in Cambridgeshire. It is only a short distance from many major road networks including the M1 and A1. The hotel is oh so close to the famous city of Cambridge, so whether you fancy punting on the river or a tour of the famous University, you'll be there in no time at all. The hotel has 120 bedrooms, a state of the art leisure club, a relaxing spa and 8 meeting and conference rooms. Take advantage of the sophisticated meeting rooms equipped with the latest technology to help your meetings run smoothly.When it comes to dining, you can enjoy seasonal specialities that the talented Chefs create overlooking the lovely, edge-of-the-village lakeside view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cambridge Belfry - a q Hotel Cambourne
Cambridge Belfry Cambourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing