We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,555)
Filter reviews
1,555 results
Traveler rating
315
595
371
153
121
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
315
595
371
153
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing village salad pool area old harbour plenty of sunbeds ceiling fan rock pools all inclusive drinks meat and fish relaxing holiday the hotel is clean plenty of choice craft market half board evening entertainment pork reception staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 1,555 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

This place is a good clean hotel. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms are basic but also clean. The pool area is big and plenty of room for people to relax.

Only 1 thing that lets the hotel down is the food. It's very repetitive and very bland. My girlfriend is vegetarian and she struggled quite a bit for food. We actually ate out 3 times at night so we could get a good feed. Eating out is fairly cheap also.

El cottilo is a great little place. Quiet and very typical of a European village.

We also walked to the lighthouse (45min walk) some of the lagoons and beaches etc are very picturess.

Would I return???....probably would if I knew the food was going to be better.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 250gerryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotilloBeach, Director General at Hotel Cotillo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Dear Gerry B

From the Management of Hotel Cotillo Beach I would like to inform you that we will keep working to improve all the services, mainly and according to your review, the food, we try to please our guest and their satisfaccion is our principal comitment.

Thank you for your friendly comments of our staff. It would be a pleasure to receive more comment if you take it in consideration, i am writing my e-mail address bellow.

We trust we will welcome you again

The Hotel Manager
direccion@hotelcotillobeach.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

Great low cost simple hotel every room has a pool view or sea view .
Food is simple staff are friendly local bus service to large town and market 10 yards from hotel on the corner 3Euros each way on the hour every hour !
Free bus on Thursdays

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank kgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotilloBeach, Director General at Hotel Cotillo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Dear Kgarrett

Thank you for your visit and also for this objective review...don't forget to come back!!!

Looking forward to see you soon

Warmest gegards
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

We booked this all inclusive holiday on OnTheBeach, and were a little worried with all the reviews. BUT it was a great holiday! We stayed for a week (there were 4 of us - 2 couples in early 20's) in El Cotillo.
There are 4 lovely timid cats that live at the hotel, so don't book if you're severely allergic.

There is a bus which picks up from down on the road (30 seconds away) which goes to Corralejo. This costs 3.10€ for a single journey and comes on the hour from 8am-8pm and takes about 50 minutes. I don't think you can get returns.
Also, don't be afraid if the bus doesn't head for Corralejo... it picks up from other towns on the way.

The Beach:
The hotel is only a minute away from the beach which is beautiful. If you wait until about 4pm, the tide goes out and leaves a wonderful lagoon.
We caught some shrimp and crabs in the rock pools and went into the sea - it wasn't too cold, there were loads of people swimming. You also get loads of little fish around you!

On the way to the beach there are a couple of coffee/alcohol/sandwich bars. The one closest to the beach shop was best - they sold square sandwiches and pizza focaccia!
If you don't bring a towel, you can put a 10€ deposit down and the hotel give a beach towel for you!

Hotel food:
For breakfast (8-10am), there were these options: cereals, pastries, fruit, beans, eggs, bacon, sausage, potato wedges, bread/toast and a coffee machine!
For lunch (1-2.30pm), there were options like these: chips, pasta, rice, veg, different meats!
For dinner (6.30-9pm), there were similar options to lunch however more meat options.
Examples: shark, beef, chicken, tuna, rabbit.
There is always soup, sometimes nice, sometimes not.
One of us was vegetarian and always ate something.

Desert was repeat selection (however different flavours) cake, jelly, mousse, fruit and always ice cream.

Hotel entertainment:
The bar (La Terraza) opens at half 6 until roughly 11, sometimes later) with yummy drinks. Definitely recommend Malibu (or Malu for all inclusive) with pineapple juice.
There were different music nights, karaoke, quiz nights, bingo and another night was called Iron Man which was a interactive night with the crowd.
The main guy for the animation team, didn't catch his name was GREAT.
It was our friends birthday and gave a free bottle of champagne and we didn't even mention anything. He really does his best with the hotel!

Hotel rooms:
There were 2 different room types, some more modern than others.
The popular ones are the ones with the blue flowery prints. The rooms are good as you're not in them often. The shower was good as you could change the stream.
HOWEVER, the double bed was just two beds pushed together, individually made. So during the night, the beds did separate meaning couples can't really share a bed.
There is also a sofa which looks like it pulls out to a bed.

Many channels are for the news, however if you go to channel 21 (mega), there is usually US programmes.

El Cotillo town:
We ate out for dinner once, the restaurant was 'El Callao Restaurante'. Amazing! Staff were so polite! The food was so good - we had to start the garlic bread with cheese and friend baby squid.
Then for dinner, Caesar salad, chicken/beef malanese (this comes with chips, rice and veg). Everything was absolutely stunning! Great price too!

There is a shop next to the hotel however it is slightly expensive.

Trips out:
On a Thursday, they do a free bus to Corralejo to the arts and crafts market. PLEASE GO! Its amazing. Theres a stall which we bought a trip from!
The Volcano Express - for 49€ per person you get: a boat to Lanzarote, trip up the live Volcano, wine tasting, aloe vera museum and a visit to the green lagoon! Theres a coach pick up at 9.50am from Oasis Dunas hotel in Corralejo so we got the 8am bus to Corralejo and got breakfast there!

Room tip: Pool view is best
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank stripesgalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotilloBeach, Director General at Hotel Cotillo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

We are very grateful for your visit and for this review that describes not only the Hotel but all the details and offers that exist in the north of the island of Fuerteventura ... many thanks sincerely. We will continue to work on our main endeavor that is to satisfy our customers.

We hope to see you again here.

Best regards from your hotel in the north of Fuerteventura

Manager Director

Hotel Cotillo Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for a week here was really clean and room well appointed
Staff weee friendly and service great
Food was ok bit the same as limited but enjoyable
Had great weather and was a perfect place to relax and wind down
Lovely place I would visit again

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank gezzamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotilloBeach, Director General at Hotel Cotillo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2017

Dear Gezzamac

We are very grateful for your visit and also your comments about your experience on this platform of traveling friends, it is very gratifying the recognition made to our Servicesl!! locking forward to welcome you in a future occasion.

Best regards from El Cotillo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

Gorgeous hotel, so clean and we were made so comfortable by the staff, especially Frederico who MADE our holiday! Absolutely loved the hotel grounds and room with balcony. Pool was chilly but beautifully laid out. Food was as expected from 3 Star. The entertainment team made the holiday for me and my boyfriend!

Frederico was an amazing host and made every effort to entertain the guests at all times. He worked so hard and he deserves brilliant recognition.

Only downside was we'd have liked him to have his own night in the Bar for entertainment!

Gorgeous hotel, perfect for young couples seeking a relaxing break on a budget!

Room tip: Get to the bar early for a good seat!
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CotilloBeach, Director General at Hotel Cotillo Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Dear Rosie I

Thanks a lot for such a friendly review on Tripadvisor, We are very grateful for this special mention to a member of our staff. We are already looking forward to see you soon at Hotel Cotillo Beach, your hotel in the north of Fuerteventura.

Don´t be late returning !!!

Yours sincerely,
The Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews