We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,557)
Filter reviews
1,558 results
Traveler rating
315
597
372
153
121
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
315
597
372
153
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fishing village salad pool area old harbour ceiling fan plenty of sunbeds rock pools all inclusive drinks meat and fish relaxing holiday the hotel is clean plenty of choice craft market half board evening entertainment pork reception staff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
274 - 279 of 1,558 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2016

Just returned from a weeks' all inclusive holiday at the Cotillo Beach Hotel and it was, all in all, a great experience. The rooms, all with balcony, are spacious and were kept clean. The staff were helpful and friendly. The guests were mostly German, the rest being Brits, French and other European nationalities. The hotel sits a little way back from the sea-front (only a couple of minutes walk away) on a road (not noisy) and is adjoined by a fantastic supermarket and a few untacky shops. Let me tell you about the food side of things, I would suggest two things to the hotel management team: the buffet food needs to hotter (a microwave is provided however) and there should be a buffet manager in place monitoring dish replenishment, as often, serving containers were empty and I had to ask and wait for food on a few occasions. The choice however wasn't bad and my vegetarian boyfriend felt there was enough with regards to variety to satisfy. Dinner also had a grill bar serving delicious fish and/or grilled meat. We arrived late afternoon, starving but had missed the lunch service. Advised by the staff that we could get a snack at the bar area and we made a beeline for that, but wished we hadn't bothered - OMG, not good at all. One plate of cold chips and a few biscuits was all that was on offer. Really. To the hotel management team I would say that you need to value your clients better by offering them, at the very least, a small selection of fresh food in the snack bar, as the current set-up is extremely dire and made me, for one, feel very apprehensive about what was to come. Thankfully, we found that the main restaurant, although there was room for improvement, was OK.
El Cotillo itself is a lovely place - quiet (as is the entire island) with a fantastic beach area with dunes galore to the right of the hotel front and a lovely harbour to the left of the hotel front - really, really lovely. Turn left and left again outside the hotel and you'll find a bus stop with buses (No. 8) running every hour to the capital, Corralejo which is worth visiting. In fact, the hotel runs a free bus service on Thursdays, as the craft market is there on Thursdays and Sundays. It's about 3 euros each on the public bus. We also went from there to Puerto del Rosario which lies just above the airport, but I would suggest that if you just want some time out, Corralejo has everything to offer and is a much shorter bus-ride away. Fuerteventura is hardly built on and apparently, electricity was only installed there 30 years ago. We absolutely loved it for it's barrenness and innate beauty. There's something very, very special about this island, just please, don't tell anyone else!

Room tip: There are only two stories, all have balconies. No tea-making facilities, no Wi-Fi except in Reception area.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Lindseyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2016

The hotel is beautiful, very clean and well maintained. The staff were very polite, friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. The food choices can be a bit samey but there was always something to suit everyone - you definitely wouldn't starve! The rooms are spacious and well laid out, with very comfortable beds. This was our second visit to the same hotel in 4 years, something we rarely do, but found the hotel and location so relaxing. We will definitely go back again in the future and would recommend this hotel and location if you are looking for a relaxing holiday. The location is very quiet but the regular bus service will take you to local towns where they have markets on different days of the week.

Room tip: Choose a pool view room
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank debbiedack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

Cotillo is a funny old place. Like they stopped developing it recently and walked off the job. Streets to nowhere. Open plots of dry volcanic land where you'd expect shops and bars. But at is heart, a beautiful old harbour. And either side fantastically wild beaches and lagoons. Naturists and surfers rub along nicely, so to speak...

Got placed here as there was a mess up with our booking elsewhere. So, hadn't planned this. Totally not.

The hotel is not on the beach. Despite the name. It's a block back. Very clean. But I'd suggest down at heel. Great pool, though freezing at this time of year. Pay for the tv remote..??? And the safe? And the wifi... ok, it's free in the lobby, but it's pitifully slow.

Half and full board available. But only take full board if you can't afford to eat out. The half board option didn't grab us after the first evening , though it was paid for. Fluorescent strip lighting and ageing building gives the restaurant a military canteen feel.

Rooms are clean but dated. Especially the linen, and curtains. And brown towels. Heck.

Long tiled corridor for each wing assures full conversations can be heard from way off. Not peacefully soundproofed.

Can't fault the staff though. Lovely people and clearly hardworking. Very nice indeed. Totally.

I'll just pay a bit more next time for something more modern.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Moikul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2016 via mobile

I went to the hotel with a completely open mind after reading reviews on here. I must say that I was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is beautiful and very clean, the staff are lovely and there is a great atmosphere.

My partner and I are in our mid-twenties and I must comment that this probably wasn't the best ares for a lot to do. Saying that, we spent most days snorkeling on the beach and just chilling out which is exactly what we were after.

The reason I have scored 4/5 is mainly down to the food. Now, we found the breakfasts and dinners lovely (especially the braised pork cheek!!) but there was definitely a lack of selection for lunch. For 6 out of 7 days the options alternated between hotdogs and burgers. That being said, I usually enjoyed a salad at lunch; it just would have been nice to see a few different options on different days.

Would we go back? Probably not, but this is down to the area not having quite enough to do and not the hotel. It was delightful for one week, but maybe a bit too quiet to return.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank CalianaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 via mobile

Enjoyed a two week holiday with my partner & children aged 22 & 15.
We arrived late evening but were made to feel very welcome straightaway and went straight to the restaurant to eat before we actually checked in which was a good start.
Mark on reception was very good, knowledgeable and on hand to answer any questions.

The rooms were very spacious and well laid out. We had a ground floor room over looking the pool.
The rooms were tidy and cleaned regularly by the staff.

The pool area was nice with plenty of sun beds for everyone. There was no need to be up early to put your towels out.

The restaurant was clean & spacious. The selection of food was good, something for everyone.
It was kept well stocked up by the kitchen staff at each meal time.
Being away for two weeks you could predict what would be on the menu but this didn't detract from anything.

The two bars were good.
One point to note. The Terrace bar would not serve drinks to all inclusive guests whilst the pool bar was open during the day which seemed a bit strange.

The terrace bar was enjoyable of an evening. The staff were very friendly & quickly got to know what you were drinking.

The entertainment of an evening was a little "hit & miss" but the staff did try their best.

In fact all of the staff were very good, friendly, pleasant and on hand when needed.

In general the fabric of the hotel could do with a little bit of TLC but this in no way detracted from our holiday.

El Cotillo on the whole is a quiet resort. There is very little outside of the hotel apart from a few bars & restaurants scattered about the village which are nice to walk to of an evening but there is no real nightlife as such.

We visited between 14-28th August.

It is worth noting that this is Festival Time in El Cotillo with lots more going on.

Behind the hotel there is a concert square used during the festival. On the weekends of the festival this is used by bands with the music playing well into the night. On our middle weekend it was 5:30am before it stopped on both the Saturday & Sunday nights.

Good points-
Staff friendly & attentive,
Excellent pool & facilities,
Good choice of food & good quality,
Excellent beach within 5 minutes walk.

Bad or not so good points-
Quiet location,
Not much outside of hotel,
Not for families with really young children.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank paulbY290US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews