We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Oasis of unspoilt Paradise”
Review of El Caleton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Cotillo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Caleton
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Paradise Location, Location
Stayed in number 8 first floor apartment balcony over looking sea view, We could not believe that tranquil idyllic places like this exists, with a beautiful lagoon, which makes it safe bathing for families. The apartment was in excellent condition, well equipped, very clean, and had facilities with a personnel touch, DVD player flat screen TV and a iPod’s and I phone Sony music player with charger, which we didn't expect, Local Restaurants were great and we never thought that such a small village could offer so many quality restaurants, with Fish being freshly available daily by local fisherman the Restaurants in the old harbour and new with spectacular views of sunset. We will be back as El Caleton was one of our best holidays. Sarah J

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_jane_5979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2010

Well yet another review of El Caleton ! This time a different apartment. This one is also on the ground floor giving access to a lovely patio area and the gardens. The cats that frequent the area (fed and looked after by The Twinkle Trust) never enter the apartments and sit on the outer edges of the patios and/or french doors. They are all lovely well tendered well behaved cats which do not interfere with you unless you encourage them. Feed them at their feeding station and there will be no complaints.
The apartment is a two bedroomed apartment with twin and a double. All facilities are present and all cooking requirments were present. The owners have also decorated the walls with some excellent paintings done by Eric on canvas and one large one on the actual wall itself in the lounge area.
The accommodation is now nearly all run by Maryand Alan and it is all to their credit. There has been a new coat of paint and everthing is all very clean , tidy and well presented. We love the place and met the owners of No.1 this time. We have returned today from the holiday there and have booked today to go back in September.... It must be good hey....... If we won a bit of cash we would buy one of the apartments at the drop of a hat.
Do not be put off by the Electric being produced by a generator if anything it adds to the experience .

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MinRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2010

we have stayed at el caleton 3 times now - in appartment5 twice and 6 once. We all love it. We found it a perfect spot for all 4 of us ( my husband, myself and 2 boys - both under 7) - the beach was so close and safe for the boys, with lots of rock pools to explore, clean safe sand and shallow sea to swim in. There places to eat with in walking distance, but we loved the peace and quiet of being out of the town.
The appartments themselves are simple yet well equipped and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2008

Well back to El caleton for the 3rd time, what a lovely place to relax and re charge ourselves. We stayed in apartment No 3 for the 2nd time as you have sole access to the roof and can enjoy all round sunshine with fantastic views all day. Weather not so good this year but still managed to get a tan.

The apartment covers 3 floors, bathroom with shower and bedroom on the entry level, you go up to the lounge/kitchen area then up a spiral staircase to access the roof. The apartment is not suitable for children due to the open stairs.

On the roof is a built in BBQ, sunloungers and a large piece of foam for sunbathing on.

The apartment is very well equiped with all you need to be self suffiicent.

Love our time here and could always do with more time here.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank 3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

We rented an apartment in El Caleton from a Yahoo search looking for apartments on Fuerteventura. Most rentals are in "villas", which tend to be vast communities of vacation townhouses surrounding a pool. This is an apartment to the north of a small fishing village, El Cotillo. It is off the electrical grid, so there is no TV, no pool, and power is shut off after midnight and during the afternoon. It is owered by a diesel generator that was barely noticible.

Our apartment was basic yet adequate. There are two bedrooms, a small but adequate kitchen with a gas cooktop, an ample fridge, and a few staples in the cupboard. The shower was tiny but we had hot water even in absence of power, just not as much. The apartments were not isolated from sounds, though this was not oppressive.

What it did have in spades was location. The back garden abuts a sandy beach on a "lago", a tidepool where the heavy wave action is cut off. This would be perfectly safe for children, while the ocean itself has very heavy waves to where I wouldn't think of going in. It is quite windy, but small enclosures have been made from the volcanic rock that protect you from the wind plus gives a little privacy so you can get that all-over tan. Nudity is common though not ubiquitous, so a live-and-let-live attitude helps.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
15  Thank bwoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeertKramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island-Seeker0, Owner at El Caleton, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Freie Sicht zum Meer gibt im Erdgeschoss eingeschränkt nur im Appartement Nr. 6. Im ersten Stock woh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanarenfreund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euro T, Owner's contact at El Caleton, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cotillo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cotillo Beach
Hotel Cotillo Beach
#1 of 2 in El Cotillo
1,364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Soul Surfer
Hotel Soul Surfer
#2 of 2 in El Cotillo
102 reviews
8.7 mi away
Katis Villas Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.8 mi away
Laif Hotel
Laif Hotel
#3 of 12 in El Cotillo
15 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos el Cotillo
Apartamentos el Cotillo
#7 of 12 in El Cotillo
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Caleton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Caleton

Address: Calle Roques s/n, 35650 El Cotillo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > El Cotillo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Specialty Lodging in El Cotillo
Price Range: $69 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Caleton 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uniquely positioned self-catering accommodation in the heart of the famous lagoon beaches, just north of the old fishing village of El Cotillo in the un-touristy northwest of Fuerteventura. Guests can walk directly from the accommodation onto a white-sand beach with a safe, clear, tidal lagoon, ideal for lazy days swimming and soaking up the sun. Just like being on a desert island with a few mod cons! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
El Caleton Hotel El Cotillo
El Caleton El Cotillo, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing