We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed reviews”
Review of La Vaca Azul

La Vaca Azul
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in El Cotillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant avec 2 terrasses et un salon face au vieux port de el cotillo situe calle requena n9
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“mixed reviews”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lovely location, on terraces overlooking the bay which used to be the old harbour, very scenic and 'quaint'. We didn't eat here and I heard mixed reviews from others, from excellent to not very good so cannot comment on the food. There is a big refrigerated display of so called fresh fish outside the door, decoratively arranged to entice you in. However, half the fish in there were definitely NOT fresh, with dried out looking skin and scales and sunken withered eyes - a sure sign the fish isn't that day's catch, which put us off eating there to be honest. It did look very nicely laid out on the terraces with romantic lighting and great views down onto the bay and the staff seemed very friendly, might give it a try next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank franki253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,043
    589
    163
    60
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cashel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Without doubt - the BEST in Fuerteventuro!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Four visits in two years to El Cotillo and probably 15 meals at La Vaca Azul. We have tried them all in El Cotillo, and La Vaca Azul is by far the most consistent, friendliest and best value in the town. Their steaks and seafood are fantastic, their staff extremely friendly and efficient. My advice, avoid the others and go straight to La Vaca Azul!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lilymaiscafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Everything we could have asked for.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Ok...so spme folk have had a bad experience here..such is life. For us it was as good as we could have asked for..family of five inc6 year old and a granny...everybody love d the EXPERIENCE...the fish was cooked to perfection..the deserts were. ace...the place is about 10% more expensive than mist of the run of the mill fish and 4 salty potato spots...excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnytiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Delicious meal in lovely setting”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks in FV, 1 near Costa Calma, 1 in El Cotillo, so we tried many restaurants... And while this certainly wasn't the cheapest, it was by far the best meal we had! Nice to dine late in the evening with lots of company, young and old, with the sound of the sea and a local musician playing nearby. Perfectly cooked and presented fillet steaks, too big to eat! And all other meals delivered to neighbouring tables looked superb. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pershore, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Visit El Cotillo-visit this Restaurant.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Excellent location. Excellent food. Excellent service. What more could you ask for!! Their choice of fresh fish is the best I've experienced in the north of Fuerteventura. Three dining areas two outside one inside. Whichever one you chose they are all excellent, we know we used them all!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaca Azul also viewed

 
El Cotillo, La Oliva
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 
El Cotillo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to La Vaca Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing