We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and unforgettable setting”
Review of La Vaca Azul

La Vaca Azul
Ranked #5 of 55 Restaurants in El Cotillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $35
Cuisines: French, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant avec 2 terrasses et un salon face au vieux port de el cotillo situe calle requena n9
Annemasse, France
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Excellent food and unforgettable setting”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

It was a windy windy day in February but sitting outside was worth it, with its magnificent view of the roiling sea. Excellent lapas, local limpets (berniques in French), a big portion, and superb puntillas, baby fried calamari, also a big portion. For fresh fish we had the veija, a parrot fish, and "becinegro " I believe, a sea-bream known as pagre in French , both prepared Canarian style and they'll de-bone them if you like.... The crema catalana dessert just fine, the white half bottle of Penedes slightly sweet but it went fine. Very kind and attentive service in at least three languages. the owners are French. A nice little salad was served with the fish, BTW. A lovely place....

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,117
    622
    175
    62
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great Meal at Vaca Azul, El Cotillo”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a great meal at the Vaca Azul at the El Cotillo harbour. We arrived just before sunset which was lovely and romantic. Our starters was juice king prawns in garlic butter accompanied with a bottle of semi-dry white wine. The main meal was fresh red snapper grilled to perfection and prepared in front of us. Having said that the fish could have been prepared in the kitchen whilst hot so that it did not loose heat whilst served to us. Hence I will not give it a 5 star rating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank René R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Fish meal ever”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The La vaca azul overlooks the small cove in El cotillo, Fuerteventura, and provides both indoor and outdoor dining facilities, also providing views due west for stunning sunsets.
BUT, above all, the food and the service is amazing. The meal was the best fish main course Jan and I had ever had.
Excellent guidance from the waiters on types of fish for certain dishes and when served the fish was "dressed" at the table, to ensure no bones and hence no fuss whilst eating.
The overall experience was absolutely delightful and our thanks go to Claude and his team for such wonderful food and service, with no pressure to order or leave. Thanks also to Edward from "The Point" Colchester, and Stefan at Easy Riders, Corralejo for pointing us in the right direction

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A memorable lunch”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We landed here for lunch because Casa Rustica was not serving. Stunning setting outside by the sea. We went for their fish - one was red snapper and one was parrot fish. Both very good, but the snapper best. beautifully cooked, filleted at the table. Nice bread and dips to start.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Searching for a toilet in El Cotillop”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

tWe went there to visit the toilet. After quite a while we also got some beer.I do not know anything about the food, but it should be quite good.
Outside the restaurant there were birds flying back and forth. There was a whole swarm of them. This was the only attraction I could find in El Cotillo.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Imbierna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaca Azul also viewed

 
El Cotillo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to La Vaca Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing