We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of El Carmen

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
El Cotillo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
74zan1
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed April 1, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a great time in El Cotillo. The apartment was perfect for us. It was easy to get to from the airport, the key owner met us and showed us around the apartment with lots of tips on where to go, etc. The apartment had everything we needed and the bed and sofa were very comfortable. We were close to the beach for some great walks, a few mins from the supermarket and restaurants. We hired bikes on two days and cycled to Coralejo - take the coast road if you dont want too long a bike ride! We also cycled around the area to the Lighthouse and around the coast. We got the bus into Coralejo one evening and found a great Asian restaurant. Also enjoyed a great pizza in Lajarres at La Castille (I think that's the name of it - its on the corner as you drive in), only a few miles away. We climbed a volcaoni is Lajarres too and enjoyed great Crepes. Enjoyed surf nearby. If we return to Fuerteventura we would definitely stay here.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2015
Wonderful!! So glad you enjoyed your holiday. Yes- there is certainly lots to see and do, as well as an increasing choice of restaurants. Hope you come again soon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenLea...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well equipped self-catering appartment”
Reviewed November 30, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

A really well equipped and maintained appartment located close to the surfer's beach at El Cotillo. We couldn't fault anything, it made for a relaxing and quiet November break (the weather was warm but wet, which I think was a little unusual for Fuerteventura). The key holders were also very helpful and accommodating - even coming out in the pouring rain to let us in!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No wifi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your holiday - and hope to welcome you back again sometime - maybe next time will be warmer and drier!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ben32Worc...
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“everything you need, clean and cheap”
Reviewed November 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

from the meet and greet (and then left alone) to the facilities (books,dvds,beach items,kitchenware and even some condiments etc) it was excellent value for money. Location probably would not suit family with young kids or nighlife (but thats cottilo) but everybody else would recommend 100%

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2015
Thank you so much for reviewing our holiday home. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope you visit again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aw142014
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment, clean, bright and like a home from home.”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Lovely apartment in a quiet area although close to all amenities with a fantastic view.Bright and clean with everything you could possibly want, even down to the beach accessories. Helpful, friendly management team who answered all our questions and even did our transfers. A credit to the owners who have found a perfect place in a lovely village. Hope to be back next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday in our apartment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChalmersC...
Chester
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Good value accomodation”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Apartment is approximately 50 minutes by car from the airport and easy to find.

Comfortable and spacious for 2 people.
Very clean and well equipped.
A good choice of restaurants within walking distance and can recommend:-
Mare Alta (tapas) Caramea (pizza, Italian owned) + Restaurant Bar Central (Spanish, by harbour).
T.V. language can be changed from Spanish to English via menu button on remote, so you can enjoy programs that were originally made in English.
Supermarket is practically round the corner and is within "real" walking distance.

The nearest beach is not a comfortable walk or easily accessible.
The more usable beach is 5 minutes away by car or a good approx 20 minutes walk, which when the sun is shining isn't really practical.
Unfortunately, there isn't a pool in the apartment block to compensate for this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: El Cotillo
Liked least: No easy access to water
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2014
Hi, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our holiday home after your stay earlier this year. We are please that you found it well equipped - we have tried to make sure our guests have everything they are likely to need. We are sorry you found the walk to the nearest beach a little difficult - so we have updated our description to make sure that it's clear there is a sloping path down to the beach. There is certainly no mention of a pool in our description - and in fact there are very few pools in El Cotillo - mainly because the beaches and sea are so beautiful, an the cost of maintenance of a pool would almost double the rental price if we had one.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkiees...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very well appointed and maintained apartment!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

First time in Fuertaventura and Rl Cotillo and not disappointed! The apartment is lovely - spotlessly clean, blu-Ray player, discs and TV, books, snorkel and mask, bodyboards - all extras very gladly received. Lovely quiet location, easy to find and very helpful Iain who showed us the property and changed the towels! I have nothing bad to say about this place! Will gladly stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Cleanliness, comfort & quality
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing