We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely old harbour living”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
El Cotillo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Canary Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ed L
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely old harbour living”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our first time in El Cotillo. We went wanting a relaxing week and The Haven worked out perfect for us. There are plenty of modern resort-style apartment blocks in El Cotillo, some of which are directly on the beach, but The Haven is in a little back street near the old harbour which gives it a unique charm. It also means it’s extremely quiet - it only takes a couple of minutes to walk through the (very small) village to the beautiful beaches anyway.

The apartment’s simple but has everything you could need - there’s even a potato masher. The sofas are comfortable enough for a nice afternoon snooze, there’s a broad, random selection of DVDs for a night in, and all the kit you could need for a day at the beach (cool bag, umbrella, wind break, etc). The most important thing, however, is that the beds are wonderfully comfortable. We slept so well every night, which we’re really grateful for.

The satellite TV was temperamental when we stayed - it was a particularly cloudy week which may be why we could only ever get CNN to work, but there are a few English-language channels on the regular telly in case you’re desperate to watch something.

But you don’t go to El Cotillo to stay indoors. The town is quaint and friendly and The Haven’s location is perfect for discovering all the little bars and restaurants, and for walking out to grab any shopping you need.

Owners Jacqui and Iain were a pleasure to deal with and made our break that bit more enjoyable. For an extra €70 they picked us up and dropped us back off at the airport, which was great, and shared their advice on places to visit. We bumped into Iain in a bar one night and had a great chat and drink with him - we felt like very welcome guests rather than customers, so many thanks to them for their hospitality.

Highly recommended for those looking for peace and quiet and more than just a room near the beach!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quiet location and comfy bed for great sleep!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Haven and most importantly El Cotillo.
Kind regards
Jacqui & Iain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gernsheim, Germany
Reviewed April 7, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great overview from the roofgarden over the beautiful sea
Liked least: All postcards send via local distrubution have never arrived the recepients
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Haven and most importantly El Cotillo.
Kind regards
Jacqui & Iain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dawlish, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 9, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for a comprehensive review and pointing out the little things that we provide! We are really glad you liked it and our greatest compliment is someone books again before they depart. This really does speak volumes. :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and service
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give a us a review I am sure it will help others "make there mind up"..... We do try our best and to see this makes it all worth while :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Crackered
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's still possible to find the unspoilt beauty of the island”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

The Haven is a great apartment with a shared roof terrace, incredibly clean and fully kitted out with everything you could possibly need. Jacqui and Ian were great hosts and on hand for anything at all. The apartment is situated in the old harbour which is a typical Spanish fishing village, containing far more domestic dwellings than holiday rentals. This side of the island is pretty windy and a magnet for windsurfers, leave your lilo at home! But the cooling breeze ensures you get a great tan and the miles of sandy beaches and coves ensure you can secure a spot all of your own should you wish. Walk along the coast towards the lighthouse for secluded bays. We would highly recommend Vaca Azul Restaurant (Blue Cow) literally ten steps from the apartment for fabulous fresh fish, great service, atmosphere and views out to sea.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of The Haven and most importantly El Cotillo.
Kind regards
Jacqui & Iain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed July 9, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: It was quite dark and the terrace was too far away.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really appropriate your views.
Kind regards
Jacqui & Iain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AggieRogo
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely apartment - perfect for a couple”
Reviewed December 19, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

A perfect apartment for a self catering holiday. I booked this as a surprise for my partner for his birthday and Jacqui had been very friendly and patient in answering my numerous questions regarding the location. The apartment is very well equiped, lovely, clean and comfortable (especially the beds!). The only criticism I have is that it's not very bright and the view is onto an alleyway. This is not a problem though, as you don't tend to spend much time there during the day and you have the usage of a massive roof terrace with a wonderful view to the sea and the mountains in the background. A perfect place to finish the day with a glass of local wine. The location is great - in the middle of the old harbour and close to everything. We like peace and quiet and the apartment provided just that. No night noise, despite the proximity of bars and restaurants. The walk to the lagoon beaches takes about 10 min and similarily to the surfing beaches past the new harbour. We found most enchanting sitting on the rocks past the El Toston tower watching the sun disappearing in the sea. My only other criticism relates the recommended by Jacqui restaurant - Puerto Nuevo. The service was very poor - the owner Terry, looked like he was doing us a favour by serving us and the food terrible. Aside from that, we had a lovely holiday and I have already recommended this place to friends and family. Thank you Jacqui for a memorable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable beds
Liked least: Hot water tank is fairly small but OK for two people having short showers one after another
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2012
We appropriate your taking the time to write a review and your recommendation to friends.
I am sorry that my recommendation for a restaurant was such a disappointment.
Kind regards
Jacqui & Iain
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing