We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rescued our Holiday”
Review of Cotillo Sunset

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cotillo Sunset
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rescued our Holiday”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We originally booked a week at the Princess Arminda in Betancuria but when the went wrong we decided to book a couple of nights in Caleta and a couple of nights in El Cotillo.

The location of Cotillo Sunset is perfect, right on the beach. The facility is small, but there is everything you need for a perfect holiday. There's a pool, a small splash pool for kids and a jacuzzi too.

The beach is great, perfect for children and adults alike. Though the sea is wild at Cotillo, the reefs offshore at this location make for safe bathing as long as you don't venture out too far.

All in all, a lovely place in a great location.

Room Tip: Try and book rooms 1-8' right on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    25
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
67
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lennoxtown, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just got back after a two week stay here. It’s a smallish 2 star complex at the Lagoons end of El Cotillo. It's about a 10 minute walk from the centre of the village, and has access directly onto the beach.
There are 34 apartments divided upstairs and downstairs in two blocks. Rooms 1 to 8 are to be particularly coveted and worth paying a supplement for. They’re upstairs with balconies directly above the beach, looking out on the setting sun.
What we found:
• The staff are friendly and helpful. As we were leaving on an evening flight we were told to keep the room ‘til mid-afternoon and spend the morning on the beach.
• The rooms are spacious with plenty room for beds, settee, table and chairs.
• The balcony on our upstairs room was big enough, and had a plastic table and chairs and a parasol. Lower flats get a terrace area.
• The kitchen facility has a 2 ring cooker, microwave, fridge, plenty of pots and pans, crockery and cutlery.
• The television has satellite and terrestrial digital stations. We didn’t find any English language channels. Perhaps this could have been fixed, but we didn’t care enough to enquire. • Rooms are cleaned and towels/bedding changed several times a week.
• There is no air conditioning. When sleeping with the balcony door open there’s a bit of noise from the surf.
• The pool area between the two blocks is well sheltered from the wind. There’s a small swimming pool, spa pool and childrens pool. There are plenty sunloungers and it never seems to get busy. This isn’t surprising as you can step out of the back gate straight onto a soft sandy beach with swimming lagoon…

In conclusion – we’ll be happy to stay here again, and I expect we will.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Duncolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I am not normally a sit on the beach or in the sun type person but we had an amazing week in these appartments. Our front door lead to the swimming pool and the back door to the beach, what more could you want. The staff were so amazing and would do anything to help us we can not thank them enough for their kindness. You could cook up a feast in the kitchen and the rooms are really spacious. The location is just fantastic and I could never get bored of the incredible sunsets. The town itself is quiet and full of some top resturants. There is a small fort that you can visit by the new harbour and I would recommend renting a car so that you can explore the island a bit more. If you are looking for a relaxing break with great food and amazing beaches then look no further this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HelenH122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The largest photo on the Cotillo Sunset page does not look like Cotillo Sunset; the one featuring a 2 storey terracota coloured building taken from the beach does. Cotillo Sunset is a small apartment complex. It is not a hotel. Is there some confusion with another establishment? There is a place that looks rather like the largest photo at the other end of the village. Is that a hotel?

We have stayed many times at Cotillo Sunset Apartments. They are not the cheapest in El Cotillo, but they are immaculate, comfortable and the position is the best in the village if you want to feel you live on the beach. Omar is indeed a most helpful and welcoming host. Our holiday highlights there are wandering up the beach looking into rock pools, wading into the water up by the beach bar to hand feed the fish and drinks on the balcony watching the sun go down.

Room Tip: Best sunset views from upstairs sea view balconies; best beach access from downstairs beach side roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HMN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

superb location. book a room on the front line for the most magnificent sunsets and 24/7 sea view.
Omar on reception is extremely kind and helpful. Good restaurants and bars in walking distance. big supermarket 15 mins walk, smaller shops and great french bakery within 10 mins.

Room Tip: front line
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cheltenhamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

we have stayed at Sunset appartments every November for a number of years becasue of the location, just right for going for a swim in either the pool or the sea before breakfast, the appartments are right on the beach, excellent location to relax and some great restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: we prefer a room at the front overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gweek, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This small complex is in a great beach side location where the shallow lagoon just in front is ideal for non swimmers and the water is warmer than the open sea. We are naturists and it is great to just walk from the complex and be nude in seconds once on the beach. There is a nice beach bar/restaurant just a little further up at the next lagoon. The village is only about a ten minute walk where there are many restaurants and shops.
We booked through www.naturistholidays.com

Room Tip: There are two room catagories. Pool view or sea view. Its worth paying a little more for seaview if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ivorbrownbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cotillo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cotillo Beach
Hotel Cotillo Beach
#1 of 2 in El Cotillo
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Soul Surfer
Hotel Soul Surfer
#2 of 2 in El Cotillo
100 reviews
9.6 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 45 in Corralejo
1,367 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
9.3 mi away
Oasis Duna Hotel
Oasis Duna Hotel
#30 of 45 in Corralejo
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotillo Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotillo Sunset

Property: Cotillo Sunset
Address: Avenida Los Lagos, s/n, 35600 El Cotillo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > El Cotillo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in El Cotillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cotillo Sunset 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a recently built family complex in first beach line with 34 apartments. Cotillo Sunset will offer you the quiet you need to enjoy your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotillo Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotillo Sunset El Cotillo, Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing