We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish meal with beautiful view on the ocean”
Review of La Marisma

La Marisma
Ranked #23 of 70 Restaurants in El Cotillo
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed February 18, 2019

The Marisma is on one of the smaller streets of El Cotillo, on the seafront. We missed finding it twice, but were enchanted with the location. We both had a fish-soup and then shared a big 'perro' (dog) fish, grilled just so.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClaireFairhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2019

Lovely refined restaurant in El Cotillo - beautiful clean decor and a fabulous view - I enjoyed superb fresh fish and a few glasses of white wine and a gorgeous local dessert. They served a little 'amuse-bouche' as a taster which was yummy.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank DavidLomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019

We read about this restaurant in the Marco Polo travel guide and when asking independently the concierge at our hotel he named the La Marisma as his recommendation to eat fish and Paella. Was not so easy to find but at the end of a few narrow streets right at the front of the Atlantic we found it. Nice ambience and the staff was very nice. We ordered the paella for two. First we received very quickly greeting from the kitchen which tasted very good. We asked if there was garlic in the Paella which was confirmed and then asked if they could make it without. "No problem" came right away as the answer. It took a while but then we enjoyed the best Paella we ever had, rich with seafood in it and fresh. It was so much that we even asked that they would package the rest for take away - which was no problem. Nice place - we can recommend it.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joerg v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2018 via mobile

We used to like the La Marisma and went there in 2013, 2015, 2016, 2018. Always a satisfying experience. But this year, it was really disappointing. The staff was extremely unattentive. Nobody seemed to care if we needed anything else, no questions asked if we liked the food. And the food itself was okay, but nothing more. I don’t know what happened, but La Marisma is no longer recommendable.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank rd1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2018 via mobile

Very little no almost no vegetarian options only 2 starters, plus the salads if you ask to omit the fish). The staff seems a little distant. The sangria is very watery and expensive.
In fairness, we did not agree with the complaints about small portions though, as we were unable to finish our plates.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Marion I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marisma also viewed

 
El Cotillo, La Oliva
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 

Been to La Marisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing