We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in El Cotillo, great location, great service.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Marisma

La Marisma
Ranked #9 of 53 Restaurants in El Cotillo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fuerteventura
Level Contributor
777 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in El Cotillo, great location, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

As another reviewer said – “new home, same high standards”. There are fabulous view of the waves and the sunset from all three places to sit and eat – inside with the large windows, which are sometimes open, upstairs on the roof terrace or downstairs on the outside, but sheltered terrace. As usual, the food was very good and good value. It is also one of the cheaper places for good wine. This is favourite place to eat in El Cotillo. It always used to be when it was located in a large older building with only an inside dining area. Now in the new location it combines the super view with the very good not too expensive food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadicTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    291
    106
    70
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“New Home, Same High Standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

La Marisma's new location could not be bettered, with huge picture windows overlooking the crashing waves and a pretty outside dining area for day-time meals. it would be a fabulous place from which to watch the famous el Cotillo sunsets.

Food-wise nothing has changed. We ate here twice in December with my parents and sampled a good range of the menu. Everything was excellent but particular highlights were the chateaubriand, the duck and the daily fresh fish. Starter portions are huge, two between four people is ample, especially as they bring you a tasty complementary appetiser after you have ordered. The desserts are nothing to send a postcard home about, but you probably won't have room for one anyway. I did try one which described itself as a chocolate biscuit dessert but came as an unappetising glass of sludge topped by custard. I queried whether it was what I had ordered and was assured that it was - oh well, you can't win them all!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

What a disappointment! We knew the old place well and have had some excellent food. We were looking forward to the new setup but our experience can only be described as poor.
Excellent position, nice and clean but the service from some of the original staff just wasn't there.
The food was nothing like the old place. The fresh fish used to be so good, cooked with lots of garlic and beautifully presented, but this time it resembled left overs; the presentation was very poor. Maybe the chef has changed???? We were so disappointed we did not even want to make the effort to complain. Please get your act together and don't send us somewhere else. We will give you one more try!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“smart, with nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

The place looks quite new, with large windows facing the ocean. Huge portions at a very convenient price (around 20€ per person). Good quality, grilled fish recommended. Went there twice: first time was perfect, second time I must say paella wasn't special. Good restaurant anyway.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lipp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

If your idea of sauce is a bucket of cream and you like your chips grey and your vegetables greyer then this is the place for you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Timothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Marisma also viewed

 
El Cotillo, La Oliva
El Cotillo, La Oliva
 

Been to La Marisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing