We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food and service of Fawlty Towers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torre-Pacheco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Anyone expecting a 5 star hotel is in for a big surprise! You arrive at what looks like a lovely hotel only to be let down repeatedly. In fairness, the bedrooms are absolutely fine, no issues at all. This is where all condiments will cease. The service is more akin to that of a 1 star hotel (with many an apologies to those establishments who do at least try). The reception staff, when they actually are where they are supposed to be, are nothing but unhelpful and generally extremely rude. The best way to get through your stay is to have no dialogue with them whatsoever! Moving on to the food, do yourself a favour and do not put yourself through the pain of atrocious service and appalling food. Intercontinental really need to get an inspector in soon and sort this place out. Breakfast is ok but the food in the Clubhouse is shocking and it takes so long to actually get a sandwich, you've forgotten that you were hungry! Food in the Fontana is dreadful (how hard can it be to make a pizza?!). Never order the ravioli unless you like it deep fried!! The Nomad restaurant is also shocking. An hour and a half wait to get the table you booked and then to order and find out what you wanted was finished! I then order a steak medium rare only for it to come charcoaled! I never dared the Irish bar but from previous reports, I guess I'm not missing out. Overall, a sound building which should let to optimism is let down by dreadful food and service that 'Basil' would not even expect! Stayed in Intercontinental hotels in French Polynesia and they were great...never again though on account of the Mar Menor!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Albadavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Albadavid,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay with. I am deeply sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. We are hospitality professionals and pride ourselves on delivering world class service. I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 677 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

It’s so nice to be able to say this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in ever! The facilities, location, cleanliness, small details, amazing food, friendliness of staff and the superb spa made our stay unforgettable. The dinners at their Nomad restaurant made us feel like we were eating at a Michelin star restaurant: the quality of the food was amazing and the knowledge and advice from the waiters, insuperable. They even had a desserts designer, their desserts were just wowww!! While the food at the Club House is alright (just snacks really) the Italian Fontana di Pietra is just such good value for money! Once we had lunch there one day, we didn’t go back to the Club House, not because it isn’t good, just you get a lot more in the Italian, more variety, better value!! A pizza is 7-8 euros!!! And they are really thin and delicious. Their pasta is yummy, their desserts really nice. We have never seen a swimming pool area so well kept, clean, beautiful, and the spa is just like out of a dream... really amazing!! We are definitely going back!!!

Room Tip: Try to get a pool view room, you get a stunning view of the golf course, sunrise and sunset!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Spent two nights in September, nothing was too much trouble for the hotel staff who were all very friendly and attentive. Pool was great, not busy and no problems finding a spot around the pool. We did not try the restaurant in the evening, but the Italian was very good value for money.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for appalling service, no atmosphere, not fussed about food & don't mind clearing glasses up off tables then this is the hotel for you. This is not a 5 star hotel. There is no point in complaining while you are here either because none of the staff could care less.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hamish65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Hamish65,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I must start by saying that this break was an 'offer' via Voyage Prive, whereby we were able to upgrade to half board, which we did.

I had contacted the hotel in advance to ask a few questions and received a speedy and accurate reply.

As promised, the hotel sent a taxi to collect us from the airport (San Javier, Murcia), we landed at 9pm, and were in our room at 21:32! Not bad at all.

Upon check in we were given a voucher, we were told that this was for the half board and should be presented at the restaurants. We were asked to pre book wherever we ate on any given night. The only thing we could understand on the voucher was 'spa' (free access was included in our package), although it turns out it's free to all residents - so not given anything extra.

Our bags were whisked away by two bell boys (excellent throughout our stay), and we proceeded to our room unaccompanied. On arrival our bags were nowhere to be found, after 15 minutes or so I called reception to be told that they'd been delivered to the wrong room, although this was quickly rectified. As it was now getting late we ordered room service which arrived quickly. Food was hot and fresh but not as advertised or requested (had cheese in, which I don't eat), however it needs to be noted that we did not complain as we were now tired after a days work, then travelling. We also later found that this was fully charged and not part of the half board arrangement which was previously thought.

Our room was lovely, the bathroom spacious and very clean, a large balcony with a view over the front of the hotel.

The next morning I realised that as part of our deal we should have had a pool view room, we um'd and ah'd over whether to bring this up at reception as our room was so nice, but decided to as we couldn't see a pool view room being inferior. Reception stated that the pool view room was only subject to availability, I said our deal had stated a free upgrade to pool view and there was no suggestion that this was subject to availability, I was then asked for paperwork to prove this :-( which was disappointing, but I did have it and straight away they agreed to upgrade us later in the day when a room became available. The transfer was swift and efficient, completed by two bell boys, with a smile on their faces, which was nice. Our new pool view room was just as nice as the previous room but with a great view.

Breakfast was fabulous, all sorts of very fresh fruit, pastries, bread, rolls, preserves, nuts, meat, fish,bacon, sausages, beans, cheeses, cereals, juices, fruit tea, earl grey, green tea, english breakfast, coffees including ristretto, espresso, hot milk, cold milk......the list goes on. Also a chef on hand for freshly cooked eggs and.............fresh pancakes with maple syrup, preserves or chocolate sauce - excellent.

Our first full day was spent exploring the area which isn't great - this place is good if you play golf or just want to chill out. Our first experience of dinner at La Fontana restaurant was disappointing, service was mediocre as was the food, we were disappointed and a little embarrassed to find they knew nothing of the half board arrangement (this meal did show up on the bill at the end of our stay but was swiftly removed)

The pool is lovely and uncrowded with often no one in the pool and over a period of 10 days we never witnessed more than 8 people in the pool at any one time, the jacuzzi was very nice. The lifeguard in charge will approach you to ensure you are entitled to be there, then offer you very large and good quality pool towels free of charge. The pool area really was a oasis of calm and relaxation.

The only reason I have not given this hotel 5 stars is because we were informed that our half board voucher entitled us to eat at any venue which turned out to be untrue. With this voucher we could only eat at The Clover, (restricted access to Nomad) and La Fontana , which on the second visit we walked out as after 45 minutes we only had a glass of water, our first choice of starter was sold out, our drinks were forgotten, the reorder for the starter was not put through to the kitchen, the service was very poor - all this, with only 8 customers already there when we turned up - and there were three waiting staff! As by then it was evident we were being ignored (not just us, other tables were left with empty glasses and dirty plates) we approached the till area to say we were leaving as we had waited long enough. Our server got quite stroppy, jabbing at her order screen (in obvious irritation) and then had the nerve to charge us for the water. We went to reception to advise them of the situation and they conceeded to allow us to eat at Nomad, the premium restuarant - it was by now apparent that our voucher was only valid there on 2 nights, Wednesdays and Saturdays. We were then however given a different menu to other diners, that surcharged certain dishes - also a little embarrassing when the 'usual' menus were taken from us.

The following night we ate (if you can call it that) at The Clover Bar which is an Irish bar. For starters I ordered 'spiced potatoes', my husband ordered breadcrumb coated mozzarella sticks. The spiced potatoes turned out to be frozen McCain like potato wedges - and a whole dinner plate too! Unbelievably my husbands Mozzarella sticks came with............chips, remember this is a starter! The food in this bar is poor, poor, poor! It has to be said the service is not much better. However the atmosphere is quite nice with live music on Thursday and Friday nights - it's fine if you don't eat and ignore the staff. My husband did note that the soap dispenser in the mens toilet was never refilled and remained empty, hope there is a staff washroom???

The spa was quite nice, however reception was unmanned on most of the 5 or 6 occasions we visited. I booked a treatment and was asked if I'd like to attend an hour before to use the facilities which included an indoor underground pool, turkish type bath, steam room, sauna, tropical rain shower, ice shower and relaxation room. However when I arrived there was no one on reception which meant I was unable to get towels, additionally I didn't have a clue where any of these facilities were so ended up wondering around to try and find stuff. After having a swim in the pool (after returning to my room to get a towel and robe) I came across a member of staff who showed me where the other facilities were - on another floor! The treatment I had was fine if a little expensive.

We found the cleaning of our room to be very good overall, but the housekeepers constantly omitted to leave milk and teabags and I had to ask reception for them several times which became a bore.

I found the hairdryer in the bathroom didn't work, within 2 minutes one of the bellboys turned up to check it out, then the maintenance man showed up, took the dryer away and came back with a brand new dryer - excellent service for which I was very grateful.

If I could pick this hotel up and put it in a different location I would go back, but NOT on half board as you really are treated as a second class citizen as far a choice of venue is concerned. We ended up eating off site on 4 or 5 nights as anything but the Nomad really does leave a lot to be desired.

Our last full day was blighted by groundworks taking place by the pool, a disc cutter was being used with 6 feet of the sunbeds - terrible row, terrible dust, this cutting work should have been marked up on site then removed for cutting, it caused many residents to move, but even 50 feet away a disc cutter is disruptive at best.

Overall our stay was very nice, everything in the room worked, there was a good choice of english speaking tv, air con worked well, ceiling fan was powerful and quiet. If I could seperate the hotel from the restaurants (excluding Nomad) I would give 5 stars.

Room Tip: Pool view, avoid rooms over the Clover bar as it can be noisy
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Savanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Spent 5 nights here. Weather great, hotel very quiet and relaxing. Rooms great and very freindly staff. Nice grounds and complex. We had car by not much to see in surrounding area. Next time would stay at hotel and just relax. Ony disappointment was that wifi was vey expensive. Should be free come on intercontinental make it free in all your hotels!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have stayed on the resort in Villas a number of times now and really enjoy what the mmgr has to offer.
We have recently stayed twice on calle alcornoque overlooking the first Green, which are great Villa properties with private pools. We have eaten in the hotel on a number of occasions and found the following :
A La Carte seems overly expensive.
Clover bar snacks are ok, but are as described.Service can be slow.
Italian is great value for money, but book in advance and the service can be patchy but is always friendly.
The club house bar is great for a quiet drink and quick service, particularly when it stays open into the evening.

They do have a pungent drain issue at several spots throughout the resort, so be careful with your table choice outside the Clover bar if you choose to sit close to the bar itself.
If you want good quality golf at really good prices this is a great place to stay, if you want late nights with music and disco`s, you will be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neiljm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre-Pacheco
2.7 mi away
Senator Mar Menor Golf & Spa Resort
3.8 mi away
525 Hotel
525 Hotel
#1 of 7 in Los Alcazares
587 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Narejos
Hotel Costa Narejos
#2 of 7 in Los Alcazares
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel Principe Felipe 5*- La Manga Club
13.2 mi away
Hotel Entremares
Hotel Entremares
#2 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
1,316 reviews
12.0 mi away
Servigroup Galua
Servigroup Galua
#1 of 23 in La Manga del Mar Menor
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Calle Ceiba s/n | Mar Menor Golf Resort, 30700 Torre-Pacheco, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Torre-Pacheco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Torre-Pacheco
Price Range: $131 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa is located in Murcia, along the Costa Calida or "Warm Coast". It is a refuge of peace and tranquillity inside the Mar Menor Golf Resort complex, where you can combine business with pleasure, leisure with sports, spa, culture and rest The hotel has 64 spacious luxury rooms, 7 are suites. All of them with private balconies and large bathrooms that offer an independent shower and whirlpool bath. With 8 restaurants and bars, the hotel also offers a full range of gastronomic options and entertainment including a traditional Irish pub. The luxury accommodation is complemented by our Spa of 1100 square metres which offers 3 thermal suites with revitalising pools, sauna, steam room and lifestyle showers, a relaxation room, fitness area and a nice indoor pool with 15 meters of free access for hotel clients. Moreover, 7 treatments rooms with an exclusive range of Spa treatments that combine modern techniques with ancient therapies. The hotel is surrounded by Mar Menor Village Golf an 18 hole Par 72 golf course, part of the celebrated IRM Nike Golf and designed by Jack Nicklaus IRM Nike Golf is completed by 5 golf course 18 holes in 25 km surrounding the hotel: La Torre Golf, El Valle Golf, Hacienda Riquelme Golf, Saurines de la Torre Golf y Alhama Signature Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Hotel Torre-Pacheco
Intercontinental Mar Menor Golf Resort And Spa
Mar Menor Hotel
Intercontinental Torre Pacheco
InterContinental Mar Menor Golf Resort & Spa Region Of Murcia, Spain - Torre-Pacheco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing