We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer family break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Residences at Mar Menor Golf Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the begining of September for 10 nights. 4 adults and 1 child under 2.
Apartment was lovely, very well equiped. Few minor problems with shower not been sealed properly so we had water on the floor.
The pool was just behind our apartment and easy to access. However one complaint is that there were not enough sunbeds around our pool even though there only perhaps 6 or 7 people around the pool in the day.

The resort itself is lovely, it does smell in the mornings and eveniong though. Never figured out if that was becuase of the rubbish disposal system or sewage.

There are a few places to eat, Irish Pub, Italian restaurant, Indian restaurant. The service at the Italian was shocking so we never went back.
Indian was great, nice food, good service and not a bad walk from our apartment.
Could do with a few more places to eat as got boring so we ended up cooking ourself which was fine.

The staff at the intercontinental are not particularly helpful. I donlt know if it's becuase of the language barrier but it wasn't really worth speaking to them if we needed help!

Overall it was a good 10 night beak for us all. I just wouln't go back until there is a few more things to do in and around the resort or I would recomend hiring a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 190 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed at the end of September 2012 - 6 guys on a golfing break. Apartment clean and tidy. Complex deserted though - was like a ghost town. Was almost as if the end of the world was coming and everyone had evacuated the place. Virtually no atmosphere and most places closed. If you want a choice of places to eat and some bars with atmosphere, this is not the place to go. Would not return. Booked through lamangaspain.com - never again! Shocking service!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great relaxing venue with golf and near by hotel is lovely food. The apartments are spacious and well kitted out.
The pools are lovely and make sure you get an apartment with lovely views of the pool and golf.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BearGryllsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at Mar Menor in August 2012, at a friends apartment, the whole place was very quiet considering it was peak season. Immaculate accommodation, and surroundings, and we had a pool right on our doorstep, which we had virtual sole use of due to the under occupancy of the surrounding apartments. The main hotel had bars and restaurants which we did use, the Italian was nice and staff very friendly. The hotel bar was reasonable and again staff were friendly. The onsite supermarket was well stocked and well priced but staff were arrogant and rude, we made it a standing joke to be overly nice to them to annoy them even more!
Thorougly reccommend Mombasa bar on the Boulevard, the nicest staff you could wish to meet, and also Route 66, burger bar which was a big hit with our children.
The place is a little out of the way so car hire is a must. We did find the surrounding area to be very industrial, Dos Mares is a nice shopping centre and the beach at Los Alcazares is very pretty but watch out for jellyfish!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TPTWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed 2 weeks at one of the residences at Mar Menor, on a Groupon voucher. Our first impression of the resort which was the unhelpful reception, at the hotel who run the apartments. The concierge chap ( wish we had taken his name) was helpful, warm and friendly, however, the reception staff, were anything but, as if we were an inconvenience. We had a couple of minor requests, which we met with indifference and ultimately ignored. The excuse being that they were 100% capacity, and the facilities that we expected had all been handed out already. The apartment was clean, comfortable, but lacking in some basic essentials for the kitchen. Wifi was great and this was throughout the complex, and free. The pool was lovely, and the lifeguards really friendly, unlike the hotel staff. The main restaurant Nomad, was ok. Indifferent service, depending on which waiter you got. We were asked to come back in half an hour after arriving for our meal, surprising as the restaurant was 1/4 full. We did this and when we seated we were brusquely treated by the waiter, with our bread rolls practically being thrown at us ( the previous night was better with a different waiter). The food also was under par, and the fruit flies that covered our wine bottle a real nuisance, eventually another waiter, not ours, gave us some covers for our glasses . We were left for long periods between courses, and dealt with rather rudely when each course was served. Not 5 star by any means. We sampled the clover and the golf club bar, both not consistent in quality of food and service. At the entrance to the resort are several bars and restaurants, of which tried a couple the Flavour restaurant was excellent! Good food wonderful service good value for money, highly recommend. The Indian restaurant Bombay Dreams was dreadful, service poor, food below average. All in all not a five star resort, not enough facilities, a few coffee shops a boutique etc would help, supermarket overpriced, and limited stock and poor quality fresh produce. The golf reception was unhelpful, and indifferent, came up with more objections than suggestions, when trying to book buggies and lessons etc. the course itself is fine although some of the holes being far too close to the properties, and as such there are restrictions on clubs you can use, although there are some nice holes, and the English course Marshall, was friendly and helpful. We hired golf clubs and bikes from Murcia golf club and bike hire, and found them to be helpful and friendly ( they were not part of the resort). Away from the hotel it was very quiet and relaxing, although the complex was 1/4 full at the height of the season, unless they improve on things I don't think you will get many return visitors, it's the detail and the service they need to focus on to make it a better resort., compared to a similar resort we visited last year (Aphrodite hills in cyprus) it doesn't come anywhere close to it.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank maryhellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for a one week break, purchased through Groupon. It was a fantastic stay. The apartments are beautiful, well equipped and set within a well maintain golf resort. There are lovely pools dotted throughout many with lifeguards. The restaurants were relaxed and friendly, and the shop well stocked with essentials. The only drawback was that to get anywhere else you really needed a car, albeit that there is a free courtesy bus that goes to the local resort and back approx 5 times per day. Well worth a stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very nice resort, spick and span clean.
Very friendly security staff.
A little on the quiet side but great to relax.
2nd visit this year may go for a 3rd.
Could do with a few more local bars opening....but in this climate?
Hotel bar good and not too pricey.
Try Flavour on the main road, good pasta.
Not too far from town.
Try get a apartment over looking the lake, the bird life is spectacular.
I dont play golf so cant comment on the course.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torre-Pacheco
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Torre Golf Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Senator Mar Menor Golf & Spa Resort
9.2 mi away
525 Hotel
525 Hotel
#1 of 7 in Los Alcazares
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Nelva Hotel
Nelva Hotel
#2 of 28 in Murcia
957 reviews
14.5 mi away
Tryp Hotel Rincon de Pepe
9.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Narejos
Hotel Costa Narejos
#2 of 7 in Los Alcazares
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residences at Mar Menor Golf Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residences at Mar Menor Golf Spa

Address: C/ Ceiba, Mar Menor Golf, 30700, Torre-Pacheco, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Torre-Pacheco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Torre-Pacheco
Price Range: $67 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residences at Mar Menor Golf Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartments "The Residences Leisure & Experiences" at Mar Menor Golf Resort are located at the heart of the residential complex "Mar Menor Golf Resort" in Torre Pacheco (Murcia), front line, facing the 18 hole course "Mar Menor Village Golf", which is part of the IRM Golf Experience circuit, with courses created by Nicklaus Design. These apartments have been designed by the prestigious architects practice Melvin Villarroel, who have blended architecture and nature in an "integral design", based on the architecture of the void. The apartments open onto a big garden area and a community pool. These exceptional apartments, which don't leave any details to the imagination, enjoy a beautiful and bright living room, completely furnished with modern and comfortable furniture, TV and Internet access and cleanen services available for stays of seven nights or more. Kitchen completely equipped, with microwave oven, fridge and washing machine; and bathroom/s completely furnished. 1, 2 or 3 splendid bedrooms, all exterior, with either terrace or garden and community pool. All apartments have views to the golf course, which is scattered with lakes Guests have access (upon payment) to the facilities at Hotel Intercontinental Mar Menor, right next to the apartments, which include spa, restaurants, an English pub and golf club house. It's excellent location, just a few minutes drive from the best beaches in Murcia, 5 Km from all the nautical offerings in La Manga del Mar Menor and very close to natural environments and touristic routes, make this place a privileged location for your rest without forgetting your leisure and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Residences at Mar Menor Golf Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residences At Mar Menor Golf Spa Region Of Murcia, Spain - Torre-Pacheco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing