We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect getaway with kids from delhi.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Noida, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway with kids from delhi.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

We planned a vacation with my family to Naukuchiatal, this resort was highly recommended from a friend of mine who is a regular at this resort. we had planned a little late from noida we left at around 4.30pm. hoping to reach by 9.00pm at this resort but it was highly miscalculated from our side that we could make it to the property in such less time. when we reached the hills just after haldwani to nainital it was pitch dark with no street lights not even a small bulb on the hill , i who was driving was already under pressure of my mistake at travelling to the hills at this odd hour where in the entire hill of almost one hour there was not one car no street light ,
was being comforted by the Owner of the resort Mr. Mahinder Verma who's no my friend had given to me. This wonderful person picked up my calls after every 10 minutes during my upward hill drive as i was worried for my family assuring me of the right direction and guiding us to the resort.
The buffet was also kept open for us as we were running quite late, we reached the resort at around 11.40 pm ( a very scary 1 and half hour ) from the start of hills, we were served hot food and chapatis.

Its a beautiful property far away from nainitals hustle bussle, perfect for people who enjoy peace and nature. For kids there are a no of activities in the resort itself like table tennis, the resort has its own paddle boats which you can rent, by the way the name already suggests that the property is on the lake itself. no very far off kayaking and zorbing is also available in this lake which is a small walk away. trekking inside the campus is also wonderful.
besides the rooms available they also have tents located in a separate compound for more adventurous people.
The staff and very courteous and polite.
All over a great place for a weekend getaway from delhi , slight improvement is needed in the bathrooms, i am sure they will do the required changes.

AMIT MAHESHWARI.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMITMAHE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    60
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
81
35
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
165 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Its the only resort in the entire Garhwal Kumaon region where pets are welcome. So it has been our favourite holiday resort over the years. Even if you don't have pets, just go and relax. The only problem is the journey blues between Moradabad and Haldwani-katgodam. We planned to reach around 6.30/7 in the evening , that became 9 , courtesy U.P roads . Hot supper was waiting for us. The surroundings are excellent, built around the NKC Tal lake, the facilities have improved over the years. Now you can carry your fishing rods and pick up a catch or two. You can laze around with a couple of books, take a paddle boat or a regular one with boatman , explore a pair of huge owls which we have been visiting regularly for the last few trips( may be different family members) . Overall totally relaxing . Food is excellent . In Breakfast , we had one of the best "Poha"s and Aloo "Paratha"s in years. Chicken curry was awesome , truly Garhwali style. Stick to what they cook best , don't ask for exotic dishes.
Overall , refreshingly beautiful place !!!

Room Tip: We stayed at 15,16,17 , a separate zone , as we had three pet dogs with us. It was at Middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SantanuB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Location is good, atmosphere is awesome, food is great; this is place for perfect vacation. There is nothing to do in Naukuchiatal, and that is the beauty of it. I stayed in this resort for 2 days, and it was very relaxing experience away from noise and rush of city.

The resort was good, location was excellent and staff was very helpful. Resort is touching the lake, so you can enjoy your food sitting next to the lake. There is good track for walk around the lake, and some indoor activities like table tennis, carrom, bonfire etc which you can enjoy while your stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamal_123Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW DELHI
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Club Mahindra's Dancing water's is also in Naukuchital which is a bit far from the lake, but this property has it's benefit of the location which is the best part. The resort is overlooking the lake and you can take a walk around the lake or go for boating just 2-3 mins away. Rooms are decent sized for 2. The food spread was tasty and provided as per requests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PSGUHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

It is highly under-rated. Great value for money.
went there as a group of 12 people. The location was perfect. Right at the lake. Good view from the rooms and huge outside seating space. They arranged a good bonfire for us which was geeat

Pros
Location
Service
Outdoor seatings
The food was tasty and fresh.

Cons
Privacy concerns: the front side of the room is totally glass. It looks beautiful tht u have the entire view of the lake, and they do have the opaque curtains for privacy, but still it seems like a concern to me primarily bcoz the rooms were noise transparent.

Recreational activities: the snooker table was damaged and we were not able to enjoy that.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahulsingh_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

The best thing about the property is its beautiful lake view and maintained gardens. The rooms however are dated and need renovation. Also the bedding is not as comfortable. We stayed at a time when there was only one other family staying in the resort so it was nice. The staff was very helpful but the food quality can be improved upon. Special mention for Mr. Bhuvan and Mr. Bhatt both of whom went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agupta02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

After finishing our work in Nainital, we were brainstorming about where to spend the night. Having been to the Lake Resort several times earlier, the decision was easy.
Set in a beautiful lakeside environment of 70 acres, this reort fulfills your basic needs perfectly - a nice bed and good food at very fair rates. It's the location, the simple elegant architecture and the peace and tranquility, which draws me back each time.
I believe this is now the regular venue for an annual music festival, where bands from all over meet and perform. Great job, Mr Verma!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Abhay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naukuchiatal
2.5 mi away
Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal
Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal
#1 of 4 in Naukuchiatal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#2 of 10 in Bhimtal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 46 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.5 mi away
V Resorts Sattal
V Resorts Sattal
#1 of 2 in Sattal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.6 mi away
Dynasty Resort
Dynasty Resort
#23 of 46 in Nainital
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake Resort

Property: The Lake Resort
Address: PO Naukuchiatal, Naukuchiatal 263136, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Naukuchiatal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Naukuchiatal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lake Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Place where dreams are made……..Lost within acres of Oak Forest in the central Himalayas and hidden amongst the picturesque surroundings, The Lake Resort nestles quietly in Kumaon Hills of Uttarakhand.Spread over 70 acres of serene oak forest; this resort is situated at 4320 ft. above sea level. Home to more than 135 species of Birds, making it a bird watcher's paradise. This area falls in the buffer zone between the Palearctic and the Indo-Malayan climates. It has a Flora and fauna from both sides making it a picturesque setting with its large variety of multitude trees, flowers, shrubs and plants.One can experience nature in full bloom as one wanders the trail by the lake. Along which one can find orchids and ferns in abundance. There are many quiet spots for keen anglers as well. Explore the nine corners of the naukuchiyatal. Folklore has it that if anyone finds a place that has a view of all nine corners of the lake, they'll attain nirvana.Located in three different blocks, the thirty tastefully furnished spacious bedrooms and ten Swiss Tents, offer a panoramic view of the lake from their large bay windows and veranda's. An Uninterrupted supply of hot & cold water and TV (with power backup) makes your stay very comfortable.The Orchid Café offers Indian, Continental and Chinese cuisines and caters to individual taste and preference. Mainly organically grown food and herbs ensure healthy meals prepared under strict standards of hygiene and quality.Step into the Himalayan experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing