We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away from the maddening crowds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Naukuchiatal
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Away from the maddening crowds!”
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Its a beautiful building of the British times converted into the resort. Its unfortunate, the accommodation are not cottages but rooms. Once u accept that, all is well.

The building has its old time charm. The rooms are good. The food is also appetizing. The service is decent. Once u register try to get a back side (lake facing view) on the 2ns Floor. That gives the best view. The front side view is of the parking lot.

The boating (paddle boats) facility is about 4 kms away to the other end of the lake. It remains open till 6 pm in the evening in summers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhandarkar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    145
    45
    11
    2
See reviews for
211
47
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We checked in on 18 March at 2.30 pm. The location is not very easy to find although the front desk gave proper directions when called. On check-in the staff gave welcome drink to 2 of our members while missed to give it to 4 others. Even on requested by our nephew (5 years) it did not come back. We were pushed to take room on ground floor when we were saying that we want it on first floor. Pitch to sell ground floor room was that it get hotter on first floor all when resort rooms are air conditioned. The studio rooms are of different sizes one of our room 107 seem to be very small for a club Mahindra Studio although opp 109 was quite large. The rooms in the resort have wooden flooring, wooden paneled walls and have rich feel. Their is no elevator so be prepared for some exercise particularly if you have to buy something on grocery on 3rd level. My sister in law had to make 3-4 trips to buy some stuff on 19th evening as the staff was missing. Apart from buffet their are no set meals like other resorts. Lack of service continued at checkout. No bell staff was available to ferry luggage which we were to do ourselves. Also if you are coming with a cab their is no driver room like other club Mahindra resorts.
Location of the resort in on edge of Naukuchiatal Lake which is a normally a good point. But if you come to Nainital for first time better to stay on Mall road and give the resort a miss. Also if you are travelling to different resorts in Uttarakhand start with this resort so you will not have benchmarks of great service levels of other resorts like corbett or Binsar.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AjitJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

To be fair, our expectation from this place was very different from what it offers. This may be a good option for honeymooners or retired couples but not for a family with two little girls. The resort is pretty much just one building with some landscaping around it. Thats it. We learnt that this used to be a school girls' hostel for 50 years before Club Mahindra took it over 2 years ago. Honestly, the building had an almost "eerie" feel to it. Wooden flooring, staircases, wood panelled walls, narrow corridors again all wood lined of course. It made for a setting from a creepy movie with creaks and groans emanating as we walked! The resort partially overlooks a quiet lake which doesn't help the feeling.

We were booked for three nights but checked out after just one. And its not only because of the mood of the place. The staff did not quite have that zing that we had experienced at their Corbett property a day earlier - their actions seemed perfunctory rather than genuine. The play area was nothing more than a jungle jim and a slide, and the access to the area was not kid-safe. There is no spa, the Fun Zone had limited activities and quite frankly, how long can you go boating? The only positive that we took away was that they had an Uttarakhand cuisine section on their menu, something we had never seen at any other restaurant. This made for a good dining experience.

Like I said earlier, this could be an option for honeymooners or couples seeking peace and quiet. But if you have children, you are better off staying at Nainital.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidsheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

The Dancing Waters Resort is one of its kind...small, immaculately planned and laid out, beautifully maintained, with the most helpful staff you'll come across tourist places.

Its off-beat by a trite, but a wonderful launchpad for nearby places....you'll need a place like this if you're going to discover the nearby spots...a nice quiet serene setting near a lake, clear night skies, gentle rolling hills, salubrious weather (if going in summers), excellent food and more than happy-to-serve-staff. Its a place I would return to again and again.

Nearby places include Bhimtal (you actually drive through it to reach Naukuchiatal), Sat Tal, Nainital - you can do day trips easily to these places and return by evening. A little further up are Ranikhet, Almora and Mukteshwar, if you're up to driving 2-3 hrs each way.

Lovely leisurely walk around the Nau'tal Lake. At the resort itself, as in all Club Mahindra properties, you'll get the usual well kept rooms, clean en suite baths, dry kitchenette, grocery shop, buffet layouts... What sets Naukuchiatal apart from other similar resorts is the staff - warm, friendly, helpful, smiling.

For one who is not so demanding, it was a perfect holiday for me!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shilendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

My wife & I went for 7 days in Feb 2010 through RCI exchange program.

We found this to be very good and calm place.

Restaurant at the resort is very good.

Games room has a pool table, carrom board, table tenis, open badminton court and outdoor rope activities. Besides, there is a book liabrary also.

Partial kitchen in the room had a microwave, electric kettle and a toaster with crockery and cutlery. We were able to prepare our meals in the room.

Staff is very friendly. On our 26th Marriage Anniversary we found the place very good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avinash_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Great Location, Good Food, Beatuful Gardens, Nice & Big rooms

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IssarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Club Mahindra properties in general are nice. The one at Naukuchiatal is just by the Lake and has a good location. The resort itself is nice, but then there is nothing extraordinary as compared to other Mahindra Properties. It was convinient to travel around placed from the resort. THe resort had good entertainment facilities and it was great fun.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nilesh_pp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naukuchiatal
2.8 mi away
Fern Hillside Resort Bhimtal
3.8 mi away
Country Inn Bhimtal
Country Inn Bhimtal
#4 of 10 in Bhimtal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Manu Maharani Hotel, Nainital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#7 of 48 in Nainital
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aamod at Bhimtal
Aamod at Bhimtal
#3 of 10 in Bhimtal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Traveller's Paradise Naukuchiyatal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal

Property: Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal
Address: | Bohra Gaon, Naukuchiatal 263136, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Naukuchiatal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Naukuchiatal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched up in a beautiful location facing the Naukuchiatal Lake in the company of Himalayas, Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal is surrounded by misty mountains and lush greenery. Here, you can breathe fresh air and watch the sun draping the mountains with its shine all day. To tickle the adventurer in you, there are thrilling water sports, kayaking, canoeing and even paragliding. However, if listening to birdsongs while gazing at the Himalayas is your thing, there are plenty of opportunities for that as well. Located just 30 km from the nearest railway station Kathgodam, the resort is also accessible by road from Delhi via good road connectivity at a distance of 320 km. Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal goes that extra mile to provide you with an unforgettable holiday experience. Head on a jog and enjoy the mystical beauty of the Himalayas or take a hike to enjoy the birdsongs. Your room is fully equipped with all modern amenities including a spacious double bed, AC/heating, sofa, dry kitchenette, fridge, microwave, television and tea/coffee maker. The resorts reception is open for 24 hours. Sit back, relax and enjoy your vacation at Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal. Head out the moment your heart craves for adventure and come back rejuvenated. Either ways, have a fun filled holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Club Mahindra Naukuchiatal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing