We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful stay.”
Review of Los Arcos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Arcos
Ranked #1 of 4 Valor B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed with Jill & David in May for only two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Their B&B was beautifully appointed, spacious, cool and spotlessly clean. Their bathrooms were large and had all the toiletries we needed having traveled light from the UK. Our hosts were very attentive giving us tea & coffee on arrival and drinks on their terrace in the evening. They gave us advice on where to go and their local knowledge was excellent. Breakfast was continental and very enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, they went out of their way to make our stay a real pleasure. It would be lovely to come back again one day.
Thanks again both of you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nevergrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

Another wonderful holiday at Los Arcos with Jill and David. Their hospitality is superb, nothing is too much trouble and they just make you feel so comfortable and at home is their beautiful house. The food was wonderful as usual, the weather great and the walking breathtaking. I really did not want to come home and I am planning my 9th visit for later this year.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anniemaryWhyteleafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Thank you again for making us feel so welcome. You are both such wonderful hosts. We felt completely at home just like visiting family and friends. Our room was very comfortable we even had our own balcony. Every day Jill cooked a wonderful 3 course dinner and we honestly enjoyed every meal. The weather was perfect sunny but not too hot which enabled us to do some of the high walks with the breath taking scenery. When we returned it was Tea and cake on the roof terrace enjoying the views of the surrounding mountains. Definitely planning a return visit next year.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Gina1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

The hospitality we received from Jill and David was superb. Their beautiful renovated house in the Square at Valor is full of character; Jill's cooking is wonderful and the escorted walks with David were just breathtaking. Nothing was too much trouble and we had the most memorable holiday with them. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LyndaM715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was my first trip to Spain, and what a brilliant time we had at Los Arcos in Valor !

It's difficult to know where to start - David and Jill are the most marvelous hosts. Almost immediately you feel as though you are one of the family and have known them for years.

Los Arcos is ideally situated in Valor at the heart of the village centre, on the square adjacent to the church, with ample car parking available for those who need it.

Los Arcos itself is a beautifully restored traditional building, with every home comfort. The decor is tastefully done in the traditional style. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The most stunning feature of the hotel is the roof terrace where you can relax in the sunshine after a day's walking with a Tea, coffee, glass of wine or a beer, with great views overlooking the breathtaking mountain scenery, the village square and the church. What could be better than that !

The cusine and service at Los Arcos were brilliant (we had been told by previous visitors that it was something special !). We stayed for a week on a half board basis. A good breakfast is served, followed by drinks and cake on the terrace or in the lounge when you return to base in the afternoon. We were then invited to help ourselves to any drinks we wanted as we relaxed in the sunshine, sunbathing on the terrace. Each early evening we adjourned for pre-dinner drinks and snacks, served either on the terrace or in the lounge area. We then moved into the dining room for a marvellous three course evening meal, with wine (or the drink of your choice) provided in ample quantities by David throughout. Jill's cooking and menu's are great. The food was hugely enjoyable and would not be out of place in a top class restaurant.

Valor is a piece of traditional Spain with a small supermarket and three or four pleasant bars. I was fascinated by the local produce grown in the area, oranges, lemons, figs, grapes etc., and as you tour around you will come accross goat herders, mules, donkeys, even people riding horses through the narrow streets of the villages. Valor is a good centre if you are touring the mountains of the Sierra Nevada area by car, mtorcycle or bicycle, but it is also a very good location for mountain walkers. David is a keen walker himself and escorted us on a number of excellent local walks, affording us a really good overview of the locality. David will even tell you from his GPS data your ascents and descents for the day, as you relax with a beer afterwards back at base !

What more can we say - go to Los Arcos and you will not be dissapointed !
We had the most brilliant time and would love to go and see David and Jill again soon.

(Steve Holman, David & Christine Whittaker, Sheila Gamble
- Oadby, Leicester, England - 26/4/2012).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed at Los Arcos for 3 nights in September/October 2011. I was directed to it from a local bar, when I was looking for a place to stay at nightfall. It is a beautiful old building which has been very carefully restored from dereliction at considerable expense by the current proprietors Jill & David Drummie. I was knocked out by every feature of this remarkable hotel. The proprietors clearly believe in providing an extremely high standard of service. I don’t understand how they can do what they do at the modest prices they charge. Breakfasts are very generous; the roof terrace is a delight. Some evenings the proprietors cook for the residents and the meals are as good as the accommodation. One word of warning, which is not a criticism of the hotel at all. In the Plaza de la Iglesia in Valor, which is where Los Arcos is located, there are two bell towers, and the bells chime every quarter hour day and night. One bell does what I have never heard before; it chimes the fourth quarter followed by the hour a minute or so later. If you are light sleeper and you are at the front of the hotel facing the plaza, you may need earplugs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I was really enjoyed this hotel. As this is not usual hotel with reception desk in the ground floor. I felt like I was invited by slosest friend! All was made for the covenience of the guests. Very peaceful and beautiful place. I really want to come back there!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valor hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa La Ladera
Casa La Ladera
#2 of 4 in Valor
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Las Perdices
Hostal Las Perdices
#3 of 4 in Valor
6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balcon de Valor
Balcon de Valor
#1 of 1 in Valor
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Arcos

Address: Plaza de la Iglesia 3, 18470 Valor, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Valor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Valor
Price Range: $47 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Los Arcos is a beautifully renovated character house in the centre of the typical Alpujarran village of Valor. It is owned and run by Jill and David Drummie. The house has been lovingly restored making it perfect for long or short breaks or as a base for those wishing to avail themselves of the incredible walks offered in the area. For those who need to stay in touch there is free Wi-Fi available for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Los Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing