We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Restaurant La Tartana
Ranked #21 of 60 Restaurants in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $42
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is situated in the Hotel La Tartana and is open to non residents
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Four of us booked a table for 8.30pm and waited an hour for the first course and another hour for the main course. The staff seemed very badly organised. Food was ok but no more than that. Overall poor value for money

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Broadmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latartana, Owner at Restaurant La Tartana, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your evening with us. Unfortunately we were away and I know we were short of staff that evening. We pride ourselves on our polite service and quality of food. Everything from the kitchen is handmade, from the bread to the pasta. Most people who come to us go away completely happy which makes our job very rewarding. Unfortunately you can't please all the people all the time. If you do return please see me and I will offer you a meal free of charge.

Amanda
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 169 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

2ndvisit new owners this time unfortunately did not meet them but they had an excellent deputy
In jonathan,he made the evening with his charm and witty comments.HIs knowledge of the
Wine list made it easy to choose and very good value,not a rip like in the u.k.Meals were superb
And service was excellent,sat outside on the terrace,in all a memorable evening thanks to Jonathan and his assistant. Parking is a bit tricky but did not spoil our visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank springfield35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We dined here twice during our stay up the hill. The food was fantastic on both occasions. The staff were very friendly and dealt with our requests very well (we have 2 children under 3). When we placed a reservation for our last night they remembered us from the week before and already had the special table attached high chair setup. The food was amazing and I throughly recommend La Tartana to you all. The only tiny drawback is that it doesn't have a view. They have expertly overcome this though with the way they've set the tables in the garden in a terrace. You really don't notice the lack of a view with the ambient music and nice gardens.

Current owners have been in place since about Oct 2010 so ignore any reviews from before this time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a lovely meal here with friends in early July. The outside seating always has a magical feel with twinkly lights and very pretty terrace. It is now under new management. The food is fantastic and beautifully presented - the only problem was having to choose what to eat as it all sounded delicious. Jonathan is very welcoming and helpful with a big smile for everyone. Can't wait until next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ADJJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

As a group of friends we decided to go here as its renowned for serving fantastic food in a fantastic atmosphere. And it didn't disappoint. Although pricey, you do pay for what you get. All food was well cooked and extremely well presented and all the staff were enthusiastic and pleasant. I would definitely recommend the egg and asparagus starter! And being British and loving the deserts this is the only place in the area that sells fantastic deserts, unless you like the frozen desserts sold at other places! The atmosphere in the restaurant and bar was pleasant and welcoming! A definite hit!

1  Thank louisey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Tartana also viewed

Almunecar, Province of Granada
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
Almunecar, Province of Granada
 
La Herradura, Almunecar
La Herradura, Almunecar
 

Been to Restaurant La Tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing