We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Meal once again”
Review of Hotel La tartana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La tartana
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Fantastic Meal once again”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited La Tartana with some very good friends and had another Fantastic meal. Jed and Amanda and the team made us feel so welcome and special. Thank you to you all, we will be back again real soon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    29
    8
    7
    2
See reviews for
14
103
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

HOME MADE PASTA! RISOTTO YOU DREAM ABOUT! I know how to make them...! I went to the Cookery school yesterday and left uplifted, excited and FULL! The owners Mandy & Jed made me very welcome and the Chef Mark is incredible! He has the art of cooking and talking at the same time, he’s incredibly knowledgeable and unselfish sharing all the tips n tricks of the trade. I’m going back to do another course and to enjoy an evening meal in the stunning surroundings..... and to taste the Gourmet Tapas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your great response. We put a lot of effort into our cookery lessons and everyone goes away either with a new skill or a top tip to make life a little easier in the kitchen. Above all we want people to have fun and enjoy the whole experience. Once again a big thank you from all the team and happy cooking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
225 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent two nights at this little gem, it certainly felt like staying with friends as just about everyone had a chat over a wine, we enjoyed a special themed Valentine's Day tasting menu, the food was fabulous...beautifully presented and a real treat all for 35euros.
Jed and Amanda are the nicest people, they are friendly and down to earth, please remember this is not a 5 star hotel, its a small wonderful gem in a little town where many of the charming international community embrace and love La Tartana...
The coffee here is amazing...and Breakfast adequate.
La Herradura is just 45min from Malaga, and 1 hour to Granada, if your there for Sunday Lunch book early !
We may have had the smallest room, we were lucky to get that...make sure you book ahead, and pay the extra! ....room's with seaview are spacious and nicely decorated...although they face the road...
All in All we had a great experience with hosts who genuinely enjoy meeting people.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra and have a front room...they are very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wendyinafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

After making a wrong turn and ending up trapped in the maze of streets in La Herradura, our GPS guided us down a dirt road, under a bridge, and precisely back to the road we had turned from 30 minutes prior. We arrived at La Tartana a bit frazzled but that soon dissipated into pure calm as we were guided straight to the terrace overlooking the sea where we soaked in the views and sipped on a nice crisp glass of white wine. Our gracious hosts made sure we felt at home and allowed us to select our rooms from the 6 or so beautiful rooms that all surround an internal courtyard. Once we were settled in, we were equipped with beach towels and sent for the short stroll to the beach. How could it get better than this??? Well, it did! We returned from our afternoon at the beach and dressed for dinner. This was truly a memorable experience, dining under the stars on the terrace with some of the most amazing food and service I encountered while in Spain. I look forward to returning this summer for a visit and maybe a class in the new cookery school!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I attended Asian cookery school on 12 December 2012 between the hours of 10 am and 2 pm included lunch. Learnt some good techniques and where to source products which are not common to Spanish stores. Great time relaxed and enjoyable, well worth the time.

Room Tip: Learning and very relaxed surrounding with good and interesting hosts, just a wonderful environment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We've been to La Herradura in October for one night during our honeymoon and instantly wished we could have stayed longer. The owners made us feel welcome from the first instant we set foot into the lovely patio. We had the most beautiful room with a seaview balcony (we were upgraded as it was not the busiest time of the year) and were very pleased with the accomodation.
The owners were absolutely gorgeous, they looked after jsut everything, advised us on things to do on a rainy day, were happy to show us around their marvellous little hotel and even managed to organise us a place in their famous restaurant, which was fully booked already for the night but they managed to squash us in somehow. We spent the nicest evening of our honeymoon there, the food was excellent and the staff was superfriendly and extremely professional.
We'll definitely come back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayEfKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaudeHertfordshire, Owner at Hotel La tartana, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We hope to carry on with our good work by giving our guests a lovely time even when it is raining. La Tartana is a truly romantic and magical place, especially for newly weds of all different ages. We are already hosting weddings for next year and are always available for special requests. Once again many thanks and congratulations from myself and all the staff.

Yours truly
Amanda

p.s. Hope to see you for an anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Can thoroughly recommend this boutique hotel. Small good clean rooms. Great hosts but the bonus is superb food. Small menu hence freshly cooked with style. This is a good chef who understands food - cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Mediterranean are higher priced which is a downside, Rooms at back are quite dark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauline4944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Herradura
0.4 mi away
La Caleta Bay
La Caleta Bay
#1 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sol Los Fenicios
Sol Los Fenicios
#3 of 5 in La Herradura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.4 mi away
Helios Costa Tropical
Helios Costa Tropical
#2 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Almunecar Playa Spa Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hotel Casablanca
Hotel Casablanca
#8 of 25 in Almunecar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Alcazar Hotel
Best Alcazar Hotel
#13 of 25 in Almunecar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La tartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La tartana

Property: Hotel La tartana
Address: Urb San Nicolas, 18697 La Herradura, Almunecar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Almunecar > La Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in La Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel La tartana 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The striking Andaluz patio centered on a Moorish fountain greets all to this beautifully designed and romantic corner of La Herradura.The bedrooms all lead off from the central courtyard and are decorated and furnished to a high standard.The spacious restaurant is complemented by levels of outdoor dining terraces surrounded by well stocked Mediterranean gardens framing a view of the 2 kilometre wide bay of La Herradura. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La tartana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing