We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Expectacular”
other travelers have booked this property
Viewes from terracle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Viewes from terracle
Upstairs bedroom with 3 beds and 1 additional, can put a hammock for children. Night view of the house from the pool deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Viewes from terracle
Upstairs bedroom with 3 beds and 1 additional, can put a hammock for children.
Night view of the house from the pool deck
From October to May we place the hot tub under the porch
View of porch and sundeck with 4 sun loungers by the pool
Master bedroom ground floor heating
Views from the outside, to the left of the image is the waterfall 20 meters high
Master bedroom on first floor, air-conditioned TV and DVD.
Sady and Alejandro in one of the waterfall near de house, 300 m.
Waterfall near de house, 400 m.
Hot Tub
Montefrio, 20 km from the house. One of the most beautiful villages in Andalucia.
Waterfall near de house, 30 m.
Views from the terrace, you feel like a good wine and enjoy the view
View from the cave, where they lived for many years the former owners of the house.
Hamacas from Colombia
Little wooden house that we have behind the house
Inside the playhouse
Our children, playing in the little wooden house that we have behind the house, next to the cave.
Kitchen
Playroom
Bathroom on ground floor
Kitchen
Living room at Christmas, TV with satellite
River near the house at 300 m
View from the pool
Los Patios in Córdoba to 1,30 h
La Mezquita in Córdoba to 1,30 h
Market in Granada 1 h
Sunset at the Alhambra in Granada 1 h
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Montefrio, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
jlsaban
Province of Cordoba, Spain
1 review
“Expectacular”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

I've visited Spain lots of times and been in lots of houses, but sincerely this was one of the best. The views were incredible, the house is perfectly prepared for babies and children, it is quite big and very comfortable. We are already thinking of going next semtember.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central heating.
Liked least: My short holidays.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 17, 2014
Muchisimas thank you por tus comentarios
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rosekeigh
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“A beautiful house in a stunning location”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed two weeks in "El Tajil" and loved every minute of it. It is hard to find accommodation suitable for entertaining young children but this guesthouse was perfect. It is surrounded by olive groves for walking, a waterfall and stream for paddling and close to a walking trail which follows the river to the village of Algarinejo.

We had a great time picking wild figs, walnuts, quince, berries and pomegranate from trees and bushes around the house and on the walking trail.

The house itself is well- appointed for families as well as adults as there is a play house, ping pong table and pool (however the pool is not fenced and may not be suitable for toddlers).

Cordoba, Malaga and Granada are all close enough for day- trips but other smaller and closer towns such as Priego, Loja, Montefrio and the local village of Algarinejo are well worth visiting as well.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2013
Hello family, thank you for your comments.
Following your recommendations for the next season we will have the pool fenced for children restless.
We hope to see you again, here or who knows, once in Australia. Kisses for children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob P
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely house!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Lovely house! Nice and quiet. Beautiful swimming-pool! Very friendly owners. Cool house which is good for hot summers. Beautiful views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: SwimmingPool
Liked least: Nothin!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azulares
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money, amazing place”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Dear all,
i would like to thank the Rueda-bonilla family for his hospitality. We have stayed over a weekend and still have in my mid the nice walks through the small river and the cascades.
The nature environment have won my family, what a peace and rest. There were about to jump into the swimming pool, what an amazing place to scape from the city.
They were cooking for us a paella, the grandmother MariCarmen did an excellent cooking and the end was an incredible sunset just lying in the terrace.
I highly recommend to go to El Tajil and enjoy the beautiful place and the amazing people who runs the house.
Warm regards from Italy,
Miguel Angel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nature around the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mauritsvr
Velsen, The Netherlands
1 review
“A nice idyllic house, with a great view, where you feel at home and never want to leave”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Its a nice envirionment, beautiful walking path from nearby the house to the village of Algarinejo, where you can eat at one of the best restaurants in Andalusia (Casa Piolas).
The owners of the house make you feel very welcome and at home and gave a lot of great tips for things to do and to see in the surroundings.

Only downside was that the poolwater was a bit cold, but i think this was because the cold october nights cool it down.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the silence
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments Mauritis hope that if ever again do better time here.
A big hug
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire728
London
2 reviews
“Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed at La Casa el Tajil during the first week of September 2012. We were completely taken aback by how beautiful this villa actually was from the moment we stepped out of the car. The villa is done beautifully, as the owner is an architect, so there is amazing attention to detail. Everything you could possibly need has been provided from games, to towels to hammocks! The grounds themselves are also breath-taking with rare views over the rolling hills covered in olive trees, sunbeds on wooden decking (which the owner said is soon to be replaced with a "moving" sunbed which sounds even more luxurious!) and a lovely pool enough to cool down in. You are spoilt for choice on where to enjoy your beer and tapas, for one you have the table by the pool, another table is situated near the front of the house which is ideal for dinner and there is also a terrace which chairs with a view overlooking the grounds and hills. If it is activities you are after, again you will be spoilt for choice! There is the pool of course, and a full size ping pong table complete with bats and balls and a darts board inside. The town is a short 5-10 minutes drive which is really convenient. The owners are incredibly hospitable, which is part of the reason we had such an amazing experience. They were kind enough to drive us down to the river and show us where to go. We walked to the river on our last day and it is definitely worth a visit. The walk leads you alongside the shallow river, on paths alongside waterfalls and beautiful blue/green plunge pools which we constantly dipped in and out of! This villa is one of the most outstanding places we have stayed in and you will not go wrong by booking your holiday here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, tennis table, absolutely everything really!
Liked least: Everything was perfect!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing