We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not sure....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Highworth Hotel Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 3 Highworth B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not sure....”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

stayed for 4 nights on an offer from Secret Escapes,£55 a night including breakfast,one 3 couse evening meal pp & a bottle of fizz. So the price was amazing but we did have a few niggles. Had to move room 3 times,service was very hit & miss but always friendly,the problem was no-one knew anything!! if you asked someone a question about the room,food,where to eat locally etc they couldn't give you an answer!! Ben was great,thank goodness for him,also Abbey at breakfast. Matt was a great barman,the bar was always full. There was no tourist information anywhere in the hotel,no reception,the driveway to the carpark was very narrow so be careful,also not many parking spaces.On a busy main road so noisey at the front. we had a lovely time but there were things that were lacking but for the price we paid? Brill!!

Room Tip: We saw 4 rooms while we were there!! Room1 was at the front,large sunny really nice but noisey. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank calzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    79
    26
    14
    8
See reviews for
29
131
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arrived about 4pm on saturday and no one Was around but after a couple of minutes a confident young man saw me and immediately apologised for not being around when i arrived. He promptly shook my hand, introduced as Ben and showed me the hotel. He took me , my husband and our dog to a lovely large modern room.. our son was joining us later so i mentioned this as i typing there was going to be a z-bed. But he said he'd sort the bed settee out later. So only was very minor problem but it was not an issue And they sorted it.

We are out, then Had a drink in the hotel, then went to the Saracens head to meet friends then back to hotel for night cap. What lovely professional staff they have... young, welcoming, accommodating, nothing too much trouble, very friendly


We All Slept perfectly( including the dog!) And had a lovely full English, then departed.

Would definitely go Asian and recommend.

Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dry_white_wine_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdyfi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We needed to stay in a hotel in order to visit a new grandchild.
This hotel was a welcome surprise. Really nice room, friendly management, very good breakfast.
Next time we go, we'll try the evening meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked this pub/hotel through secret escapes for two nights. It is excellent value for the money. The owners and staff were very friendly and made an effort to get to know us. Ben came to see the guests at breakfast on our last day to ask how we were and if everything was ok. It was, the food was excellent (three course meal is included in the price) however you can upgrade the menu for 10 pounds each if you want to. We cannot praise the food and the chef enough, we felt that it equaled many fine dinning experiences that we have had at double or triple the cost! A bottle of fizz was waiting in the room for us on arrival (which we drank in the court yard garden as it was a beautiful afternoon). My husband says that the hand drawn beer was very good. Yes the decor needs updating, browns and oranges in the bedrooms is so 70's and the lounge area needs new soft furnishings, nothing that Laura Ashley couldn't fix! We understand that this is still a relatively new venture for the owners and I am sure these issues will be addressed in time. Other reviewers had mentioned the road noise if your room is at the front so we took ear plugs, they worked well! Our only gripe is that our bathroom wasnt cleaned and bins emptied after our first night. There's not much to do in Highworth it's self, however you can easily drive to Burford, Bibury, The Slaughters and many more beautiful Cotswold villages. Give it a go, we wish the owners every success.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lightwater
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked a secret escapes break for two nights and were really pleased with our choice. The hotel was ideally situated in some great countryside and once checked in had a very nice room at the front of the hotel. Traffic noise was not a problem even though we are used to very little traffic at home. Included in the cost was a three course meal which we had on the Friday night. The quality was fantastic, it was very well presented and great value. There were half price cocktails from 6 till 8 which set the evening up lovely. Bathroom was very clean with a great shower. The bed was huge and really comfortable. We would definitely go back. Large cars may struggle to get through the old coaching arch to the car park at the rear.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My girlfriend booked a two night stay through secret escapes which included a 3 course meal one night and breakfast both mornings.

On arrival we went through to the bar area and were then shown to our room which was at the back of the hotel over looking the rear patio/garden area. The room was a very good size and clean. The bathroom also was a good size and looked newly renovated but importantly very clean!

Breakfast was served from 8-10 and was VERY good but didnt have baked beans which would of given it some extra moistness. Variety wasnt huge but enough to satisfy.

Evening meals were tasty and well presented. However i do feel if your on a deal the menu is different as food not on our menu was being brought out and i noticed our portion size was also smaller. Never the less with have 3 courses it was still plenty.

Overall a very good stay with good staff and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Room on the rear of the building as i believe road noise could be bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlB346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We booked the Highworth having seen it on Secret Escapes. Having secured a deal we wondered what to expect. We were not disappointed, we were delighted! Our room and the excellent bathroom were perfect for our needs; modern clean design, but with character. We had no view to speak of, but it was quiet and newly furnished The food was very good, especially the evening meals. Full marks to the chef! Our 2nd night coincided with a special birthday party booking. In spite of this and with the small dining room also busy, we were accommodated at short notice. We had so enjoyed the 1st night we didn't think it could be bettered elsewhere, hence the late decision. Once again we were delighted with our choices. The busy chef even adapted the fish dish to meet my request.The husband & wife proprietors were charming & all staff were friendly and helpful.The young couple, still in their first year,deserve to make a success of their hotel. Yes, there were slight slip-ups one witnessed which should not have occured, eg requests at breakfast whereby several items described on the menu were not available for some guests. This could easily have been rectified if someone had hurried to the local bakery/supermarket in time to avoid embarrassment. However,for our part, we found our stay relaxing,comfortable and with the pre-booked deal, very good value. The location of Highworth is ideal for visiting the Cotswold Water Park & beautiful local countryside. PS Careful drivers will be fine parking through the narrow passage way, but I'm thankful it was my husband at the wheel & not me! But hey ho!What else do you expect from an old coaching inn.

Room Tip: We stayed in Highworth 3 and were very pleased; small, but perfectly fine with a lovely bathroom. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Highworth
2.0 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
7.3 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel
8.6 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands of Highworth
Highlands of Highworth
#1 of 3 in Highworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highworth Hotel Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highworth Hotel Bar and Restaurant

Property: The Highworth Hotel Bar and Restaurant
Address: Jesmond House 1 Westrop, Highworth SN6 7HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Highworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Highworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Highworth Hotel Bar and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Highworth Hotel Bar and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing