We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Engagement Party” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant

The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Highworth
Price range: $7 - $37
Cuisines: British, Contemporary, Georgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Highworth Hotel and Restaurant is under new ownership as from April 2016, with new management and great new chef. We offer good quality home-cooked food, using local produce where possible, at affordable prices. Combine this with a relaxed, yet stylish setting, and great, personal service from our friendly team and we hope that The Highworth Experience is something you will want to come back for time and time again.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Engagement Party”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely building, well trained staff, just a shame the food was all a bit average. Maybe the lucky couple didn't pay enough?!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Des W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    11
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A delightful evening!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thank you to Pauline, Michael and the team for taking excellent care of our party of 12 on Saturday night. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the evening, the venue, the delicious food and the service - many thanks!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gaisha69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hosted a fabulous 40th Party for my husband!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We hired the venue for my husbands 40th birthday. We had a lovely hog roast in the courtyard! The staff were very attentive and the night was very well organised. The building is beautiful inside and out...with all Georgian features kept in place with a modern twist. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great food, great value. Let down slightly by the menu.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have visited The Highworth on many occasions, and always enjoyed their food, especially the steaks. Was looking forward too a mid-week offering, and checked the menu online beforehand. Was disappointed when we arrived, and the menu was completely different.

That said, the courses we opted for were very decent, and the staff are always friendly and helpful.

Sunday through Thursday, they offer 2 courses for £12.95 or 3 courses for £14.95. Very much worth the visit, whatever the occasion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank socialPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice food but poor service let it down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

A group of us ate here recently and my partner and I wouldn't return. Lovely building but the terrible service let it down. Drinks orders were forgotten or incorrect and we were basically abandoned at the end of the evening. The food was nice but not amazing and the tiny cubes that appeared in place of vegetables were not value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 
Highworth, Wiltshire
Highworth, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Highworth Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing