We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food & Drink Good Value...”
Review of The New Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Benson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food & Drink Good Value...”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Can't comment on the room as we were on our boat nearby...
Food choice is very good and reasonable price, drink prices good too. Food quality very good, hot and tasty. Would eat here again.
Maybe it could do with an update but for the price its worth it, with a double room at £60, what do you expect? !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    171
    47
    23
    37
See reviews for
102
212
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Mike and staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely quaint building and lovely garden backing onto river. Food excellent. Bed clean. Overall everywhere could have been cleaner, worth trying a bit harder with the cleanliness as they could achieve a much better rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed one night here, which was one night too many, whilst we were walking the Thames Path. Check in was not good, but we realised later why there was reluctance to show us to our rooms. Equipment was faulty, or didn't work at all. Decor was terrible, wallpaper was part stripped off the walls and 'carpet' dirty. Notice that there have been other unfavourable reviews and particularly liked the one written by the person who would have rather stayed in a tent. That says it all!

Room Tip: Are there any?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derek w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Really looked forward to staying here as we have passed it so many times. Room was up stairs in an annexe. Stairs creaky and rickety. Washing and cleaning stuff at the bottom of stairs. Room was OK. Bed was clean.

Rest was in need of modernisation, decoration and cleaning. Still had coffee stains on chest of drawers from previous visitors. Shower tray had not been cleaned. Knobs came off some of the drawers.

Bed was very comfortable and had a very good nights sleep.

Breakfast was a bit of a free for all. Not explained at all. No tables free when we arrived (and others) Not enough room to accommodate the rooms they have. Self service tea and coffee. Breakfast itself was OK. It was full english or nothing - no alternatives offered. Cereal and juice available if you were told it was there. Weirdest toast ever (like damp toasted bread).

Having said that I would highly recommend the food in the restaurant. Was quickly delivered, hot and extremely tasty. Pub was busy afternoon and evening. Lovely out the back as you look down towards the river.

Wouldn't stay here again but would use the restaurant if we were ever in Lechlade again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zomergem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We booked two ensuite rooms. One was much larger than the other, but both did not smell fresh.
Rooms were clean and bed was OK but the room might need a freshing up. The latter was certainly true for the bathroom. Although our room was at the streetside it was not noisy. And when we had the window open for a few hours, the unsavory odour was gone when we returnbed after dinner.
As we drove a lot that day, we ate at the restaurant and had a decent meal for a fair price.
Although the hotel is not at the top of its category, it is not the worst place to stay but we might next time look for another sleeping spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Easy to find in the Market Square in Lechlade, The New Inn is one of a number of former coaching inns in the town. Nick, the proprietor, welcomed us and was genuinely interested in our progress on the Thames Path walk.

Having booked a double ensuite, we were given a room in what I believe had once been rooms over the stables. It had been reasonably well transformed, a small ensuite shower room (with rather oddly positioned loo) fitted in the corner using a velux window for light. Loads of power points for recharging phones and using computers, plenty of drawers, and space for our suitcases. In addition to the one in the ensuite there was also a velux in the room itself, which meant that it wasn't possible to make it dark when it was light outside, and the single glazed window was dressed with a vertical blind rather than a curtain. The TV was a seemingly old fashioned CRT type, as opposed to flat screen, and used a digibox - we were used to such technology, having a similar set-up ourselves at home, but it might be tricky for some and we didn't find any instructions.

A hairdryer had to be requested at reception and the range of bathroom accessories was limited to a couple of individual bars of Lux soap - no shampoo or conditioner, but Londis over the road are open from 7am to 10pm so we got some there. The lighting in the room was either on or off - no dimmers, no option to have just one light on.

We visited in mid-April: the weather was cool and breezy but the heating was not working. Nick happily found us a fan heater when requested which kept our room and us warm.

We had supper in the bar at the New Inn, even though there are a number of other pubs, bars and restaurants close by. Barnsley Chop (a special on the menu) and Scampi and Chips, with two drinks and a coffee each for £34 was very reasonable, and the meals were delicious.

Breakfast was basic - we weren't really asked what we would like, just whether we would like cooked or not. There was no yoghurt or croissants on offer - the only option if not having cooked would be toast. It met our needs but was perhaps more aimed at the workers wanting to get on with their day than leisure travellers such as us.

The biggest problem we faced was that our room was accessed from a door off the courtyard, and on two separate occasions in our one night visit we were almost hit by cars coming through. The faded 'DEAD SLOW' warning on the wall is clearly not having the necessary effect. On one occasion the driver was another guest at the hotel who had forgotten something in his room, but the management had clearly not made it clear that users of the car park should take great care. Effective signage and speed humps could be fitted for a modest cost, and the proprietor is surely putting himself at risk by failing to put proper measures in place to avoid accidents. I would be very reluctant to stay at this hotel again because of this apparent danger - the other problems we encountered, or similar, occur at many similarly priced establishments but I have never encountered as dangerous a route to and from my room as at the New Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a safe access route!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

the check in was very vague. i was pointed to the door across the roadway and told its up there. The Public areas were discussing out side my room and seemed like a DIYers half finished project. The room its self was very basic with brick a brac furniture (cheap argos style) that was falling to bits. the plaster on the walls was cracked and patched badly. the skylights were a brill alarm clock at 3am as the sun raise came over.... as there was no blinds and the final straw was no heating........ when i did complain about the heating i was told the maintenance engineer was not on site so couldnt be fixed..... this along with a floor level drafty window made my nights sleep horrid!! ive never stayed in a place like this in my working life...... work away a lot. its such a pity because from the outside it looks wonderful....... oh and one final point to the faulty towers owners get rid of the horrid Chinese menu style numbers of your blackboards i dont want to say i want a number 34 with a 21.... its just tacky. if your chef does not know what it is on the menu and you need a numbered code, its time to look at the menu and your chef

Room Tip: stay in another hotel or B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilly5384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
8.2 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
693 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Plough at Kelmscott
The Plough at Kelmscott
#2 of 10 in Lechlade
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Old Swan Inn
The Old Swan Inn
#4 of 10 in Lechlade
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#3 of 70 in Cheltenham
581 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riverside Lechlade
The Riverside Lechlade
#8 of 10 in Lechlade
172 reviews
13.3 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#3 of 26 in Bourton-on-the-Water
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn

Property: The New Inn
Address: Market Square, Lechlade GL7 3AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Lechlade
The New Inn Lechlade, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing