We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough at Kelmscott
Ranked #2 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“return visit”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our first visit was by KGB - and we rarely go back. But the Plough really is a little gem. Lovely place, lovely people, lovely room, lovely food. And Lechlade is super - especially the old ironmongers which is full of treasures and interesting junk - well worth a visit, but you might need an hour or more to discover some hidden treasures. Church, pubs and river - all worth a visit - but river not appealing in December. Strangely the lovely charity shop was clossed for the weekend before Christmas.
We will be back.

Room Tip: When booking - be sure to ask for a room NOT above the bar. Got this tip from TripAdvisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheepwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    98
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
37
233
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying here this weekend, December 2012. We were greeted by the lovely Callum, an asset to the pub, energetic and full of life. The room was clean, warm, spacious with a Jacuzzi bath. The landlady Josie was very helpful, polite, funny and friendly. The locals made us very welcome, Farmer John does a wicked pose.... hahahaha.

All over a very welcoming and friendly place to stay. Definitely recommend. We will be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetsAndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here in October and had a brilliant weekend, nothing was to much trouble for the staff who were very friendly, the breakfast was first class and the room was spacious and comfortable.

We ate in the bar for dinner during our 2 night stay as we had taken our dog and the meals were fantastic and well worth the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pips2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Plough Inn is set in the middle of Kelmscott which is an idyllic village in the beautiful Cotswolds. The village itself has a population of around 100 people (according to google) so its quiet, peaceful and a great place to have a good beer (or three), some good food and a bit of banter with the local villagers......

Oxford is about 30 minutes away so you can pop in to do some shopping, see a show or just go for a wonder....but if you like good country walks there is no need to leave Kelmscott atall. The pub is dog friendly whih adds a certain charm to it and dogs are allowed to stay with guests........this is quite unique I am lead to believe.

The room we had was perfectly adequate but in need of a little TLC, although this did not reduce our enjoyment of the stay we had. Josie and her team were very welcoming and polite and the breakfast was top notch - beware, the full english is large !

So, overall, if you are looking for a relaxing weekend with good walks, good beer and food and a pub with a great atmosphere, then look no further......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJA59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked a 2 night KGB deal at the Plough having read reviews on here and were not disappointed.
On arrival we were met by a very pleasant and welcoming member of staff and our room was clean warm well appointed and spacious.
We had breakfast on both mornings and were impressed by the quality and quantity of the ingredients and best of all it was piping hot.
We ate in the restaurant on one night and found the choice of menu and quality of the meals unsurpassable, the food is priced a little higher than average but this matters little when it is of such good quality and cooked to perfection as ours was.
All the staff were pleasant and helpful and we will definately return to The Plough and would thoroughly recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: If you are planning an early night or a lie in ask for a room that is not above the bar as you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
427 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Marvellous place to go for a family lunch or dinner. Very good quality cooking and ingredients. My family enjoyed a lovely lunch in terrific, traditional surroundings. The atmosphere was superb and the staff could not do enough to ensure we all enjoyed our visit. Our local is actually Michael Parkinson's Royal Oak in Paley Street and we enjoyed The Plough just as much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend on a KGB deal. Had the use of Buscot (Room #5), which has a snug shower, lovely bed and plenty of tea and coffee sachets. The bed was deceptively large, and very comfortable.
Everything everyone has said about the food holds true. We had dinner on the Saturday night and the restaurant was pretty full. All the food was delicious and fresh, and the service efficient and friendly. Our breakfasts were cooked to order, and set us up well for the rest of the day. [The locally sourced pork and leek sausages are delicious!].
The Plough is in an ideal situation for exploring Kelmscott Manor (one time home to William Morris and his family), and also for a a number of walks along the Thames. The main town of Lechlade is not far to drive (5-10 mins).
The Plough runs a number of pub quizes, meat raffles, and OAP lunches. The Inn should be applauded for reaching out to the local community and beyond.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath if you want a more luxurious stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
3.5 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
327 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Faringdon
137 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
546 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Five Alls
The Five Alls
#3 of 10 in Lechlade
167 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Riverside Lechlade
The Riverside Lechlade
#8 of 10 in Lechlade
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough at Kelmscott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough at Kelmscott

Property: The Plough at Kelmscott
Address: Kelmscott, Lechlade GL7 3HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough at Kelmscott 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Plough at Kelmscott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough At Kelmscott Hotel Lechlade
The Plough At Kelmscott Lechlade, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing