We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
432 results
Traveler rating
266
112
30
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
266
112
30
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews william morris the pub sister pub hidden gem scallops saturday night pork burger thames path great food lovely atmosphere both nights friendly locals excellent lunch hidden away off the beaten track main course
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 432 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Plough at Kelmscott and had a lovely time, the room was very nice with a large en suite. We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was a really lovely room with branches and lots of fairy lights so looking very pretty......the food was excellent and good value. Breakfast was also very tasty. We enjoyed a lovely walk along the River Thames. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all a very enjoyable stay and would certainly return there.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorrainebaker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We are regular visitors to the Pough at Kelmscot. William Morris was said to have discovered heaven on earth when he found Kelmscot, and decided to move his family there from London. There is something about the place and the whole setting that brings us back time and time again and waking each morning near to the River Thames is a delight with walks in the early morning where you are able to spy a variety of wild life, or walks in the afternooon where a different range of boats glide past and owners are always quick to give you a friendly wave. The evenings are espcially relaxing when the flight of wild geese can be sen flying over the river to roost for the night and then the glorious sunset as the sun goes down, and disappears into the shadowy river.
We have two jack russels, so we find the pubs friendly policy towards dogs very refreshing and may I add sometimes two rather grouchy dogs aswell. Josie and her staff are always cheerful, polite and attentive. Her wonderful sense of humour and sense of fun are indeed a tonic. The chef Paul, is vibrant and has a delightful 'off the wall' humour. Most importantly he always presents a wonderful varied menu with an intersting selection of delicous meals which are adventurous and are never ever dull or boring.
This is just some of the reasons why me and my family go back to this place time and time again.
Tom and Eirlys.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed overnight at The Plough at Kelmscott as it is only a short walk from the Thames Path. A very welcoming place located in a lovely hamlet where William Morris had a country retreat and is buried in the churchyard. We had a comfortable room with a shower over a jacuzzi bath in the en-suite bathroom.

The food was excellent and came in decent portions. There was a good choice of blackboard specials and a good choice of ales. The wine was reasonably priced. The restaurant was inviting and attractively lit with fairy lights. We were there on a Saturday night so the bar and restaurant were busy and there were a few hardy souls sitting out in the garden in the chilly evening air. The breakfast was very good, too.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. I could have done without Thistle the dog watching my every mouthful at breakfast, though. Mind you, I am not a fan of dogs - some people might like it.

Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walnut26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from a two night midweek break at the Plough. It is the most relaxing place I think I have ever been too, so peaceful and tranquil. The walk around the village and along the Thames river was beautiful and especially helped by the lovely weather. The staff made you feel so welcome and couldn't do enough to help or advise on best walks to Lechlade or how to get to Blenheim Palace. The food was excellent and lots of variety on the menu and the breakfast kept you going all day. The little dog who lives there is so sweet and very entertaining and certainly enjoys tit bits from the guests, how could you refuse such an appealing face. We are hoping to return for another break later in the year.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relaxingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed for two nights Wednesday and Thusday. Very relaxing .Room was comfortable .Let my daughter have the double bed and I had a single. Bathroom was lovely and modern and our room nicely decorated. Every member of staff was helpful and friendly. The food was superb, really generous portions. We had an evening meal both nights , good choice on the menu. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay,would definitely recommend .

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews