We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fiddly tap on the spa bath!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough at Kelmscott
Ranked #2 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great beer, warm welcome and great food. We had a very enjoyable overnight stay with friends at this out of the way pub whilst walking the Thames path. We stayed in in wonderful room with absolute bags of character including a four poster bed.

The bathroom even had a spa bath in it although we could not get the taps to work. Upon check out they advised us that the taps do work but there is a knack to it; just a shame they did not tell us that when we checked in.

There were also a few other little niggles with ours and the rooms our friends stayed in, but overall it was a great place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woody1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 387 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Plough at Kelmscott and had a lovely time, the room was very nice with a large en suite. We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was a really lovely room with branches and lots of fairy lights so looking very pretty......the food was excellent and good value. Breakfast was also very tasty. We enjoyed a lovely walk along the River Thames. The staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all a very enjoyable stay and would certainly return there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorrainebaker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We are regular visitors to the Pough at Kelmscot. William Morris was said to have discovered heaven on earth when he found Kelmscot, and decided to move his family there from London. There is something about the place and the whole setting that brings us back time and time again and waking each morning near to the River Thames is a delight with walks in the early morning where you are able to spy a variety of wild life, or walks in the afternooon where a different range of boats glide past and owners are always quick to give you a friendly wave. The evenings are espcially relaxing when the flight of wild geese can be sen flying over the river to roost for the night and then the glorious sunset as the sun goes down, and disappears into the shadowy river.
We have two jack russels, so we find the pubs friendly policy towards dogs very refreshing and may I add sometimes two rather grouchy dogs aswell. Josie and her staff are always cheerful, polite and attentive. Her wonderful sense of humour and sense of fun are indeed a tonic. The chef Paul, is vibrant and has a delightful 'off the wall' humour. Most importantly he always presents a wonderful varied menu with an intersting selection of delicous meals which are adventurous and are never ever dull or boring.
This is just some of the reasons why me and my family go back to this place time and time again.
Tom and Eirlys.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed overnight at The Plough at Kelmscott as it is only a short walk from the Thames Path. A very welcoming place located in a lovely hamlet where William Morris had a country retreat and is buried in the churchyard. We had a comfortable room with a shower over a jacuzzi bath in the en-suite bathroom.

The food was excellent and came in decent portions. There was a good choice of blackboard specials and a good choice of ales. The wine was reasonably priced. The restaurant was inviting and attractively lit with fairy lights. We were there on a Saturday night so the bar and restaurant were busy and there were a few hardy souls sitting out in the garden in the chilly evening air. The breakfast was very good, too.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. I could have done without Thistle the dog watching my every mouthful at breakfast, though. Mind you, I am not a fan of dogs - some people might like it.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walnut26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from a two night midweek break at the Plough. It is the most relaxing place I think I have ever been too, so peaceful and tranquil. The walk around the village and along the Thames river was beautiful and especially helped by the lovely weather. The staff made you feel so welcome and couldn't do enough to help or advise on best walks to Lechlade or how to get to Blenheim Palace. The food was excellent and lots of variety on the menu and the breakfast kept you going all day. The little dog who lives there is so sweet and very entertaining and certainly enjoys tit bits from the guests, how could you refuse such an appealing face. We are hoping to return for another break later in the year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Relaxingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed for two nights Wednesday and Thusday. Very relaxing .Room was comfortable .Let my daughter have the double bed and I had a single. Bathroom was lovely and modern and our room nicely decorated. Every member of staff was helpful and friendly. The food was superb, really generous portions. We had an evening meal both nights , good choice on the menu. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay,would definitely recommend .

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just got back from a great relaxing 2 night stay with the dog. Room was nice and cosy, excellent food and mega breakfast.
Staff are really friendly and helpful. Would really recommend staying here. Walks along the river Thames too. Walked to another lovely village Buscot.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 with the dog, front of the hotel, lovely jacuzzi bath. Above the bar but lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
6.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairford
265 reviews
8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
399 reviews
2.2 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Five Alls
The Five Alls
#4 of 10 in Lechlade
175 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#3 of 10 in Lechlade
126 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Porch House
The Porch House
#1 of 21 in Stow-on-the-Wold
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough at Kelmscott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough at Kelmscott

Address: Kelmscott, Lechlade GL7 3HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range: $140 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough at Kelmscott 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Plough at Kelmscott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough At Kelmscott Hotel Lechlade
The Plough At Kelmscott Lechlade, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing