We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plough at Kelmscott
Ranked #2 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just got back from a great relaxing 2 night stay with the dog. Room was nice and cosy, excellent food and mega breakfast.
Staff are really friendly and helpful. Would really recommend staying here. Walks along the river Thames too. Walked to another lovely village Buscot.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 with the dog, front of the hotel, lovely jacuzzi bath. Above the bar but lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 392 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

You need a GPS in the car to help you find it, but it's also a GPS: - 'G'reat 'P'lace to 'S'tay
Warm, friendly staff, who instantly make you feel welcomed, nicely decorated bedroom, with a clean and spacious on-suite. Great location close to the Thames footpath in a very quiet and secluded village. We stayed midweek for 2 nights but they had advertised live music in the bar for the Saturday night, so join the party if you please the locals are extremely friendly. I just hope that with all these great reviews we can get a room when we return soon.

Room Tip: Room 5 (Buscot) very comfortable overlooking the front garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have a very mixed review in that I can find no major criticism but yet this holiday lacked something and it's difficult to define.
Firstly the setting is wonderful, quiet, Idyllic, with old stone and beams, a typical country pub and the rooms are imaculate, with comfy beds, plenty of toiletries and in-room hot drinks. The service on the other hand is a little sketchy ...Upon arrival, I gave my name and was handed a key, I asked if they wanted further details and/or paperwork, she said no and went back to chatting to the other people at the bar - now I had booked this holiday through a deal/code system and had additionalities included in the price, which I thought would be discussed .... when would we like our wine? Cream tea? I left it as it had been a long journey, we ordered some drinks and sat in the bar for a little while - at no time did anyone tell me where the room was and although we figured it out (it's not a big place) I felt a little unwelcome.
Whlst sat at the bar, the bar girl and later a man continued to chat to the people at the bar, whilst we sat at tables that had dirty glasses and one of my pet hates is old tomato juice glasses - if the bar is busy, leave the glasses but if it's not and it wasn't please take them away.
I had probably one fo the best night's sleeps in our Burford room and breakfast the next morning was good, although the mushrooms were cold and its pretty limiting if you don't want a cooked English; there are cereals and toast, but no fruit, or pastries.
The location for the rest of the area is great, you're just a stone's throw away from Lechlade and we went out an about for the day - upon return we ordered a bottle of wine and still no mention of the wine included in the price so I asked at our evening meal, the man said it would be deducted from the bill in the morning - I got the impression that they hadn't been briefed about the deal?
The meal was good, we had pork and scallops, which although I had to send my scallops back as they were cold, the pork was plentiful and my partners were fine, the sea bass was excellent.
We finished with coffee and drinks and I was assured that the bill would be sorted in the morning. I told them to forget about the cream tea, as it hadn't been offered throughout the stay, but I would like one bottle of wine to be removed
Breakfast the next day was piping hot througout, althought the introduction of the begging dog wasn't welcome - the waitress did attempt to call the dog away but she kept returning. In addtion I do not want to eat my breakfast listening to the long hours of the waiting staff
When I came to pay my bill, I asked about the wine and was told it came from different stock so the coffees had been removed - ultimately I wasn't going to argue, the whole deal/code thing wasn't such a big deal, but I left feeling with a bad taste in my mouth. With such a beautiful setting, room and good food generally, the additions didn't seem worth bringing up, upon my drive home, however I now feel that they should do better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KateWill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great weekend stay. Friendly place, friendly staff. A very local pub. Small bar. Beers not bad too. The SA Shiraz wasnt bad either. Food was excellent - try the seared scallops on roast pork belly with cauli puree, sitting on spinach leaves & apple slices. Lots of dogs in bar and garden - guess the Plough is their local meeting place for their weekly paw wow. Resident miniature guard dog does it's hourly inspection in restaurant, bar & garden, and occasionally sit on garden table to greet guests on eye to eye. Great that the locals don't stay up too late in the bar, otw those staying in rooms above bar could have joined in the conversation without having to leave their bedrooms. Great shower. Do learn to pronounce 'Callum' properly, otw u won't get served in bar.

Room Tip: For those who love hearing local banters without having to leave bedrooms, choose rooms above bar, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 168traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed last week for 2 nights......what a hidden gem !! this is a beautiful English pub with lovely rooms a couple of miles outside Lechlade and minutes off the Thames Path.
Josie the landlady and her team are brilliant, nothing a problem for them, the food is great, hearty breakfasts and superb dinners
This is a must visit, we'll be back!!
Evely and Steve

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve13Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Only stayed here 3 nights but was most impressed.All the bedrooms have been refubished following a flood a few years ago and the fixtures and fittings are top notch. The breakfast was cooked to order and a great choice was available. We ate here 2 nights and the food is fantastic and not too pricey.It is hidden away and we definitely needed our satnav to find it. Only problem was the ceilings are very low and the rooms were very hot.Fortunately fans are provided and although we had intermittent June rain, we had to have the fans on all night.Parking is also limited as they don't have there own.Would definitely stay there again if KGB do another deal.

Room Tip: Some rooms have steps up into the bathroom which can be a bit trickey(I am disabled) in the night so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naqqarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me and my partner paid £79 for a two night stay here with KGB deals. It's in a very rural location so you definately need a car but it all adds to the authenticity of a rural get away near the Cotswolds!

The food in the restaurant was lovely ad generous in portion size. A little more expensive than average but worth it for the kind and polite service and quality etc.

The room we had was the buscot room and it was very well maintained- beautiful wall paper, it smelt lovely and the carpets, furniture and fixtures we're all fresh looking and luxurious in feel. It's a small room but it didn't bother us. Very cosy and had plenty of storage.Bothered is also a flat screne with dvd player.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and traditionally English if you wanted it. There are also cereals etc on offer and plenty of fresh juice. Good quality ingredients.

For shopping we visited Swindon(about 30minutes drive) and Witney (20minutes). We also visited the Cotswold wildlife park and gardens which were quite lovely despite the rain! Highlights were the geraffs and rhinos. Entry is £13 for adults.

Oxford is near too!

All in all a great stay and good for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelie353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
17 mi away
The Old Stocks Inn
The Old Stocks Inn
#1 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
382 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairford
269 reviews
8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
642 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Swan Inn
The Swan Inn
#3 of 10 in Lechlade
127 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Five Alls
The Five Alls
#4 of 10 in Lechlade
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plough at Kelmscott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plough at Kelmscott

Address: Kelmscott, Lechlade GL7 3HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range: $142 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plough at Kelmscott 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Plough at Kelmscott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Plough At Kelmscott Hotel Lechlade
The Plough At Kelmscott Lechlade, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing