We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
259
111
29
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
111
29
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilliam morristhe pubhidden gemscallopssister pubsaturday nightburgerporkboth nightsgreat foodthames pathexcellent lunchhidden awayfriendly localsevening mealoff the beaten trackbar area
Filter
Updating list...
326 - 331 of 422 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great weekend stay. Friendly place, friendly staff. A very local pub. Small bar. Beers not bad too. The SA Shiraz wasnt bad either. Food was excellent - try the seared scallops on roast pork belly with cauli puree, sitting on spinach leaves & apple slices. Lots of dogs in bar and garden - guess the Plough is their local meeting place for their weekly paw wow. Resident miniature guard dog does it's hourly inspection in restaurant, bar & garden, and occasionally sit on garden table to greet guests on eye to eye. Great that the locals don't stay up too late in the bar, otw those staying in rooms above bar could have joined in the conversation without having to leave their bedrooms. Great shower. Do learn to pronounce 'Callum' properly, otw u won't get served in bar.

Room Tip: For those who love hearing local banters without having to leave bedrooms, choose rooms above bar, eg William Morris
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 168traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed last week for 2 nights......what a hidden gem !! this is a beautiful English pub with lovely rooms a couple of miles outside Lechlade and minutes off the Thames Path.
Josie the landlady and her team are brilliant, nothing a problem for them, the food is great, hearty breakfasts and superb dinners
This is a must visit, we'll be back!!
Evely and Steve

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve13Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Only stayed here 3 nights but was most impressed.All the bedrooms have been refubished following a flood a few years ago and the fixtures and fittings are top notch. The breakfast was cooked to order and a great choice was available. We ate here 2 nights and the food is fantastic and not too pricey.It is hidden away and we definitely needed our satnav to find it. Only problem was the ceilings are very low and the rooms were very hot.Fortunately fans are provided and although we had intermittent June rain, we had to have the fans on all night.Parking is also limited as they don't have there own.Would definitely stay there again if KGB do another deal.

Room Tip: Some rooms have steps up into the bathroom which can be a bit trickey(I am disabled) in the night so we were able to move with out too much fuss
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naqqarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Me and my partner paid £79 for a two night stay here with KGB deals. It's in a very rural location so you definately need a car but it all adds to the authenticity of a rural get away near the Cotswolds!

The food in the restaurant was lovely ad generous in portion size. A little more expensive than average but worth it for the kind and polite service and quality etc.

The room we had was the buscot room and it was very well maintained- beautiful wall paper, it smelt lovely and the carpets, furniture and fixtures we're all fresh looking and luxurious in feel. It's a small room but it didn't bother us. Very cosy and had plenty of storage.Bothered is also a flat screne with dvd player.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and traditionally English if you wanted it. There are also cereals etc on offer and plenty of fresh juice. Good quality ingredients.

For shopping we visited Swindon(about 30minutes drive) and Witney (20minutes). We also visited the Cotswold wildlife park and gardens which were quite lovely despite the rain! Highlights were the geraffs and rhinos. Entry is £13 for adults.

Oxford is near too!

All in all a great stay and good for couples.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amelie353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recently celebrated my wife's birthday at The Plough Inn in KELMSCOTT. It was our first visit to this Inn and our overall experience of the stay was GREAT! We would have rated the experience as "fantastic", but for the fact that we stayed in the Thames Room (only room available at time of booking) was directly above the cellar. Sadly the constant noise from the cellars chiller unit disrupted any chance of a restful nights sleep. We found that all members of staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was of a high quality, although the menu maybe somewhat limited in choice for some people's taste. We would certainly pay a return visit, but only if quieter room was available. Although a little off the beaten track, it provided a tranquil setting for relaxing after a busy days exploring the area.

Room Tip: Don't choose the THAMES ROOM
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews