We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
259
111
29
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
111
29
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilliam morristhe pubhidden gemscallopssister pubsaturday nightburgerporkboth nightsgreat foodthames pathexcellent lunchhidden awayfriendly localsevening mealoff the beaten trackbar area
Filter
Updating list...
330 - 335 of 422 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Recently celebrated my wife's birthday at The Plough Inn in KELMSCOTT. It was our first visit to this Inn and our overall experience of the stay was GREAT! We would have rated the experience as "fantastic", but for the fact that we stayed in the Thames Room (only room available at time of booking) was directly above the cellar. Sadly the constant noise from the cellars chiller unit disrupted any chance of a restful nights sleep. We found that all members of staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was of a high quality, although the menu maybe somewhat limited in choice for some people's taste. We would certainly pay a return visit, but only if quieter room was available. Although a little off the beaten track, it provided a tranquil setting for relaxing after a busy days exploring the area.

Room Tip: Don't choose the THAMES ROOM
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my husband and dog. Very dog friendly, excellent food, room ok, but on the small side. Free wifi available but a bit hit and miss, couldn't get on line in room.
Staff very nice, breakfast was amazing but we had to wait long time second morning as they didn't arrive till late - about 30 mins late opening up, which was a little annoying as we'd planned our day, just very laid back!
Generally though really good and would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at a B&B in the village but ate at the Plough. It was friendly, the beer was good and the food was well cooked and reasonably priced. Between us we had Felafel, a Quiche and Steak and Kidney Puddings. All were enjoyable although some of the roast vegetables were undercooked with the Felafel. For dessert we had the pear and apple crumble, which was very good. Well worth another visit

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Plough via a KGB Deal. We were really lucky with the weather as it was sunny and warm, which meant we could enjoy the beer garden and the lovely walks in the area!! The Plough is situated in the beautifuly peaceful village of Kelmscott, but has plenty of regulars who are extremely friendly towards visitors, and this leads to an amazingly buzzing little Inn.
The Plough is a great base for walking in the cotswolds. We took a lovely walk along the river thames (6k+) - we're not really walkers but it was such a lovely day that the walk was very enjoyable. We stopped off at The Trout Inn in Lechlade for a cooling drink - do pop in if your passing, it has a lovely location next to the river.
On saturday night we ate in the restaurant with it's lovely fairy lights on twigs. Food was good, although i've had better. Then they had a band on - what a GREAT night we had!! Dancing and singing with locals and visitors alike, and having banter with the band - we felt so at home.
Breakfast - superb, HUGE, fresh, and locally sourced - YUM YUM. You will be joined by Trinity the dog - what a cutie!
Finally - the staff: nothing but friendly, helpful, courteous and welcoming - THANK YOU.
If you get the chance and want a quiet break (hardly any mobile reception) in a beautiful setting with good food and great service, visit The Plough - ENJOY :0))

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just back from an overnight stay at The Plough. Enjoyed it very much. Very friendly staff, Josie was very helpful when we asked if we could have our dinner outside in the garden - and brought us some candles for the table. Lovely room with a whirlpool bath! Beautiful surrounding area, quiet and very near the Thames and Kelmscott Manor. We will be back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cathy74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews