We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
259
111
29
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
259
111
29
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswilliam morristhe pubhidden gemscallopssister pubsaturday nightburgerporkboth nightsgreat foodthames pathexcellent lunchhidden awayfriendly localsevening mealoff the beaten trackbar area
Filter
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 422 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at a B&B in the village but ate at the Plough. It was friendly, the beer was good and the food was well cooked and reasonably priced. Between us we had Felafel, a Quiche and Steak and Kidney Puddings. All were enjoyable although some of the roast vegetables were undercooked with the Felafel. For dessert we had the pear and apple crumble, which was very good. Well worth another visit

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeLourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Plough via a KGB Deal. We were really lucky with the weather as it was sunny and warm, which meant we could enjoy the beer garden and the lovely walks in the area!! The Plough is situated in the beautifuly peaceful village of Kelmscott, but has plenty of regulars who are extremely friendly towards visitors, and this leads to an amazingly buzzing little Inn.
The Plough is a great base for walking in the cotswolds. We took a lovely walk along the river thames (6k+) - we're not really walkers but it was such a lovely day that the walk was very enjoyable. We stopped off at The Trout Inn in Lechlade for a cooling drink - do pop in if your passing, it has a lovely location next to the river.
On saturday night we ate in the restaurant with it's lovely fairy lights on twigs. Food was good, although i've had better. Then they had a band on - what a GREAT night we had!! Dancing and singing with locals and visitors alike, and having banter with the band - we felt so at home.
Breakfast - superb, HUGE, fresh, and locally sourced - YUM YUM. You will be joined by Trinity the dog - what a cutie!
Finally - the staff: nothing but friendly, helpful, courteous and welcoming - THANK YOU.
If you get the chance and want a quiet break (hardly any mobile reception) in a beautiful setting with good food and great service, visit The Plough - ENJOY :0))

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just back from an overnight stay at The Plough. Enjoyed it very much. Very friendly staff, Josie was very helpful when we asked if we could have our dinner outside in the garden - and brought us some candles for the table. Lovely room with a whirlpool bath! Beautiful surrounding area, quiet and very near the Thames and Kelmscott Manor. We will be back.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cathy74_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a weekend stay here at the Plough. Unfortunately when we got to our room we were greeted with a very unpleasant smell from the bathroom. We did ask to change rooms but all other rooms were fully booked. The owner did try and sort this matter out by putting cleaner down the drains but unfortunately the smell lingered all weekend. The plough serves good food but a little overpriced. I agree with other reviewers that you can hear every word from the people in the bar and Saturday is a music night our room was right above the bar so very noisy indeed. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The surrounding area is lovely and the walk along the towpath was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the bar
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Me and my Girlfriend spent two nights at the Plough Inn, we found the location perfect for a quiet stay in the country. The River Thames nearby is ideal for a stroll on a sunny afternoon.
The Inn itself provides good clean rooms and friendly staff, I would say its food to be among the best I have sampled.
You can start the day with a breakfast that would satisfy those with largest appetite and the menu has a wide choice of interesting meals , we tried the venison and this was tasty,the second evening I ordered toad in the hole and my only regret is that I have only one mouth as it was a meal for two !
So in all this place is great value and set in a beautiful part of England .

Room Tip: The William Morris Room - we slept sound in this quiet room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews