We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent boozer and B&B”
Review of The Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Swan Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Lechlade B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2012

we stayed for one night in the B&B at the Swan and had a great time.
the pub itself is a proper old boozer complete with open fire and chatty locals.
Richard and Sue were great hosts, having a fantastically laid back approach to breakfast time and checkout.
breakfast was served whenever we got to it (10.45 due to a slight Swan induced hangover) and was a fantastic full English. checkout time was never mentioned though we wandered off at midday.
the room was large and had seen better days with some of the glass missing from one of the windows but it was fine for a night and i can't complain as i slept well enough.
if you are more concerned with how good your hosts are rather then how impressive your room is, this place will fit the bill nicely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THZweibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 126 of 126 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

Simple rooms, clean sheets and bathrooms. Authentic, classic unpretentious local pub. Short traditional pub menu - good steaks and great fish and chips. Eat in the restaurant or sit in the bar and enjoy the log fire and the local banter.

Room Tip: Rear rooms quietest - traffic noise night be noticeable from early morning in front rooms during sum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chugley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Dirty, dirty, dirty. Rooms have not been updated since the 70s. Plastic amchairs, retro dressing table, mattress filthy and old and bed springs hurt. Carpets not been hoovered in a while and bathroom ceiling mouldy. Mullion windows have lots of dead creatures including moths stuck to them in the cobwebs. Sleeping above bar not a good idea as noisy till early hours of the morning. Breakfast ok but dining room also needs updating - dark and really tired. Bar - really dated and, well, you wouldn't leave your wife alone with the clientele. Miserable staff. Overally really disappointed and owners have a cheek to charge what they do for a room

Room Tip: Sleep furthest away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank abfabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank goeslowlyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lechlade
4.0 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairford
259 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
349 reviews
0.0 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#1 of 10 in Lechlade
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Plough at Kelmscott
The Plough at Kelmscott
#2 of 10 in Lechlade
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riverside Lechlade
The Riverside Lechlade
#9 of 10 in Lechlade
192 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Five Alls
The Five Alls
#4 of 10 in Lechlade
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Inn

Address: 7 Burford Street, Lechlade GL7 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Lechlade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lechlade
Price Range: $98 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Swan Inn, Lechlade has gone under a refurbishment. Cosy bar with open fire, bar menu, restaurant menu, new management and chefs (B&B rooms will be refurbished through 2013). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swan Inn Lechlade, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing