We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Curate's Egg .....”
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The reason for staying was to see Rosemary Verey''s garden, to have some nice walks, good food, bit of luxury with a spa. The hotel itself is nicely presented, we stayed in one of the deluxe garden rooms which was a good size and comfortable. It was extraordinarily hot during our stay so a fan was provided but even so as there was no air conditioning it still proved to be difficult to get a good night's sleep. The hair drier was antiquated, heavy and it took ages to dry hair, I know this sounds picky but every second counts when you are on a break! We arrived at lunchtime, ordered a vegetarian juice but were told not possible as they had some other rather demanding guests .... ? First dinner was nice in the garden. You could not book the garden. It was first come first served, so second night we had to eat inside. This was disappointing as we had come Specifically to experience the garden. It was v hot so had to ask for a fan. The pastry was uncooked in our starter, they apologised and gave us a free drink. I think the tables would be better outside with umbrellas in the middle of the table instead of to the side, I saw so many people trying to get shade at breakfast without success. It was also a shame that tables were not dotted around the garden for drinks, how Romantic that would have been. Take an ordinance survey map with you, the walking instructions are v poor, we had to cut short A 5 hour walk as we got so lost, also one was v overgrown with brambles, nettles etc. We are experienced walkers so I don't think it was our poor navigation! The spa is nice and very professional. All in all, we had a nice time, but not as special as we hoped. Ah before I forget the garden was interesting with some good planting but not maintained to a high standard. Would I recommend it to a friend for a special place to go? No there are better places!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GiaEastGrinstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 599 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was our second stay at BH - the previous visit being in the middle of winter with snow on the ground. This time it was mid-summer and very hot.

Just brilliant. Having dinner looking out onto the garden was a lovely experience. The food is consistently excellent and the staff are friendly and efficient.

The room we had (#16) was brilliant - super comfortable sofa and an upstairs bathroom reached by a spiral staircase. The bathroom allows you to take a shower and watch the TV downstairs at the same time - a new one for me.

A couple of niggles were that the TV/Sky set up is maddeningly difficult to operate - we often had to call for help, which is unusual. The ventilation in the bathroom was lacking and always seemed to be very hot and muggy (admitedly the weather did not help). That said, they have a DVD player and a DVD library - which is becoming less prevalent in bigger hotels due to in-house movie channels at premium costs.

Breakfast (again eaten outdoors on both days) was lovely - the "eggs" benedict arrived with a single egg as it had on our previous trip - why scrimp?! It was delicious.

Free soft drinks in the mini-bar and DIY tea and biscuits - there is a lot of value in staying here.

We had air conditioning, which the main house does not (it's Grade I listed), so book accordingly if it's hot.

Loved it - would go for the hat trick in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hotel is lovely. We had a fantastic room. The gardens are wonderful, the food was really good and the spa was heavenly. A good choice for a romantic break. The spa is cleverly hidden in the grounds. Only minor gripe...there was no clotted cream for our afternoon tea as it had run out!

Room Tip: The Rosemary Verey Suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reviewer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Barnsley House hotel for our wedding anniversary. It was exceptional from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were relaxed, friendly and efficient. Nothing was too much bother but they were totally discreet and courteous. The food was exceptional especially breakfast, the grounds were just beautiful and had many lovely nooks and crannies to admire. The gardens are lovingly tended to by 8 gardeners and what a result! The room itself was very stylish, contemporary, luxurious but still practical, we even had our own conservatory. The spa was a perfect place to relax with a beautiful view of the cotswold countryside.
In life i guess you get what you pay for but i have to say with this level of service, beauty and luxury it was a bargain!!!
It is a truly special place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genevieve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Barnsley House is the definitive Cotswolds boutique hotel and one of the best hotels I have stayed in anywhere in the world. Service is friendly and attentive and the facilities are first rate. We were lucky enough to be staying during a rare UK heatwave and we able to make full use of the beautiful grounds/garden. We also had some spa treatments - which is a must do - and watched the Wimbledon final in the cinema.

We had supper in the Village Pub nearby which was delicious and excellent vale for money.

Barnsley House is not cheap, but it is worth every penny. i look forward to visiting again one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a place for lunch. The food is still very good indeed, the service excellent and the hotel must be a good employer as a good proportion of the front of house staff have been there for some time. And they are very convincing to welcome you back. The house is in a very good condition indeed and the garden back to looking excellent. Always a good sign when the diner is encouraged to look at the kitchen garden and know how short a distance that day's vegetables have come.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 34,064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed nearby, but decided to have dinner here on the evening of our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We weren't disappointed! The food was delicious and the service excellent. It was a wonderful way to end our special day.Thank you. We hope to be back for a longer stay at Barnsley House in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
15.9 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
762 reviews
14.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,368 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
956 reviews
19.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
471 reviews
20.8 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range: $287 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing