We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful lunch setting”
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful lunch setting”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visited for a family birthday lunch. It was a very busy day in Barnsley as the village show was in full swing. There were Morris Dancers on the lawn of the hotel and a plant sale in front. The gardens were open to the public but this in no way detracted from the experience.

We wandered around the gardens including the vegetable garden and it is clear the hotel are serious about growing a lot of their own food. They employ a full-time gardener who was on hand to answer questions whilst he pottered on the vegetable patches. They also have a large area for their chickens who looked very contented (even smug!) in their run which is larger than most people's back gardens!

A couple of our party were a bit late (plus ca change) but it wasn't a problem as we were served champagne on the patio next to the hotel. We browsed the menus while we waited and it was clear they focussed on in-season vegetables - asparagus featured heavily! There was nevertheless something for everyone.

We were shown to our table inside and the service was attentive and friendly. The white wine we had chosen was not chilled to the management's satisfaction so rather than serve this they offered a free upgrade to a different bottle - this was a nice touch and appreciated. The food was delicious, well presented and in ample portions though a few more vegetables would have been nice. Jugged water kept coming without any prompting which was a good feature.

One thing that did not seem quite right was the serving of coffee with the puddings but this was a very minor grumble.

We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    110
    43
    21
    3
See reviews for
81
378
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Really good food, very nice room (room 14), helpful staff and relaxing spa.

Barnsley House is surrounded by beautiful gardens that we very much enjoyed despite the February weather. The old statues sprinkled around the grounds are a marvel to look at. The food at both the restaurant and The Village Pub across the road were very good. Breakfast was very hearty. The only thing about the food issue was that they function on strict timings, so if you miss lunch - you'll have to wait till dinner time.
The room was a renovated barn, a duplex with slick modern design, cozy bed, the top floor being the bathroom (loo with a view, as they say) and a small tv in there too. Tea and coffee on the house.
But the best of it was the spa. The ladies in there were very good at making us comfortable, their products were very soft. To be in the jet pool outside in February was great.
The price was well worth it in the end. We had a spa deal through Mr. and Mrs. Smith which also gave us a welcome cocktail. It seemed like we paid a lot, but in the end everything was included and it was well worth it. We never left the grounds.

Room Tip: there are two types of rooms: in the main house and then the free standing renovated barns which are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheyBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Cannot fault this place - the setting is pure Cotswold perfection, the rooms are beautiful and stylish, the restaurant was fantastic but I think above all it was the staff that made this place so special. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble, everyone was friendly and welcoming without being intrusive. We had the best time. Would highly recommend this place and will most definitely be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctordickieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Barnsley House is truly somewhere special, having a taste for luxury hotels, I have definitely found 'The One'. Me and my husband have stayed 3 times in 9 months! It's a great small but perfectly sized establishment, with everything needed for a luxury weekend away. We have stayed in the main house - lovely room as they all are, a tad noisy for me so I would recommend staying in the suites out in the annex, we have just returned from staying in Room 19, complete with steam shower and jacuzzi! Dinner both nights in the Potager was flawless, including the staff, particular mention for Charles. A day in the Spa, another great treatment from Cristina and a lovely bathe in the hydrotherapy pool! We finished the weekend off with a private viewing in the brilliant cinema. I would definitely recommend this, especially if you have wedding DVD to watch. We couldn't leave without booking our next visit!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsRees86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel oozes character with top quality service, stunning food, beautiful rooms and all the little touches you would expect to make you feel thoroughly taken care of.

We had booked a Deluxe Garden Room and were upgraded to the Rosemary Verey Suite (7), which is a beautiful ground floor room with garden terrace area, conservatory & sumptuous living room. We really appreciated being provided with a Nespresso machine, fresh milk, nice quality Tea Pig teabags, fresh mint from the garden for tea and a lovely stack of quality magazines - add to this the living room or conservatory sofa, the blanket from the wardrobe and views of the garden - and this adds up to a few of hours of tranquil decadence to relax & refresh a fatigued body & mind.
Little touches such as the gardening book positioned for reading by the bath offered another opportunity to chill out & reconnect with nature (it even inspired me to grab 5 mins in the garden each evening this week to start on the April essentials it outlined to me!).

The food quality here is excellent - they know what they are doing. It is clear that the ingredient quality is high and the chef team understand how to showcase the flavour of ingredients that they are provided with. Breakfast is scrumptious and the evening meal we took at the restaurant was excellent. In both cases our dietary requirements were handled with total ease. The Village Pub also serves delicious food, if you wanted more 'everyday' options in a cotswold pub environment.

The staff at the hotel are a 'switched on' team who are committed to delivering great service at all levels. Their manner is also friendly and not at all stuffy, which really adds to the ambience - effortless elegance.

I also booked a combo of spa treatments and selected the holistic package - amazing!. Great therapist and a top quality treatment experience - Head Massage, Reiki & Reflexology.

For the first time in months, I hit Monday morning full of energy & revitalised. Thank you Barnsley House!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimble21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had our wedding at Barnsley House over the weekend and I have to say it was the most magical experience ever.
I stayed at the village pub the night before the wedding and then joined my wife in the Potting Shed for our wedding night itself. The pub rooms are both bright and airy and exceptionally clean.
The Potting Shed itself cannot really be described as a room as it is in fact a stunning private cottage with its own private garden. The Potting Shed has a built in fireplace with a large beautifully designed bathroom, complete with candles above the free standing bath.
Although you are only yards from the main hotel you feel like you are in a world of your own which suited us down to the ground.

The service levels at Barnsley House are second to none and we couldn’t have wanted for anymore during our stay. All the staff at the hotel seemed to be aware that we were getting married and they couldn’t do enough to make us feel at home. The morning after the wedding our breakfast waiter even welcomed us to the restaurant as the new Mr and Mrs Evans! This may seem trivial to some but to us this was typical of the little touches that set Barnsley House apart from any other hotel we have stayed in. The gardens as usual looked stunning and we spent many happy moments exploring them after and before our wedding. We actually got married outside in the small temple right next to the little garden pond and the whole setting for our wedding ceremony was like something out of a fairytale. If only we could do it all over again!

The food at Barnsley House for us was simply out of this world and the breakfast menu was to die for. If you enjoy eating good fresh wholesome food then Barnsley House is the place for you as most products are either sourced locally or are grown in their very own country vegetable garden.

One special mention should go out to our wedding planner Natalie who made us feel so welcome from day one. She did everything and more that we asked for and we cannot speak highly enough for her. Thank you Natalie for helping to make our dreams come true. We can’t thank you enough.

Although our wedding day weekend is now over we can certainly say without a moment’s hesitation that our love affair with Barnsley House will continue to grow. We are already planning to spend our Anniversary weekend in Barnsley House next year (if we can afford it!) and we plan to be regular visitors and supporters of Barnsley House in the future.

To marry the girl of your dreams and to do it in such an amazing venue is something I will never forget.

Thanks again to Natalie and to all the staff and management at Barnsley House who gave us both memories that will last a lifetime.

Paul & Kinga Evans

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1974227124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B'ham
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Booked for my husbands 50th we though (due to the price) it would be fabulous. We spend a lot of time in hotels and so know there is much better vakue for money.
On booking i explained it was a surprise 50th and said I would be bringing champagne so requested an ice bucket.
On arrival there was an ice bucket with half bottle of house champagne and a card to welcome us and wish my husband happy birthday.
Thankfully we chose to drink our good champagne as on checking out they billed us £26 for what we thought was a nice touch on a very expensive room. We are not mean and it was not about the money but for what we had already paid plus it wasn't even a branded bottle (and only half) we were most disappointed. It seemed mean and trivial to try and squeeze more money out of overly paying customers.
The spa shuts early so arrive in plenty of time or you won't get in.
Our room wasn't turned down even though we were told it would be.
The pub across the road does lovely food and is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the kitchens as thhey are noisy plus if building workis going on you will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
15.9 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
719 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
913 reviews
14.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#3 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
753 reviews
20.8 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,367 reviews
15.6 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Property: Barnsley House
Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing