We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but way over priced for what you get”
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Booked for my husbands 50th we though (due to the price) it would be fabulous. We spend a lot of time in hotels and so know there is much better vakue for money.
On booking i explained it was a surprise 50th and said I would be bringing champagne so requested an ice bucket.
On arrival there was an ice bucket with half bottle of house champagne and a card to welcome us and wish my husband happy birthday.
Thankfully we chose to drink our good champagne as on checking out they billed us £26 for what we thought was a nice touch on a very expensive room. We are not mean and it was not about the money but for what we had already paid plus it wasn't even a branded bottle (and only half) we were most disappointed. It seemed mean and trivial to try and squeeze more money out of overly paying customers.
The spa shuts early so arrive in plenty of time or you won't get in.
Our room wasn't turned down even though we were told it would be.
The pub across the road does lovely food and is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the kitchens as thhey are noisy plus if building workis going on you will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudithChalmers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 610 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed at Barnsley House in September for my husband's birthday and was disappointed about a few things which I commented on a review on tripadvisor. I was very surprised the next day to receive an email from the manager personally, having looked into all of my points and suggesting that for a number of reasons our stay hadn't reflected what a great time people usually have at Barnsley House. I was really impressed that the management had checked tripadvisor, worked out who I was, and gone to the trouble to look into all of my points and actually took them seriously that 6 months later we have returned.

The staff were all really charming, and the food at both the main restaurant and the local pub was fantastic. Everyone was really attentive - I was a bit paranoid that perhaps this was because everyone knew I'd complained?! - but wasn't made to feel uncomfortable at all.

We stayed in room 17, one of the courtyard rooms, what was great with a living area on the mezzanine level and its own steam room as well. The courtyard rooms also share a little patio area between with their own tables and chairs outside - lovely to take your coffee outside on a sunny morning. The gardens are stunning, as is the surrounding countryside. My only regret was that I only saw the amazing looking afternoon teas as we were leaving on sunday! We'll have to return again soon to sample one.

I'm really grateful to the management of Barnsley house for persuading me to come back, as I appreciate our first experience was atypical and we'll definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

From the greeting on arrival to our interaction with all the staff we had a lovely time at Barnsley House. The house itself, grounds and gardens are truly beautiful. We stayed 2 nights in a stable room (17). The room is sort of upside down with a lounge area and TV, tea & coffee etc upstairs with a gallery looking down over the bedroom. Free tea & espresso & fruit juice, everything else is charged at typical hotel prices.

The actual bedroom is lovely but we found it a little annoying that the TV was so close to the end of the bed. It was a bit too "in your face" and couldn't be moved. The bathroom has it's own steam room built into the shower with lovely products to use and there is a massive bath in the bedroom. The bed was very comfy but did move around a bit on the tiled floor as it is on wheels. Overall the accommodation was top class.

Breakfasts are self service for continental breakfast and waiter service for hot food, tea, coffee & toast. The eggs benedict was probably the nicest I have ever tasted and the cooked breakfast was lovely too. We ate dinner the first night in the pub which was excellent (see separate review) and the 2nd in the Pottinger restaurant. Special mention must go to Christian,one of the waiters, who helped us with the menu and was a really nice guy. Our chosen wine was unavailable so we were offered a more expensive alternative which was lovely and we were charged the original price which was nice. The food was all exceptional.

We used the Spa and had pre-booked treatments. Both were excellent and the outdoor hydrotherapy pool was lovely.

Overall we had a lovely stay here and whilst its not the cheapest place to stay it is definitely somewhere we would go again. I would advise you to book in advance for dinner in both the restaurant and the pub and also for any spa treatments, as there may be limited availability when you arrive.

Room Tip: Stable rooms are lovely but quite a bit more expensive than the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOXYSKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went to the Spa Hotel at a whim, wanting to couple of days R and R,which was not too far away.
We had a garden suite which was superb, if a tad chilly.
We loved absolutely everything about our stay here, including our trips to The Village Pub which is owned by the hotel.
As we were so late booking we had limited choice on treatments in the Spa but those we had were of a very high quality with senior therapists.
The food was excellent and service very good.
We booked the private cinema on Sunday evening- fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suesa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and grounds! We went as a group for afternoon tea for a 60th birthday celebration. It cost £18 and there was a selection of sandwiches sausage rolls, cakes and scones with jam and cream. A good choice of teas or coffee, I was disappointed that the tea didn't come in a lovely teapot but a jug flask!!! We did have to ask for more sandwiches as there wasn't enough for our party!!! On the whole a lovely treat but maybe a bit on the expensive side xxxx the staff were very pleasant and attentive xxx

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

For the first time in months we found ourselves with a free weekend and jumped at the chance to head away for the night. Barnsley House is only 30 minutes away from home and we had been looking for an excuse to visit for some time. On arrival we were greeted the moment we walked through the door by a friendly member of staff who took out things whilst we headed off to the Village Pub for a pre booked lunch; very good it was too. On returning to the hotel our bags were in our room and this meant we could head off to the spa for some relaxation. One point to note here is you really do need to book quite far in advance if you want a treatment, as we found it was jolly busy as the hotel was full. This also made seating and relaxation inside a little cramped, thankfully it was sunny so we headed outside.

Overall I would seriously recommend Barnsley House as the service, food and rooms were all fantastic.

Room Tip: We were in Room & which has its own little garden which was delightful for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

First let me qualify my review: We went to the hotel primarily to go to the Spa but we had arranged lunch in the hotel first. So we didn't stay at the hotel. I cannot comment on the quality of the bedrooms, although I note one had its own private garden.
Second, we had just come direct from a stay at Ellenborough Park hotel in Cheltenham. That's like commenting on a Jaguar when you've just driven an Aston Martin. My point is our sights were already very high.
If it wasn't for the above points, had I come away feeling like I did, I would probably awarded Average, but clearly the hotel is well above most hotels, so I don't think Average is warranted.

The gardens are lovely. Really nice place to wander and to have a drink sitting outside.
The food was very nice; not superb, but certainly very good. Service was polite.

My main problem was it was simply too hot. Okay, so it had been cold outside for the last few months...well, since November; but every fireplace was lit, all the radiators were on. It was sweltering. I was very uncomfortable. On a really cold day, I'm sure this would have been wonderful, but today it wasn't. I did mention it, but the general perception seemed to be that it was cold outside, why wouldn't we want it warm. Yes, but not that warm.

It is easy to focus on the negative impressions; so again, despite the above, I restate that I still think the hotel deserved a Very Good, but it certainly wasn't Excellent.

The Spa was very relaxing. An afternoon of doing nothing in luxury although it seemed small for the number of people it was attracting. It got quite crowded at one point, and you ended up dancing around other guests in the changing rooms. It was also disappointing we weren't offered a drink from the hotel, the only drinks in the spa were fruit flavoured waters. Otherwise though, a nice afternoon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPaulT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
14.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,386 reviews
15.9 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
771 reviews
19.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
823 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
969 reviews
20.8 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range: $289 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing