We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Last Minute Escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Last Minute Escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

For the first time in months we found ourselves with a free weekend and jumped at the chance to head away for the night. Barnsley House is only 30 minutes away from home and we had been looking for an excuse to visit for some time. On arrival we were greeted the moment we walked through the door by a friendly member of staff who took out things whilst we headed off to the Village Pub for a pre booked lunch; very good it was too. On returning to the hotel our bags were in our room and this meant we could head off to the spa for some relaxation. One point to note here is you really do need to book quite far in advance if you want a treatment, as we found it was jolly busy as the hotel was full. This also made seating and relaxation inside a little cramped, thankfully it was sunny so we headed outside.

Overall I would seriously recommend Barnsley House as the service, food and rooms were all fantastic.

Room Tip: We were in Room & which has its own little garden which was delightful for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    103
    40
    19
    1
See reviews for
70
354
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
632 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

First let me qualify my review: We went to the hotel primarily to go to the Spa but we had arranged lunch in the hotel first. So we didn't stay at the hotel. I cannot comment on the quality of the bedrooms, although I note one had its own private garden.
Second, we had just come direct from a stay at Ellenborough Park hotel in Cheltenham. That's like commenting on a Jaguar when you've just driven an Aston Martin. My point is our sights were already very high.
If it wasn't for the above points, had I come away feeling like I did, I would probably awarded Average, but clearly the hotel is well above most hotels, so I don't think Average is warranted.

The gardens are lovely. Really nice place to wander and to have a drink sitting outside.
The food was very nice; not superb, but certainly very good. Service was polite.

My main problem was it was simply too hot. Okay, so it had been cold outside for the last few months...well, since November; but every fireplace was lit, all the radiators were on. It was sweltering. I was very uncomfortable. On a really cold day, I'm sure this would have been wonderful, but today it wasn't. I did mention it, but the general perception seemed to be that it was cold outside, why wouldn't we want it warm. Yes, but not that warm.

It is easy to focus on the negative impressions; so again, despite the above, I restate that I still think the hotel deserved a Very Good, but it certainly wasn't Excellent.

The Spa was very relaxing. An afternoon of doing nothing in luxury although it seemed small for the number of people it was attracting. It got quite crowded at one point, and you ended up dancing around other guests in the changing rooms. It was also disappointing we weren't offered a drink from the hotel, the only drinks in the spa were fruit flavoured waters. Otherwise though, a nice afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPaulT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We traveled to Barnsley Spa House back in February 2011 .
I fell in love as I entered with the warmth and smell of the fireplace and very homey feel overall .
Friendly and always genuinely smiling staff that always there to help with all your needs.
The dinner was absolutely gorgeous and selection of wine at the bar was superb too .
Spa treatments were top standard and I since only use Aromatheraphy Associates products .
I would highly recommend Barnsley House to couples and family and your visit would be unforgettable .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

we recently stayed at Barnsley House for my Birthday weekend, this place is definitely worth a visit. I had lots of Spa treatments which were all fantastic. The service and food is outstanding and the Village Pub (part of the group) is a great place to wander to and have a light lunch or evening dinner, however the food is not of the same standard as the house but still very very good. We will definitely be back and hopefully very soon.

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the garden rooms away from the house and the room was large with a bath at the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 100HRN100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We celebrated our recent wedding overseas with a dinner for family and close friends at Barnsley House and it was excellent. The staff are fantastic and looked after us very well and Natalie was delightful helping us organise everything. Roaring log fires on a very cold night were extremely welcoming and the hotel has a lovely informal and cosy feeling about it. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. We didn't have time to experience the spa unfortunately but our room (16) - to which they had kindly upgraded us - was very spacious, light and comfortable with an huge bathroom upstairs. Breakfast too was excellent. We will be back....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeptPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Traveled from New York with my teenage sons and stayed for 6 delightful nights. The Barnsley House, a gorgeous boutique hotel, was perfect in every way; from the beautiful house and gardens to the cozy snug with roaring fireplace, (perfect for a before and/or after dinner cocktail, and they do have some delightful signature ones!), to the lovely sitting room, also with fireplace, perfect for afternoon tea, or to just sit and relax in their overstuffed cozy sofas, this trip was truly the best.. Our room (no.4), was just so perfect for us; a large bedroom with a long corridor that lead to a separate sitting room (perfect for my sons). I understood that the bathroom was recently remodeled and it certainly was, to the highest standard. The breakfast was outstanding with fresh farm eggs from the nearby farm. The hotel restaurant also was excellent using only fresh local produce, as was The Village Pub (same owner and just a short stroll away). But perhaps what made our stay so perfect were the outstanding staff who were so warm, welcoming, and helpful, and made us feel Barnsley House was truly our home away from home, so much so, that we didn't want to leave and tried to extend our stay. Next time we will know to book for longer, because we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in number 4. Very large with a big bedroom, with queen size bed, overlooking the lovely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had a wonderful mid-week break at Barnsley House. From the staff on arrival to the treatment in the spa and service in the restaurant, everything was spot on.
We stayed in the Secret Garden suite, which was very spacious and comfortable. Rather impressive egg-shaped bath too, if that floats your boat.
Food was excellent in the restaurant, but we also had a great dinner in their village pub just up the road. Great local ales and roaring fire.
Would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: Secret Garden suite was stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
0.0 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Property: Barnsley House
Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing