We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Afternoon Tea and Service”
Review of Barnsley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barnsley House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2012

A group of five of us came from London to see their Open Garden Day. We paid £10 to include tea and cake. The gardens were brilliant but the tea was a let down. We waited half an hour to be served only to be told they had run out of cake. After a further long wait we finally received some tiny portions of cake which looked like they had been cut in half to make them go around. There was only one waiter who was very willing but clearly unable to cope on his own. It was a disappointing end to our day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Roostabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 615 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

I booked 3 midweek nights as a mini break at short notice. I took my Scottie along too! I thought the service was excellent and everyone very friendly. I had dinner in the hotel and wasn't made to feel awkward eating on my own. The day was broken up with lovely spa treatments and walks around the beautiful gardens and adjoining fields.
I can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: I advised I was bringing a dog and was given a courtyard room. That was great as I just needed to op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TreatmentRooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

What an amazing hotel! We celebrated my wife's birthday in this very English country house, and were completely satisfied.

The staff were very friendly and made sure we had a good stay (even keeping my home-baked cake in the kitchen fridge). Food in the restaurant was excellent, and we both enjoyed the sauna and heated outdoor swimming pool of the spa.

Our room was very spacious and full of character, with exposed beams and a view over the well-kept gardens - perfect for a romantic weekend stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Big thanks to the gardener excellent work,

Food big disappointment.

5 very small scallops with a table spoon of butter bean puree which had no flavour and 3 wilted spinach leaves all cold. Isle of mull scallops, I don't think so.

I ordered coffee, it spit out over me the cup and saucer, coffee with white sugar really! forgotten petite fours when requested they showed up 15 minutes after coffee was finished, Jelly square or a blob of very poor chocolate truffle piped badly into a paper case not even the same size.
No management on that evening service not even asked did we enjoy our meal experence by service staff. Shame on you!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed here on our 'mini moon' after our wedding! It was absolutely luxury! A disco ball and a jacuzzi in our room! Amazing cocktails, food; fantastic full body massage and the spa was amazing! We also had a private viewing in the cinema the next day! My husband and I have never spent so much on 1 night away but for a special occassion Barnsley House is a must!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura78010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley_house, General Manager at Barnsley House, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

The Team and I are delighted you had such a wonderful experience. We are grateful that our efforts are a welcomed and appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in May for my birthday, having thoroughly enjoyed our stay here last year for our wedding anniversary (see my previous review). We came back for more of the same, and this is exactly what we got!

Our room, a Stableyard Suite (no. 19), was spacious, light and airy. It had a slightly unusual layout with bed, shower and toilet downstairs and "living room" and whirlpool bath upstairs. The room was brilliantly kitted out for a lazy and relaxing night away with TVs & DVD players upstairs and downstairs, an armful of the latest glossy magazines, nespresso machine and complimentary juices and cookies. The Aromatherapy Associates toiletries, comfy robes and slippers were lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable.

The food once again, both at dinner and breakfast, was highly enjoyable and good quality, using many locally-sourced ingredients. Once again, we had excellent service, with professional yet friendly waiting staff.

Our package included a spa voucher so I enjoyed a wonderful Rose Indulgence treatment which is super-relaxing. The spa's relaxation room with magazines and sorbets is a wonderful place to retreat for a few hours.

So, once again, a wonderful stay at Barnsley House...no doubt we'll be back for a third visit sometime soon!

Room Tip: We actually preferred room 16 (a Stableyard Room) that we had on our first visit last year to the St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylanddavid2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is easily the best English hotel I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in a fair few over the years. My room was incredibly large and airy with windows looking over three sides of the property. The bed was a fantastic size and wonderfully comfortable. From the bedroom I went down two steps into a bathroom that was larger than my first flat. It had beautiful wood floors and fantastic views.

The service was excellent and dinner in the restaurant was out of this world - if you can't afford to stay here at least go for a meal.

The gardens are beautiful and you feel very free to roam and explore. And while exploring be sure to drop into the spa which has a small heated outdoor pool with hydrotherapy points. The treatments are top-notch.

All-in-all I don't have a bad word to say about Barnsley House. If you are looking for a romantic weekend break book a room now.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room One and would heartily recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnsley
14.3 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,417 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
983 reviews
19.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
777 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Cirencester
838 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnsley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsley House

Address: Barnsley, Cirencester GL7 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range: $311 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barnsley House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsley House is your very own (fully staffed) country house set in extensive landscaped gardens near Cirencester in Gloucestershire. The Hotel has a dedicated spa, private cinema and 18 large and luxurious bedrooms to choose from. The Potager restaurant looks out to the gardens and is quite lovely. Sprigs of rosemary and linen napkins dress the tables with menus inspired from the Barnsley garden seasonal crops and local produce. If you tire of the daily home baked bread and crumbly shortbread biscuits with your afternoon tea, you can always nip across the road to our village pub. It's actually called 'The Village Pub' and delivers everything you want a village pub to deliver - open fires, papers, pints and delicious food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barnsley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnsley House Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing