We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel missing something.....”
Review of Cricklade House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cricklade House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cricklade
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful hotel, set within a Golf course. The interior is decorated beautifully and the rooms are absolutely sublime! We stayed there 26/27 Mar.

Dinner was totally delicious and if you weren't there on a deal, like us, very expensive! A tip, turn to the back of the wine list to the house wines (still tasty wines) at £18 a bottle the cheapest by far!

The service was hit and miss, it almost seemed on a couple of occasions that as we were there on a Travel Zoo deal we were beneath the usual clientele, but saying that a number of the staff made us feel very welcome! (Night bar man, elderly(sorry:) lady serving breakfast both v nice and a credit to the hotel!)

The Swimming pool and Jacuzzi have seen much better days and are a massive let down compared to the rest of the hotel! The actual Spa is slightly over priced but, according to my ball and chain, well worth it!!

All in all, I would go back to this hotel but only if there was another deal! This is a very nice hotel and there are still a small number of things to get right to make this a great hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingerninj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 622 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited some 20 years ago and we were pleasantly surprised to find that it had not changed too much. Superb location and attentive staff with swimming pool and a 9 hole golf course, what more do you want. The only down to report was that if staying for more that 2 nights then the menu can become boring as it doesn't change.

Room Tip: The view from the rear of the house is worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smokey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for the 2nd time to go to Cheltenham Festival, previously we have stayed in town but our usual b&b has closed down. This time our room was in the main part of the Hotel (last time in an annexe), lovely room, comfy bed, nice bathroom and nice view from the window. They have a beautiful conservatory overlooking the grounds. My only criticism is with the food - I am vegetarian and the only dish on the dinner menu was risotto which sadly wasnt very nice at all and I could only eat half of it. My husband had the lamb which was also too rich and there were no veg! Breakfast was fine, however if you are on a special deal you can only have continental option unless you pay an extra £5.50 which seems a bit mean. The hotel has a lovely pool and a spa which, had we had time to spare, I would happily have spent hours in, they need to get the ceiling sorted out, but I suppose this would mean closing the pool for several weeks and that would not be popular. Overall a nice hotel in a good location with great facilities and we will hopefully be back there for Cheltenham next year if not before.

Room Tip: A room in the main part of the hotel is better than the annexe during the cold weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kauto757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for a 2 night break. Couldnt fault a thing from the moment we stepped through the door. The lady on reception was friendly and efficient . Our room was lovely, we had a balcony room which was an extra £10 a night and was very spacious. Our meal in the restaurant was top class both nights , this hotel has a top chef, and for £32.50 for 3 courses is very good value for money, well presented and very tasty. The service was second to non and Tracey the catering manager, i believe, made sure everything ran smoothly and all guests were happy. Well done Tracey and team, you all shone in our eyes, and cant wait to return to such a warm , homely . well run little gem. Thankyou XX

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jayney123gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the Cheltenham race festival and had a very pleasant stay.
The rooms were clean with crisp white sheets and comfortable beds making for a very good nights sleep. Bathroom had large fluffy white towels but I was a bit disappointed with the power of the water from the ECO shower. The food served in the restaurant was very good indeed well presented and full of flavour. All staff very helpful and friendly with check in and out very swift.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruce f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice Mothers Day lunch, staff very attentive, food was nice, good atmosphere, thanks to all. Very busy but service was good and would go again. Such a lovely location, nice to sit and have coffee in the conservatory after lunch and enjoy the view. Not all party enjoyed their meal but did not spoil a nice day, would recommend for special occasions, we went at Christmas and had a lovely time. Bar service was good even tough there were lots of people in the bar.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Recently had a 2 day stay for a Wedding. The Wedding was wonderful, beautiful function room, excellent food and faultless service.

Breakfast service on the first morning was very slow, waiting half an hour for a cooked breakfast and so was everyone else by the general grumbling that was going on.

Excellent breakfast service for the following day so possibly only a minor glitch the day before.

I thought the Reception, Bar, Conservatory and Function Room were all very impressive however the bedrooms do let the hotel down.

I had the opportunity to see several different rooms and they were generally disappointing. Very dull, very dated and didn't meet the same standard as the more public areas of the hotel.

Good value for money though, if you don't mind the rooms not being up to much.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shorti35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cricklade
4 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.6 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,673 reviews
9.6 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#2 of 25 in Swindon
813 reviews
7.9 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#4 of 8 in Cirencester
625 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cricklade House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cricklade House

Address: 40 Malmesbury Road | Common Hill, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6RP, England (Formerly Cricklade House Hotel & Country Club)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Cricklade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cricklade
Price Range: $77 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cricklade House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing in over 30 acres of peaceful, secluded grounds on the edge of the Cotswolds, the privately-owned Cricklade House offers a traditional, warm and friendly welcome for those in search of tranquility, comfort, good food and wine, with extensive recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cricklade House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricklade House Hotel And Country Club
Cricklade Hotel Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing