We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Cricklade B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
296 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good pub and hotel”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The room we stayed in was very comfortable and roomy, although in need of some refurbishment. The breakfast was good and the evening meal was exellent. We chose the continental breakfast and were served with lovely home cured ham and a selection of cheese as well as the food on the buffet. Very filling. We had a good nights sleep. Car Parking is round the back of the hotel and we had no problem with this. There are historical boards around cricklade that are very interesting but to go further afield we really appreciated our car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    31
    11
    5
See reviews for
19
63
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We're not from cricklade but on our way to an evening party, we thought we would stop by the high street and find a nice pub for a bite to eat, well the food at the white hart was amazing! We will definitely be recommending this place to friends and family when they pass through. This was the best pub food we have had for a long time! We will definitely be back again in the near future!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank holidays_4_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisborough Green, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you want a grand hotel this is not it, ut if you want a warm cosy place, with friendly helpful staff this the place to be. Situated in the middle of the charming village of Cricklade, with many restaurants and take aways to chosse from, it offers cosy rooms en suiite, and and an excellent continental breakfast included in very reasonale room rates. Yes, it is an old building, indeed an historical one, in the old cotswold type style but to me that just adds to its charm. Another benefit is ample parking at the rear which makes getting in and out easy, and there are plently of tables outside on which to sit out in the sun.

Room Tip: Any not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hmmm, Cricklade eh? Bit Royston Vasey, particularly The White Hart. The bar area looks like any tired bar area in any vaguely tatty city suburb. Didn't stay for a drink, so I can't comment on the food or the atmosphere, but when we came in at around 10.45pm there was two people in the bar on a Bank Holiday Sunday night.

Our room looked like it had recently been converted (badly) from two single rooms and was ok, with a decent size bathroom. Bed was a little small, but again ok. £57 was steep though for a very basic room facing the main road, which was a little noisy early morning. As is was about the only hotel room left in the Cotswolds under £200 on the August Bank Holiday Sunday though, it served its purpose. I've given it a score of 2/5, as it probably was below average for what you can and should expect these days, but it's not poor, just a little below average

Cricklade - you'll never leave...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is rather run down and dingy. When we walked in to check in at the bar- you felt like the locals were watching you, was quite uncomfortable! The room was ok- we had one right at the top in the eaves, and we had a random little room attached with old wardrobes and furniture stored in. The bed was comfy, and the bathroom was clean and had everything you needed. Breakfast was ok - you weren't given any choice of items on the hot breakfast, the rather abrupt lady serving us just asked as a generalisation if we were all having hot food, and walked off. They had provided some gluten free bread for me, which was rather cardboardy (some gluten free bread can be!) so it wasn't really edible. Overall, it was a comfy base, but lacked warmth and a welcoming ambience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Baie
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

stayed one night - pleasant enough welcome, room clean but in need of a complete refresh, as did the whole hotel. Food OK - both evening meal and breakfast. just seemed a little tired and in need of a make over

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed one night and it was clean and comfortable although jaded with a need for renovation all over. Top room at the front was a little noisy from people walking past in the street and delivery vehicles early in the morning when we had the windows open due to the generally warm conditions
Shower worked well but was the worst part of the room, with black sections of the grouting. Furniture cheap but functional.
TV would not work properly on BBCTV1 and 2 and only one light switch that operated both bedside lights in a twin room.
Friendly and helpful staff, but the ambiance put us off taking our evening meal in the restaurant. Breakfast (continental) was plentiful in amount and choice.
Would recommend to others and/or stay again? Probably not after having seen the alternatives in the town and when comparing value for money with our previous nights stay in Ewen.

Room Tip: Maybe one at the back might be quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cricklade
0.9 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
5.4 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: 96 High Street, Cricklade, Swindon SN6 6AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon > Cricklade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cricklade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the threshold of the Cotswolds, the Saxon Town of Cricklade provides a tranquil and picturesque setting for rest and relaxation. For visitors seeking an alternative to the bland uniformity of many a modern town centre hotel, The White Hart offers an appealing individuality - open fires, beamed ceilings and stone flagged floors set the scene for a relaxing experience. Dating from the 17th century, the White Hart has proven to be a popular retreat for those appreciating good food, fine wine, real ales and comfortable cottage-style accommodation. On arrival, why not sample some of the real ales or fine wines available in the comfort of our warm and friendly bar and lounge? For a tasty snack or full meal, we provide a wide range of excellent traditional and modern dishes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing