We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of The Horse & Groom

The Horse & Groom
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Twyford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We went to the Horse and Groom yesterday, a family group of 5 adults and a small child.
The food was excellent. A high chair was provided for the child. The service was very good. The whole experience was excellent and we would definitely go back again. I would recommend this pub for good food, good service and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    131
    37
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Dissapointed in the food”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great Decor! Cosy and traditional. We went today as a change from our usual place ! I had a tasteless cous cous burger. I cook a better roast at home ( so my Hubby and Kids told me) and the Rhubarb and Apple crumble was ruined by someone too heavy handed with the cloves !! It completely overpowered the fruit and was uneatable for myself and my Daughter who is a BIG crumble fan :0( We were all dissapoionted.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WooGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Well worth a vist”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had dinner with friends here last night, and the food and service were all very good. It also has a very nice ambience and is well worth a visit. We shall be back soon

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gill52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good food, in lovlely period pub.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

we had our wedding anniversary meal here,the service was top notch and friendly with table service, the food quick and tasty. surrounding were very well done, with quite a lot of space , so didn't feel crowded in, and pricing was perfect for the high standard of the food, the only gripe we had,was it was a vaulted room and so quite noisy at times, otherwise i would recommend it to anybody.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaypauldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
221 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good meal, friendly service”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had lunch here today with friends. The staff were very friendly and helpful. And they were happy to welcome the small child in our party. The pasta from the children's menu went down well with her, as she cleaned her plate.
The adult food was also good. I had fish and chips, which were well cooked and very tasty. One of our party had the beef pie, which was also very good. But the person who chose the calves liver found it had a lot of tubes in it, so although cooked well (just pink), it was difficult to eat.
Restaurant recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse & Groom also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to The Horse & Groom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing