We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private and self contained - the perfect B & B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blackbirds Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Tidmarsh, Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Private and self contained - the perfect B & B!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

If you are looking for a luxury b & b at a very reasonable price and you want privacy - then this is the place for you. Access to the good size bedroom suite we stayed in was via its own entrance straight from the parking area.
The room was immaculate with lovely crisp white linen and had a large tv, en suite shower room and an excellent choice of breakfast foods. This made life really easy as we could make our breakfast when we wanted and then simply slip away to get on with our day.
Kate who owns the property is friendly and welcoming and is happy to provide an evening meal if you prefer to eat in although there are a number of good pubs/restaurants within easy distance.
If you would normally plump for a Premier Inn when travelling because you like to know what to expect then this place will not disappoint and it is much more personal and is in a delightful setting to boot!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a lovely couple of nights stay with our two young children. Very pretty setting. Excellent room/facilities & lovely breakfast. We all enjoyed our morning walk around the garden, seeing the hens and meeting/feeding the alpacas. Kate and her family were really welcoming and we hope to be able to return soon.

David, Celine, Xavier & Elise

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a lovely nights stay at Blackbirds Cottage. Kate was very friendly & welcoming. She cooked a delicious breakfast with fresh eggs from her hens. And the bed was comfortable that it made it difficult to get up in the morning,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

First off, this was difficult to find as I didn't do my research first and relied on the sat-nav. Its near Crays Pond more than Goring Heath. Take the Whitchurch Road from Crays Pond and about 200 yards on your right is a Bridle Way. Yes its down there on the left. A lovely little cottage with a self contained Attic type room up a spiral staircase. Spotlessly clean and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for a long time. Our host was Kate and she made us most welcome. The breakfast was continental in the room, warm Croissants, cereals, toast and jam. The room is big with a vaulted ceiling. A large flat screen TV with Sky is at one end of the room with the breakfast area at the other end. An unusual shower room with a curved wall adds some character.
The cottage is really secluded and there are chickens and ducks and llamas about.
My wife and I had booked 3 nights which we had to cut short as she broke her ankle in Wallingford! Kate was very helpful as was James, her son who helped me down the stairs with our luggage. I can thoroughly recommend this place for a peaceful week-end. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pops272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goring-on Thames
2.4 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley on Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
6.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Miller of Mansfield
The Miller of Mansfield
#1 of 4 in Goring-on Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackbirds Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackbirds Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Blackbirds Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Blackbirds Cottage Blackbirds Bottom, Goring-on Thames RG8 7SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Goring-on Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Goring-on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Own parking and entrance to the main accommodation via spiral staircase to a spacious double room with vaulted ceiling and garden/country views. Recently refurbished to a very high standard. Two further single & double rooms are located within the main house - shared bath/shower room. Evening meals & breakfast are served by prior arrangement in our dining/breakfast room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing