We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay!”
Review of Friars Ford

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Friars Ford
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We just spend a long weekend at Friars Ford B&B and had a lovely time. As we were with six people we stayed in all three rooms and every single one of them was excellent. Large spacious rooms with a gorgeous classic English feel to it and great bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and warm which made that after a long day of walking we crashed at 8pm and slept for a full night till the next morning. From here we visited the direct area, Oxford and Windsor.
Breakfast was set in a beautiful room and we can recommend the cooked breakfast!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophieuijterschout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 66 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

Emma was helpful and friendly from start to finish with this booking and our expectations were met in every respect, and more.
Huge comfortable room with the largest en suite bathroom we've ever seen, quality bed and bathroom linen, tasteful furnishings, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, excellent facilities (TV, drinks tray etc). We were very slightly cool watching TV in the room in the evening, so watched from bed, very warm and cosy! Slept very well indeed. Howling gales in the night, we were subsequently told, but we didn't hear them!
Beautiful views over the Thames, exciting too, as we watched the paddock separating the garden from the river gradually flood over after what had been truly exceptional rainfall - don't worry, the house has beautiful large grounds which are sufficiently above river level that there is no risk of flooding!
Very nice continental breakfast at a grand dining table, with attentive friendly service, lovely Wedgwood crockery; selection of individual cereal boxes, choice of two juices, pastries and toast, with honey from bees in the garden. I bet eggs are produced in the garden too! The cooked option (£5 extra) sounded good but we were dining heavily the night before and lunch after, so declined.
All in all, thoroughly excellent.

Room Tip: Lilac room, definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights on business, and were very happy the everything. Unique location, big clean rooms and a great breakfast. Homemade honey was lovely. Very good pub a short walk away.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was an unexpectedly pleasant end to a walking holiday on the North Wessex Downs - we had been staying in much smaller B&Bs during the walk and were very happy to see what it looked like walking up to it from the village. It is a beautiful property on lovely grounds - the only regret was that we did not have more time to stay a few more days to enjoy the surroundings. The room we stayed on the top floor was lovely and comfortable. We did not have an ensuite bathroom but the floor we stayed on did not have anyone else staying so we had the place to ourselves. They are building more ensuite rooms though downstairs I believe.

There's an additional charge for a full english breakfast (as opposed to continental) which some might be unused to but its only a fiver and all stated upfront. Very delicious it was as well. When coming back from the town in the evenings after meals it can be a bit dark near the end of the street and on the grounds on the property itself, so bring a small torch if you have a problem with that - in our case we used the light on our iPhones!

It is near the river through a shortcut, and a fairly close walk to the main village with all its picture perfect charm. Goring itself is an amazingly pretty village. We were so inspired by the area we popped into the local estate agent to put us on the list as prospective buyers - fingers crossed!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KLF2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend booked us an overnight stay at Friars Ford, as we were walking a stretch of the Thames Path. We could see the grand Victorian house and grounds from the river path. We turned up a bit soggy after a full day walking in the rain, but Emma was very kind and friendly as she showed us to our room to dry off. We stayed in the Lilac room which is by far the largest bedroom and bathroom I have ever stayed in. Lovely quality and attention to detail in the room itself. Before long we had dried off, and relaxed. Emma recommended to us a couple of places to go and eat, and checked our breakfast requirements. We had a continental breakfast in the morning, which was lovely, and Emma again was attentive, and making sure we had everything we needed.

I can imagine that Friars Ford is a fantastic little place to stay a few days and unwind, just enjoying the countryside. A shame we couldn't have stayed longer, and that it was so wet!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Emma & David are very welcoming Hosts. We booked only 1 night before and despite the short notice it was no problem.
We stayed in the Lilac room and all i can say is its probably the largest guest bedroom we have ever been in, you won't be short on space, and yes there is a TV if you feel the need.
All facilities were excellent, clean & tidy with no shortage of supplies.
Swimming pool was great, very nice to be able to relax in it after a long day or there is a tennis court if thats more your to your taste. There was also plenty of other areas to lounge in the gardens or patio.
Grounds are very well looked after, but also wildlife friendly, we saw squirrels, rabbits, pheasants, a fox and red kites and the lack of light pollution means the stars are visible at night.
David recommended Masooms Indian Restaurant (and booked a table for us) and very glad he did, it was excellent and not overpriced.
The village center (Goring) is only a short walk away, and is worth looking round or a walk along the Thames to watch the boats.
If you are walking back at night it may be worth taking a torch if you aren't used to village streetlights.

If you want plenty of space, peace and quiet and lovely surroundings then book this b&b

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dralphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was with my brother-in-law for a weekend’s fishing, and we stayed for 2 nights. It proved to be an excellent choice:
- The hosts are friendly and flexible – they were perfectly happy when we turned up with an airbed so that we could share a double room (OK, we’re cheapskates..). When we went to the pub in the evening, we were given a front door key and no restrictions on the time of return
- The location is ideal; just on the edge of the village, an easy walk to the pubs & restaurants and the Ridgeway, with ample parking. The house is marvellously high-Victorian, with wonderful views over the river valley, particularly early in the morning
- The room facilities were absolutely fine
- The cooked breakfast was generous & good

The hosts, although long-time residents, have only been doing B&B for 2 months and are aware of what might be viewed as minor shortcomings (e.g. no twin rooms, bath instead of shower) and said that they have plans in place to remedy them.
So, “things can only get (even) better”.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E-EMCEE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Friars Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Ford

Address: Friars Ford Manor Road, Goring-on Thames RG8 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Goring-on Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Goring-on Thames
Price Range: $53 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B from £47.50 Per person for first night, £37.50 For second night. Please phone or email to book. Overlooking The River Thames. Within walking distance of the village, railway station and many pubs and restaurants. Three large bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms. Continental breakfast included, cooked at £5 pp. Free Wi-fi, Tea/Coffee making facilities and TV/DVD in all rooms. This Victorian Gothic house is set in beautiful grounds of 16 acres going down to The Thames Path. Also available to hire is an Indoor swimming pool and tennis court. Perfect for walking The Thames Path or The Ridgeway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing