We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summer sensation”

Rossini at the Leatherne Bottel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Simple and traditional Italian food served in a quintessential English setting on the river Thames.
Goring
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Summer sensation”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is just the best place for an al fresco lunch on the river in the summer. We've been a few times now across the year, and its always wonderful. But the places comes into its own in sunny warm weather when that super-value lunch menu offers the bonus of eating right on the edge of the Thanes!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank garethrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeatherneBottel, Manager at Rossini at the Leatherne Bottel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Its nice to get such pleasant comments especially when we just took over. Hope you can return soon to see the improvements we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    64
    43
    39
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The high standard is maintained.”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This was my 2nd visit to the Leatherne Bottel in just over two weeks. I was a little apprehensive as the first visit was such a resounding success. Fortunately I was not to be disappointed. The party consisted of over thirty people and as we were the only guests in the restaurant had an excellent evening. Commencing with a glass or two of prossecco and canapés this was followed by the Christmas menu which gave a varied choice of three seasonal starters followed by three main courses. An additional sweet potato velouté was provided on commencement. I can not praise the restaurant high enough. Between the venue, the quality of the food, the efficiency of the staff and the amiable manner of the chef/manager Stuart ensured everyone had a memorable evening. I have no hesitation in recommending this quality restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Dougie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeatherneBottel, Manager at Rossini at the Leatherne Bottel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
It is always a pleasure to have such a nice group in especially when they come back again. A double pleasure from our point of view.
We are always looking to improve and hopefully on your next visit we can raise the bar again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decadent!!!”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I wanted to take my partner somewhere decadent for his birthday & this place really delivered! He said the rabbit ravoli was gorgeous & the beef Wellington was spot on!! I was unsure but I eventually opted for the Guinea Fowl, which i've never tried before - it was delicious, lots of different flavours & the presentation was superb!! The cabbage & bacon side dish was moorish! The food was delicious, the setting was tranquil & the service was very friendly & efficient(especially the lady who greeted us when we walked in) & the chef even came into the restaurant at the end of the meal to introduce himself & ask if everything was ok! I can't wait to go there again (& hopefully celeb spot George Michael this time, been told he's a regular)!!
In my opinion this restaurant is on par with the French Horn at Sonning!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barkerford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeatherneBottel, Manager at Rossini at the Leatherne Bottel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your message, i think it gives a true reflection of what we are trying to achieve here, and building new customer bases is impeccable for this industry.
Its always a pleassure to come and meet new customers when i have time. Glad you enjoyed everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much potential”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We visited this restaurant on a cold Friday evening only to arrive to a rather chilly bar area with an unlit log burner. No idea why it had not been lit but it would have transformed the feel of the place. The service was good and the food was fine but definitely not memorable. There were very few other diners there and and the whole place lacked atmosphere. It is a beautiful place in a fabulous setting and the management need to give more attention to customer care - eg light the fire, turn the heating up, create cosier areas for the bar and the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Applesiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeatherneBottel, Manager at Rossini at the Leatherne Bottel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I agree that we need to create a cosier atmosphere and is something we are working on and is something that we will get right.
Unfortunately this business has been set up in such a way that it has become very seasonal and given the time we took over there hasn't been the breathing space to attract more clientele when the weather is not at its best. Over the next six months we will be working very hard to establish the repeat business that is oh so crucial in a business like this and this will certainly help with the atmosphere.
Dont give up on The Leatherne Bottel, as i wish for people to understand in a business like this and a building of this size, things don't just happen overnight. We will get where we need to be and we appreciate the critique in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Excellent service, wonderful food and perfect service.”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We visited this excellent restaurant which is based right on the rivers edge and had a fantastic dinner from start to finish.

The service was attentive, friendly and welcoming and the chef / manager also came out the kitchen to ensure everything was to our taste and liking.

The food was spot on and was 5 star standard and the home made deserts were to die for.

The Leatherne Bottle is apparently under new management and from our previous visits over the years they are making a number of changes which are for the better.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geocachegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeatherneBottel, Manager at Rossini at the Leatherne Bottel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind critiques, you hit the nail on the head by saying there are a lot of changes happening and i am glad you approve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rossini at the Leatherne Bottel also viewed

Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Rossini at the Leatherne Bottel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing