We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goring-on Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
John Barleycorn Inn
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Under new ownership who were warm, welcoming and friendly(much like the locals). The B and B is part of a very nice little bar, that is quiet with a very nice garden/ dining area out the back that blends seamlessly with the villages immaculate and picturesque charms, flowers and greenery everywhere in what has to be one of the most beautiful villages/towns in England.


Stayed for a wedding in the Swan, and with comparing notes with the rest of the guests it seems we looked out and had the best service and value in town.

No review would be complete without mentioning the full English breakfast. Definitely worth getting up for @9am, even if you are feeling quite hungover from the previous night's celebrations.

Would happily return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kealan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Nicely run pub/B&B. We were given the "French" room which as the landlady, Monica, explained is a bit smaller but has a great attached bathroom with a huge tub. She figured rightly so that a soaking tub for us walkers would be welcome. Comparatively, the room was not that small. Gratefully we were assisted in carrying up our heavy suitcases which had been sent on via a luggage service. Both dinner and breakfast were nicely prepared. Enjoyed pub favorites of steak and ale pie at dinner and the 'full English' at breakfast. Locals were friendly and interested in real ales as are we.

Room Tip: Only have experience with the French room out of the three available. But would highly recommend it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The perfect small inn; this is as far from a chain hotel as it is possible to get.
I had booked the Miller at Mansfield on Booking.com, but got an email from them saying that they were full, that there had been a mistake made. they offered to find me an alternative and they booked me into the John Barleycorn.
Friendly small pub/inn, about four or five bedrooms I think. I was given 'Africa', a vaguely African themed room that was comfortable, clean and quiet, overlooking the beer garden at the rear.
Food was somewhat above average pub fare. I had the steak and ale pie and it was delicious.
The landlord and landlady are very down-to earth, friendly and hospitable people who are the perfect people to run a place lie this. You just feel right at home.
I used the John Barleycorn as a one-night stopover on a hike on the Thames Path, but I will return for a longer stay. My kind of place!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockyroad2dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Three themed bedrooms - 'Chocolate', 'Africa' and 'French' - I chose 'Chocolate' a superb stay preceeded by a fantastic buffet in the restaurant and some fine real ale drinking in the bar - a late breakfast - service was excellent - Thank you so much.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A quaint 'olde worlde' pub and restaurant where we were made very welcome. Three rooms available for B & B and our room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. The traditional pub was busy both in the bars and the dining areas, but was not 'noisy' as such with non of the usual games machine / loud music etc. but had a wonderful friendly atmosphere. Although there was no choice for breakfast, it was a well presented and well cooked traditional full English.
Will definately return again if in the area. Recommended!!

Room Tip: Three room available... no numbers just names "Chocolate" "Africa" and "Fra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sunday lunch in an unfamiliar pub can be hit or miss. This was definitely a hit. Great terrine to start followed by tasty beef. Proper roast potatoes, crispy Yorkshire pudding and decent veg were served on hot plates with proper care and attention. Top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice little pub to frequent if your trains running late or for a little bite to eat. The food and drink is nice, lovely atmosphere and not to dear considering the averege price for the area. definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cl_steele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to John Barleycorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Barleycorn Inn

Address: Manor Road, Goring-on Thames RG8 9DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Goring-on Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Goring-on Thames
Price Range: $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
John Barleycorn Hotel Goring-On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing