We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Rumonge
Post
Inbox
Search
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
22
14
3
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
14
3
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue bay resort an hour beach water lake bujumbura country city roads drive capital breeze
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 42 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2015

GOOD:
The location was perfect.
The water was clear and enjoyable. Be careful of the slippery rocks at the waterline.
Very relaxing beach.

BAD:
The internet connection was terrible.
Food takes a long time to get.
Water pressure was very low.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank demetriuso2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2015

Spent a most enjoyable 24 hours at Blue Bay during a 12 day visit to Burundi. It was an oasis and we rested well in a very comfortable room (upper floor) with views across the landscaped gardens out over Lake Tanganyika. We stayed on a Sunday evening and the resort was very quiet. The food was very good and with the inclusive breakfast it was good value. We swam in the lake and the beach was a good place to relax with food and drinks available to enjoy al fresco. Would definitely go again when in Burundi.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank slimsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2014 via mobile

Went there on a Saturday morning and stayed the entire day .. Had a wonderful early morning swim in tanganika. afterwards got a really nice breakfast of cheese omelette and Africa tea on the beach.. The beach comes alive around noon .. Excellent beach kept clean all the time by staff .. Water is vv clean here .. be careful for slippery underwater rocks ... Staff is very attentive and friendly .. Our waiter didn't mind spending 30 mins just taking our group photos ...
Didn't stay the night but saw the rooms. Basic but good and clean..
Had a wonderful day ...

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank OutObservering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2014

The reception is great. Great rooms at relatively higher than appropriate pricing. However, without similar resorts around, its not a bad place to go. If using public transport back to Bujumbura however, please make arrangements earlier.

Room tip: If you can get a room with a sea view, get one, there is nothing else around to see.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank aroundtheworldformak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Place is gorgeous, and it was wonderful to get into the clear lake. Staff was considerate and offered that they we could request a lifeguard, but we didn't need one.

Our group had wonderful meals including one on the beach with the bonfire and music. Lots of little open cabanas allow you to have a quiet meal if you want one.

I was able to get wi-fi by the bar and the restaurant.

Rooms were quiet, and bathrooms were large.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plains16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews