We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value Belgian Brasserie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istas

Istas
Ranked #4 of 51 Restaurants in Overijse
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value Belgian Brasserie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We tend to regularly alternate between this restaurant and its next door neighbour, La Foret. We can never really make up our minds which offers the best value Belgian food. Both are very good. When our children were younger La Foret used to often win the family vote, simply because they provide crayons and colouring sheets to keep children amused. Recently, Istas has been coming back in vogue - and I am pleased to say it never disappoints us.
A couple of weeks ago I took a business colleague there from Germany and he liked it so much that he has promised to stay at the adjoining hotel the next time he comes to Brussels. Steak and frites is something we nearly always have although they also have a good choice of other dishes which you would expect in such a traditional Belgian Brasserie. Another benefit of Istas is that it has its own free car park - but don't forget to ask the waiter for a token before you leave so that you can get out of it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    91
    30
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice old style brasserie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Service was quick enough and waiters were proficient and welcoming.
Food was good and portion size was exactly as needed.
Really, eerything was just in an order we expected.
Their facilities are very clean and convenient for people, who will come there with a little one.

We'll certainly come to Istas once more, if we'll be somewhere in that area.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina_Il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never go there for any reason except with your personal enemy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had very good memories of this place, near the Forest de Soignes, at the East entrance of Brussels. I decided to try again. What an error ! Food was zero and service was a scandal. They ran out of vegetables, we had only onions... the cheese was soapy, like it was mixed with any chemical. The steward never smiled, did not warn us that our orderer could not be normally satisfied, did not even give us excuses...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-PierreJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent brasserie - no nonsense - good food at a very reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Istas is what a brasserie should be. Good traditional food, friendly and efficient service, very reasonable prices. The kitchen is also open in the afternoon so you can arrive at every moment of the day. No problem to go with children because you don't have to wait for hours. The kids will love the tomato soup and the meatballs while the parents can enjoy a good steak or one of the season specialties. There is a private parking. One of our favourite restaurants on a Sunday at 2PM after a walk in the arboretum.
Tip to the owners: please don't change anything.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“old fashioned quality, cosy bistrot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I know Istas for fifty years and it stays what it ever has been: value for money. Never change a winning horse is their value. The only change: male waiters instead of female waitresses (positive discrimination). Good food, traditionals menu, excellent house wine and atmosphere of an old bistrot with paper table cloth and joyful service

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istas also viewed

Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
Overijse, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Istas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing